$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
439 reviews
The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed See full review

  • UGA4LIFE
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great Value

We stayed here for one night and paid $164 for a second floor balcony room on Bourbon street. The... See full review

  • Rani Rockstar
  • Jun 19, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (439)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
439 out of 439
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling women
chicago
Feb 27, 2011

Lovely hotel in perfect location

The hotel was the perfect place for us to re-group during our New Orleans stay. Very nice and the location could not have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling women
chicago
Feb 27, 2011

Lovely hotel in perfect location

The hotel was the perfect place for us to re-group during our New Orleans stay. Very nice and the location could not have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clinton, SC
Aug 8, 2010

Excellent

Fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Aug 22, 2009

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

we had some problems with the room, problems like the internet did not work in our room, the tub was cloged had to have it fixed, the mini bar had mold. also one of the lamps in the room didnt work, and no refigerator!. but the room was nice but small. we had a bacony off bourbon st. rooms dont look like the ones online, not as nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is great almost any where you go, the casino is the best bang for your buck!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2010

royal sonesta

Interior room was nice and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana BKNY
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 2, 2010

New Orleans' trip

It was our first trip to New Orleans and we LOVED it! Our hotel was smack in the middle of the liveliest street in the French Quarters. The staff was terrific and very friendly. Although we were on the street side, it was surprisingly quiet. The porter even watched our bags while we picked up some last minute souvenirs. I would recommend the Royal Sonesta to everyone. Affordable price, great location and beautiful hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
honolulu, hi
Apr 19, 2011

Lovely

Lovely room right in the heart of the French Quarter. We had a room overlooking Bourbon Street which was quite loud and lively during the evenings, however we are in our mid 40's and it didn't bother us at all. The staff was professional and very helpful, especially [...]the front office manager. [...], our bellman was friendly and service oriented. The hotel nightclub (forget the name now) was great! The bartenders, [...]and [...]gave us some excellent tips on local restaurants and places to visit. Being our first visit to NOLA and coming all the way from Hawaii we brought some Macadamia candy with us to give away to nice folks we met along the way. We shared some with the hotel front desk staff and later received a bottle of champagne in our room with a note attached saying, to enjoy our vacation. Nice! The hotel itself is showing a bit of age but I believe they are working on some renovations. I worked at AAA 5-Diamond hotel for five years and as a travel agent for 10 years. I would have no problem recommending this property. There's much to see and do in the Quarter but don't be afraid to venture out a little. We went to Frenchman Street and mingled with the locals, took the streetcar to the end of the Garden District to see the beautiful homes and went to Delachaise Wine Bar & Restaurant for lunch (excellent!) New Orleans is a beautiful city with much to offer. We will definitely go back again someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oyster House for the freshest oysters on the half shell. Plan on getting there early or getting there late...like 10pm. The line is out the door and very long...

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york and ireland
Apr 2, 2010

Beautiful Hotel.Desk Staf could be nicer

Beautiful hotel that recaptures the glory of the past. Beautiful entrance. Great restaurant, pool, café and jazz club. The servers in the jazz bar are so nice and the door men and facilities people couldn't be nicer. Real genuine charm. The desk staff have a bee in their bonnet and recreate the whole supremist attitude. Couldn't or wouldn't give me info. on how to get to the airport. The doormen obliged. TV wouldn't work, had to hange rooms as it was too noisy facing Bourbon Street and safe needed a battery change. The front desk were just uninterested whereas the door men, cleaning staff and bar staff gave great advice and helped in any way they could. My advice: train the desk staff how to smile, be charming and HELP people !!! By the way, it is customary no matter where you are from to greet the customer with a hello!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Laura Creole Plantation. Also do te Dixie Tour of New Orleans. was so good. Check in hotel for leaflets and ask for info at desk if the desk staff can actually help you!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ECUDick
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 21, 2011

I took a sonesta on the big easy

Enjoyed hotel. Accomadations nice, food expensive but good, pool clean but is shut way to early for those of us who are in New Orleans for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Deanies if you like seafood.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Rochelle, NY
Nov 16, 2009

Excellent Choice in N'awlins!

First trip to NO. Would stay at Royal Sonesta again. The staff was warm and friendly and helpful. All touring and dining suggestions were top-notch and on the mark. Especially enjoyed half-day city tour with Oswald of Celebration tours. He was so knowledgeable and informative and justifiably proud of his city! Look forward to returning to NO....so much to do, so little time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The World War II Museum was super. We spent an entire day there.

Back to menu Return to top