$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
287 reviews
Fantastic getaway

Excellent location, great food, good times . A must try. See full review

  • Wild Blll
  • Aug 6, 2014
The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed See full review

  • UGA4LIFE
  • Jul 1, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, Florida
Dec 30, 2009

Great location and great service

Very efficient and the staff will do anything to please. Good location walking distance from all attractions. Pleanty of good places nearby to eat and shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the middle of the French Quarter.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Petercoorslt
Richmond va
Jun 13, 2010

Great times in Nola

Great times on bourbon st. No issues as a result of the oil spill. Nola is beautiful and suited for adults. We will definitly return. Eat a cheesesteak at big chubbys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep an eye on your belongings.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raymond James
Miami
Aug 1, 2011

Excellent no issues on the stay.

Excellent in one word you shouldnt have any issues. The only probable issue is always the early check in, but thats a problem with all hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Bourbon smack in the middle of the street.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Syntini
Corona, California
Aug 1, 2011

AMAZING!!!!!!!

This was the best experience I have had thus far. The hotel employees were amazing, friendly and nice. They made great suggestions on places to visit. overall a perfect trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

OCEANA

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Punkinv
South Carolina
Aug 16, 2010

Very nice experience

[...] greeted us at the door when we first arrived and he was most helpful along with all the staff the rest of our stay. They made great recommendations for places to dine, directions etc.We felt very safe and secure with this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bucket List Checker
Ventura, CA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Location, locatiion, location

Bourbon St., what can be better? Royal Sonesta was in the heat of things. Walk out the door in any direction and live the Big Easy. Walking distance from galleries, cooking school, exotic popsicle store, and Beinets at Cafe Du Monde. Life is Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definately ask people on the street or in their business' what there is to see while you are visiting. We found the Street Car a great asset, and it's just a few blocks from the hotel on Canal St. As a senior it costs just $. 40 a trip and can take you to the end of the month art show in the park, to the museum and to the hospital if you need it.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
easy-go-lucky
Portland, OR
Jul 14, 2010

four night stay

The location is right in the heart of the action in the French Quarter. All the restaurants and bars attached to the hotel were first rate. The pool was a great scene with music, bar and lots of lounge chairs or tables and chairs. Plus everyone was super friendly. I would go back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The best Jazz we heard was right in the hotel; usually a trio and always with a horn.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Princeton
Jul 6, 2008

Great location, beautiful property

The Royal Sonesta is the PERFECT location for those who want to explore the French Quarter. It is close to some of the best restaurants in the area (from Arnaud's to Acme Oyster House), as well as within walking distance to Jackson Square, Moonwalk (by the Mississippi River), close to meeting spots of many walking tours, a short walk to the Streetcar to the Garden District, and yes...close to all the nightlife you can handle. We stayed on the R-level (VIP Floor in the Tower section) and although there was a large festival in town (Essence Fest), we did not hear a thing from the chaos on Bourbon Street when we chose to retire every evening. Room was beautiful, and complimentary buffet and nightly h'ors d'oeuvres are fabulous (think oysters, champagne, cajun shrimp)...however, the 4th of July breakfast was not provided as this was a holiday for the hotel (no one told us this at check-in though not a huge deal). They do offer complimentary continental breakfast for you if you wish on the days the breakfast is not available. Also, the 24-hour concierge is more like 16-hour concierge for the R Club (not available late at night or at least is not easily communicated to guests on the VIP floor). All in all, I was VERY satisfied and I am a VERY fussy person when it comes to my accomodations. Don't know what the experience is in the regular rooms, but from my impression they are well kept. Splurge a little more for the R-level - while they are still developing this service, I think it's worth it and will only continue to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Preservation Hall Jazz Club - easy to find, get there early - great music! Acme Oyster House - reasonable prices, and excellent chargrilled oysters and boiled crawfish!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soon-to-be a Mrs.
San Francisco, CA
Apr 22, 2009

A Jewel on Bourbon

This was a magnificent hotel and I got engaged there with all of it gorgeous chandeliers and beautiful architecture both inside and out. We booked the hotel thru an orbtiz deal, but when we arrived they were out of the special deal rooms. I asked the hotel manager if we could have anything on the Bourbon Street side and they made no hesitation to giving us a lovely balcony suite room overlooking Bourbon Street! Bourbon can be a bit noisy at night when they close down the street to car traffic after 6pm, but if you enjoy nightlife and partying then its fine. We got the newspaper every morning on our doorknob and housekeeping was always attentive to our needs. We always enjoyed coming back from a long day of site seeing to a spotless and neat room! Also, the airline lost my fiance's luggage for a whole day and half, and when we left notice with the Royal Sonesta staff about our luggage issue, they were knowledgeable of the times it would get dropped off if found, and advised us that it would be delivered to our room immediately upon arrival. Sure enough, after we left for breakfast the following day we came back to his luggage in our room! The location is plum because anything you need is within short walking distance (banks, Walgreens, Decatur Street Shopping, site seeing tour ticket booths, restaurants galore). Definitely take a French Quarter tour on a horse and carriage which you can hop on in Jackson Square. Its was fun! This is one of my top 5 places to visit, I definitely will come back again one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheffy
Atlanta, GA
Nov 3, 2009

Beautiful Jewel in the Quarter

We were down for Halloween and VooDoo Fest. I always return to the Royal Sonesta. The location is perfect, the staff is wonderful and helpful. The only drawback this trip was that we could smell cigarette smoke from another room in ours. Other than that a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search