$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
290 reviews
very good experience for husband & wife

room was clean but the first night i discover blood spots on the sheet and bites on my skin .i... See full review

  • bp47
  • Sep 14, 2014
50th Birthday Party

My friends had called the hotel prior to our arrival to arrange a huge balloon bouquet to surprise... See full review

  • Tom Melinda
  • Sep 14, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Min pin
Key West
Jul 28, 2009

The good and the bad~

This was my first trip to New Orleans and I had a great time. The Hotel was beautiful and very clean. The house keeping is very noisy in the hall ways in the morning,and make sure to ask about large groups,because there was a teenage convention going on. The kids played in the hallways all hours and pushed all the buttons on the elevators to play up and down. Doors slamming all hours and I had to finally call security at 12pm sat. night. Then to top it off a woman with two small dogs checked in next door and they would not shut up. Thank God for Vodka!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orleans Grapevine on Orleans was fabulous. Also Nepolians itch on Bourbon St. is a great spot for Martini's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Bear
St. Louis, MO
Aug 11, 2009

Great Experience

Went to the cigar convention. Couldn't have asked for a better location than the Royal Sonesta for access directly on to Bourbon Street. Courteous, professional staff. The only challenge was having a smoking room with no ashtrays. Very charming interiors. Rooms for a single are a bit small, but not uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stick to one alcohol type if you walk on Bourbon street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana BKNY
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 2, 2010

New Orleans' trip

It was our first trip to New Orleans and we LOVED it! Our hotel was smack in the middle of the liveliest street in the French Quarters. The staff was terrific and very friendly. Although we were on the street side, it was surprisingly quiet. The porter even watched our bags while we picked up some last minute souvenirs. I would recommend the Royal Sonesta to everyone. Affordable price, great location and beautiful hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Em Dog
God's Country- Iowa
Dec 10, 2011

short stay

We only stayed three nights( the airlines made sure if that by not getting us there the first night, so we stayed in a dumpy Ramada in Houston at midnite instead of an 8 pm arrival to the Royal!) But the three nites were great and the hotel very nice with friendly staff and lots of options. We were on floor 7 which is "Royal" service floor with drinks at night and breakfast in the a m all part of the room cost. They also have a very friendly man that is devoted to the "Royal Service" and helps with what to do where to go and will make reservations etc. Great location...right ON Bourbon and close to a lot(there are Strip clubs right across the street and next door close...just FYI, if that bothers you) FINALLY...don't miss the WW II Museum very very interesting..about a half hour walk from the French Quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wille Mae's Chicken....great for lunch and 5 minute taxi drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york and ireland
Apr 2, 2010

Beautiful Hotel.Desk Staf could be nicer

Beautiful hotel that recaptures the glory of the past. Beautiful entrance. Great restaurant, pool, café and jazz club. The servers in the jazz bar are so nice and the door men and facilities people couldn't be nicer. Real genuine charm. The desk staff have a bee in their bonnet and recreate the whole supremist attitude. Couldn't or wouldn't give me info. on how to get to the airport. The doormen obliged. TV wouldn't work, had to hange rooms as it was too noisy facing Bourbon Street and safe needed a battery change. The front desk were just uninterested whereas the door men, cleaning staff and bar staff gave great advice and helped in any way they could. My advice: train the desk staff how to smile, be charming and HELP people !!! By the way, it is customary no matter where you are from to greet the customer with a hello!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Laura Creole Plantation. Also do te Dixie Tour of New Orleans. was so good. Check in hotel for leaflets and ask for info at desk if the desk staff can actually help you!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brad from Texas
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Jul 8, 2009

Nice Hotel....Good Location

Great Location if you like the nightlife aspect as it sits right on Bourbon st.,however,if you have kids traveling w/ you,then you should probably look elsewhere.The beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping was very good.The pool looked nice,but I never got the chance to try it out since it always started to rain before I got the chance.The staff was friendly and helpful.Our room overlooked the Courtyard and we never heard any street noise,however,I can't speak for the rooms facing Bourbon st......Overall,a very good experience and I would happily stay there again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Being on Bourbon st.,there are no shortage of bars,clubs,gift shops,and restaraunts.You can easily walk up and down Bourbon st. and make it comfortably back to the hotel-yes,even after having a few too many cocktails......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jwads new jersey
NJ
Jun 20, 2011

Great Place! Clean rooms!

The hotel was very clean and visually very pleasing. The staff was all very friendly and showed us true southern hospitality. They were willing to offer all kinds of suggestions of things to do during our stay. The location is also very good for restaurants and bars highlighting the local music scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is a great Jazz club inside the hotel. It was very nicely laid out and the music was great. The environment provided a wonderful vibe and offered an outstanding experience in the music of New Orleans. If you have a chance see a trumpet player named "Kid Chocolate".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wyzone
Collierville, TN
Mar 25, 2010

New Orleans trip

My husband and I went to New Orleans to get away for a few days. The staff at the Royal Sonesta was really very accomadating and friendly. The room was small but very nice and clean. The hotel is in a perfect location and was within walking distance to most everything. The parking fees were a little extreme and we were charged more because we had a SUV. The parking spaces were the same for all the vehicles so I was puzzled about the extra fee. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - just don't park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find alternative parking besides the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Bruno, California
Aug 15, 2009

This is the perfect location...a must

It's a beautiful hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Second to none. The location was perfect for the price. The hotel is classy and shiney with a jazz band playing every night. Although the band only played until close to midnight. Our room overlooked Bourbon St. Except the windows were nailed shut. The room could stand new carpet, but it was nice and clean. The bed was comfy and the pillows made it easy to fall into a sleep. We didn't eat at the hotel,so I can't give my opinion. The pool area was very nice and the water was warm and blue. The poolside waiter was very helpful and friendly. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Sonesta and we would highly recommend this hotel. Hopefully, we will return one day too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Royal House restaurant & Acme Oyster bar.Don't forget to stop and listen to blues at the Sing Sing bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jet Jock
Central PA
Mar 27, 2012

4 star facility but 2 star room and housekeeping

Hotel was 4 star but the Deluxe King room was no more than 2 1/2 star. The room was damp/humid. One day we had to go out looking for wash cloths and another we ran out of toilet paper. The bath was small with a poorly constructed single vanity and there was a little mold on the tub grout. Clock/radio/mp3 player had the wrong time and no apparent way to change it. The concierge said he would have someone change it, but it never happened. We might return to an upgraded room because the location and hotel appointments were very nice but likely will look for another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search