$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Feb 20, 2011

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

My wife and I are locals staying in the french quarter for a weeding downtown. The hotel is one of the top hotels in the city. The staff are extremely polite. check in and check out times are perfect. The only thing that would have made this stay better is the parking. The Attendant collecting the money was rude and abrupt. I also do not understand why a small Volvo SUV is charged pricing as a large vehicle. Other then the parking situation everything else was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Johns Creek, GA
Jan 2, 2010

Wonderful location

A beautiful interior with wonderful courtyard. The staff was courteous and very helpful. I could not find even one complaint, even if I try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Desire Oyster Bar is above and beyond most hotel restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dagmara
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Great location in French Quarter

The hotel's location doesn't get any better if you'd like to stay on Burbon St; that being said, keep in mind that it will be LOUD (even if you'll stay on Conti or Bienville St side) till about 5 am EVERY night. My suggestion would be to stay on the courtyard side if you won't be out all night and would like to catch some zzz's. The hotel itself, even though it's rated as a 5 star hotel, is not as nice as some other luxurious 5 star hotels in other cities, so if you're expecting a true 5-star hotel, you will be disappointed (it's by no means anywhere close to the Waldorf Astoria and such). You have to put it in perspective though, and what that means here is that for what is available in the French Quarter and on Burbon St I could see why it would be rated as a 5-star establishment. The rooms were clean and other than the noise, room comfort could not be any better. The staff if super nice and very accomodating, I couldn't praise them enough. There are lots of great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel (Brennan's - home of Bananas Foster, where you can have the best breakfast of your life, Red Fish Grill was excellent, and Bourbon House are some of my favorites).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to St Louis #1 Cemetery by yourself (4 city blocks from the hotel, straight down Conti St) or take one of the guided tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brad from Texas
Business
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Jul 8, 2009

Nice Hotel....Good Location

Great Location if you like the nightlife aspect as it sits right on Bourbon st.,however,if you have kids traveling w/ you,then you should probably look elsewhere.The beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping was very good.The pool looked nice,but I never got the chance to try it out since it always started to rain before I got the chance.The staff was friendly and helpful.Our room overlooked the Courtyard and we never heard any street noise,however,I can't speak for the rooms facing Bourbon st......Overall,a very good experience and I would happily stay there again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Being on Bourbon st.,there are no shortage of bars,clubs,gift shops,and restaraunts.You can easily walk up and down Bourbon st. and make it comfortably back to the hotel-yes,even after having a few too many cocktails......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merritt Island, FL
Aug 3, 2010

Anniversary trip

Friendly staff. Concierge was not as personable as others I have worked with. Appeared to be interested in chatting. Hotel restaurants cannot compete with others on Bourbon Street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pick up a magazine for area dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda,
Business
Randolph, MA
Mar 5, 2010

The center of NOLA"s universe

There's a great club in the hotel featuring 1st class jazz bands. There's a coffee shop available with a beautiful patio next door perfect for your start to the day. The hotel is right in the center of all of the action on Bourbon Street but once inside you're back in quiet of your room. The rooms were well appointed and service top notch. All requests were handled quickly and pleasantly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A marketplace located beginning at The Cafe Du Mode is a great place to shop a wide variety of vendors willing to barter for the right price. Also, no overhead means the prices start out better. It's only a 10-15 minute walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jake's dad
Business
Chandler, AZ
Aug 12, 2010

New Orleans historic hotel jazzy

Great hotel in center of French Quarter. Awesome Jazz club in the hotel, 7 nights/week. Caution: If you like rock music till 3am, request Bourbon St facing room. However, if you like quiet, be sure to request quiet section of hotel. We had to change rooms, but got an awesome quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse is in the hotel and features awesome jazz 7 nights/week

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AGBpirate from NJ
Business
New Jersey
Jan 11, 2011

Natl Lampoons Trip To NOLA

Hotel was great except for having to flush our toilet with a trash can full of water each time we used it. But, easily repaired and we moved on. Jazz in the Lobby was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Maison DeVille, 727 Toulouse St, just off Bourbon.Quiet and great food. You can actually have a conversation while your dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway geauxru
Business
Dallas, tx.
Jan 10, 2011

Beautiful french quarter hotel

Great hotel in a great location! Be prepared to stay up late and not rest between 11p and 4am. Everyone was friendly and responsive. Definitely would recommend to couples wanting to be adventurous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurants near or in the hotel were great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickD
Business
Boulder Colorado
Nov 3, 2009

Great Trip to New Orleans

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff. Enjoyed our trip very much. Definately would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top