$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fire Ante
Business
NY
Oct 4, 2010

In The Heart of The City

Really great location on Bourbon Street, friendly staff, down-to-earth, but respectful at the same time. Air conditioning worked, but would have liked to have it cooler. I called to try to see if the room could be cooled down a bit more, but was told although there was a local thermostat, it all was actually controled by a central unit which would ultimately regulate the temp. Comfortable bed, great restaurant and lounge right in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SEGWAY NEW ORLEANS!!!!! Do it!!! Our tour guide, [...] was great!! What a blast. Easy, fun, different...wow.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling women
Business
chicago
Feb 27, 2011

Lovely hotel in perfect location

The hotel was the perfect place for us to re-group during our New Orleans stay. Very nice and the location could not have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
honolulu, hi
Apr 19, 2011

Lovely

Lovely room right in the heart of the French Quarter. We had a room overlooking Bourbon Street which was quite loud and lively during the evenings, however we are in our mid 40's and it didn't bother us at all. The staff was professional and very helpful, especially [...]the front office manager. [...], our bellman was friendly and service oriented. The hotel nightclub (forget the name now) was great! The bartenders, [...]and [...]gave us some excellent tips on local restaurants and places to visit. Being our first visit to NOLA and coming all the way from Hawaii we brought some Macadamia candy with us to give away to nice folks we met along the way. We shared some with the hotel front desk staff and later received a bottle of champagne in our room with a note attached saying, to enjoy our vacation. Nice! The hotel itself is showing a bit of age but I believe they are working on some renovations. I worked at AAA 5-Diamond hotel for five years and as a travel agent for 10 years. I would have no problem recommending this property. There's much to see and do in the Quarter but don't be afraid to venture out a little. We went to Frenchman Street and mingled with the locals, took the streetcar to the end of the Garden District to see the beautiful homes and went to Delachaise Wine Bar & Restaurant for lunch (excellent!) New Orleans is a beautiful city with much to offer. We will definitely go back again someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oyster House for the freshest oysters on the half shell. Plan on getting there early or getting there late...like 10pm. The line is out the door and very long...

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In to Nashville concerts
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 26, 2011

Easy in Big Easy

Great time and service at The Royal Sonesta in New Orleans. We watched Irving Mayfiels's concert in his club at the hotel. It was Jazz at its finest and included special guest Ken Ruffin. The staff goes out of their way to help you and even if it is just finding your favorite eating place or helping you pick one. Since this hotel is on Bourbon Street in the middle of the French Quarter it is THE LOCATION. PJ's bakery was the stuff that makes New Orleans a gastronomic delight. The berry tarts are especially tasty. It is a pleasure to go into the courtyard and talk or munch by the flowing fountain with tropical plants surrounding you. The Desire Restaurant is excellent,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat Redfish at the Redfish grill or taste the excellent etouffee at ACme Oyster Bar. You may pay more, but you will not get more or better taste.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun lovers
Business
Finger Lakes , NY
Oct 13, 2010

"Grand" location -French Quarter!

Wonderful way to experience the French Quarter. Walkable. Easy access to various venues - culture, dining, music. Shopping options limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street was at doorstep. Short walk to Canal Street where trolleys available.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downingtown, PA (Philly area)
Jul 1, 2011

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

We were there to celabrate an anniversay with friends, so we were kept vey busy. However we did have some time on our own. We enjoyed the French market and shopping. The pool was relaxing but I would not recommend it for children...many people drinking at and in the pool. Infact I felt a little uncomfortable getting in the pool. It was very relaxing if you were there earlier in the day. All of the party people were sleeping. A fun place for sure...not for children. The hotel was quite comfortable. Bed and bedding were great. The carpet needed to be replaced...very grungy. The rest of the room was a litte worn but overall very nice. All of the people we encountered were very friendly and ready to help you. The only thing was when we were checking out they did not ask how our stay was. It is in the middle of the French Quarter on Bourbon street so you are in the middle of the action if that is what you like I think you will like it. We would probably not choose to stay in that close to the action again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

French Market

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 29, 2010

Great hotel - great location!

Recent 4-day stay at Royal Sonesta for our honeymoon - what a great trip! Hotel staff was outstanding, always helpful with anything necessary. It is an older hotel, and the rooms aren't huge, but it is extremely well maintained and is one of those classic properties that is quintessential New Orleans. Location is ON Bourbon St, but the hotel has done a good job of blocking most of the noise so you can sleep. If you like the noise though, you can always upgrade to a balcony room to be in the middle of the party

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party of 6
Business
Northern NJ
Jun 23, 2010

Perfect Location

The hotel is in the perfect location right on Bourbon St. The lobby is Beautiful (marble, flowers, chandeliers, concierge) & has a great PJ's Coffee shop you enter from lobby or from out on Bourbon St. It would be nice if there was a little 24hr. gift shop or something for aspirin, toothbrush, film, sunscreen, newspaper, a bottle of water or snacks, etc. because if you forget any of those little things they aren't easy to find on Bourbon St, you must go to CVS or Walgreens a few blocks away. Also I wish the rooms had a small refrigerator in them just to store some water or juice or something since Bourbon St. mostly all alcohol. The pool area is nice, gets very crowded on weekends so go early if you want a chair. The poolside bar is a great amenity & there is a grill open on weekends. One of the couples had a pool view room with a balcony walkway that went right out to pool, I suggest you request one of those rooms for a view but hear they can be noisy on weekends so depends on which you prefer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin
Jul 13, 2011

great hotel

The Royal Sonesta is very clean, maintained very well and a large percent of the employees are very friendly and helpfull. We enjoyed the beautiful pool and surrounding pool area. Varities of suntan lotion, oil and aloe vera was provided at the pool for no charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

talk with the concierge and trust his suggestions on all.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland, PA
Jul 17, 2011

Needed gateaway!

The hotel was more than we expected and the service was great. The doorman was the best and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Public park across the street from the hotel played jazz nightly. Very enjoyable.

Back to menu Return to top