$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
338 reviews
Mini getaway

The hotel staff was so nice and accommodating. The room was beautiful and well lit, the bathroom... See full review

  • bridget p.
  • Jun 23, 2015
Mardi Gras

Best hotel on Bourbon St. Was able to book a room at a reasonable rate by walking up to the front... See full review

  • Eugene H.
  • May 11, 2015

A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.

Location

The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse.

Rooms
 
Highlights
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Fees
  • Parking is available at $39.00 USD plus tax.
    Rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted at the green spaces and courtyards.
Policies

The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Accessible Premium Double
Accessible Premium Double
Deluxe Room King
Deluxe Room-King Bed Free WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar-desk
Conti or Bienville Street Balcon
Conti or Bienville Street Balcony King Free Wifi - TV HD - safe - minibar - desk
R Club Double
R Club Floor - 2 Dbl beds - Comp WiFi Comp full brkfst and evening hors doeuvres
R Club King
R Club Floor - 1 King - Comp WiFi Comp full brkfst and evening hors doeuvres
Accessible Deluxe King
Handicap Accessible King Bed - Free Wifi Desk - TV HD - Safe - Minibar
Standard Room
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability.
Accessible Deluxe Double
Handicap Accessible Deluxe Doube Beds - Free Wifi - Desk - TV HD - Safe - Minibar
Accessible Queen Bed
Handicap Accessible Queen Bed - Free Wifi Desk - TV HD - Safe - Minibar
Bourbon Balcony King
Bourbon Balcony- King Bed - Free WiFi Desk TV HD- safe- minibar
Pool Patio Balcony Double
Premium Double Pool Terrace Balcony -2 Beds Free WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar-desk
Pool Patio Balcony King
Premium Pool Terrace Balcony -1 King Free WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar-desk
Deluxe Room Double
2 Dbl Beds- Free WiFi-safe-minibar- TV HD-marble bath-desk

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant Revolution
A new approach to Cajun and Creole Dining in a five star quality restaurant. Dinner served 6pm-11pm
Desire Oyster Bar
Casual dining. Moderately priced serving 3 meals 7 days. Features generous portions of local favorites. The chargrilled oysters are not to be missed.
PJs Coffee Cafe
Serves locally roasted PJs Coffee and Specialty Drinks- freshly baked items baked by our pastry chef and light lunch items.
Irvin Mayfields Jazz Playhouse
The best jazz club in New Orleans showcases New Orleans greatest Jazz talent and serves your favorite cocktails and appetizers in a luxurious venue on the lobby level of the Royal Sonesta New Orleans.
Room Service
In room dining available 7 days a week 6 am to 11 pm with extended hours during special events

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathy woody
Massachusetts
May 18, 2013

Bourbon street experience

People are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are so clean. Beds are very comfortable .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louisiana Honeymooner
Business
Denham springs, la
Jan 6, 2014

Royal treatment

Check in was easy and the room was great. Loved my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Alex
Business
short hills, nj
Jan 28, 2014

business trip

great hotel, wonderful stay, would recomend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherifa
Business
Cairo, Egypt
Apr 8, 2014

Luxurious haven in the heart of the action

I took my son for 5 days for the WWE wrestle mania events. It was during spring break and I programmed myself to endure, however, the Royal Sonesta exceeded all my expectations. The hotel was a lovely haven in the heart of chaos, as soon as you step in, you're transported to cool, classic luxury. The staff are all welcoming and wonderful and efficient. The food is to die for, especially DESIRE..... We went there everyday and the oysters are addictive. The rooms were a bit worn but very clean, luxurious and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and the soap and shampoos were great. The laundry lost a sweater of mine, but the staff are working diligently to find it. My overall experience was perfect. I would love to go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Oysters Desire at Desire restaurant .....yummmm

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve MD
Business
new york, ny
Apr 21, 2014

romantic getaway

great hotel!!!! Lobby is beautiful, room great, service excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great location!!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dy
Business
nc
Aug 5, 2009

love, love love this hotel!!!

this was the best hotel i have been to in a long time. i travel a good bit and have become used to bored, uncaring employees. This hotel's employees are off the charts!! everyone was so helpful and pleasant. Crisp linens, fluffy towels,pampering turn down service, excellent bar and delicious restaurants--and the best mojito i have ever had! i had trouble with my room safe on a number of occaisons and every time i called security for help, they would arrive within 5 minutes--i later discovered it was my stupidity, not their safe that was the problem. I locked myself out of the room, they were there within minutes. i had left my do not disturb sign up by mistake and they returned later for turn down service. if i asked my room to be cleaned early/late--it was done. Great location on Bourbon street--great valets, check in, maids everyone! It was so wonderful to feel like people couldn't do enough for me, rather than that they didn't want to be bothered. Totally different experience from my last few trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get a map--it's so easy to get around and not too far to walk most places if you know what you're doing

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RevJoe
Business
Piedmont, CA
Aug 26, 2009

Incredible Hotel

The hotel is on Bourbon Street in the heart of the French Quarter. This was one of our best vacation experiences ever. We faced Bourbon Street by choice. (We were told at check-in we could change rooms if we wanted to do so -- but it wasn't that noisy, in fact it was fun.) [...], Chief Concierge, made our stay unforgettable -- he remembered our names at our second visit to his desk, he arranged tours, recommended restaurants, etc., he is a great asset to the hotel. The Doormen were extremely personable, the housekeeping staff friendly. The Hotel was spotless, our room was perfect -- the hotel is a gem in the midst of earthy Bourbon Street. A beautiful side entrance to the lobby is available for anyone (families with small children) wishing to avoid 'the street.' Other than Bourbon Street, the French Quarter abounds in shops, restaurants, museums, riverboats, etc. The hotel has a lounge with different and varied entertainment every night. We walked to almost everything or used public transportation. Unforgettable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jun 10, 2010

Loved it!

Our hotel stay was amazing. I spent a week here with my sister, and we loved everything about the Royal Sonesta. Its location can't be beat - right on Bourbon (but we called the hotel our quiet oasis from the craziness ;) in the heart of the French Quarter, and walking distance to the Warehouse District and streetcars on Canal St. The concierge gave us wonderful suggestions for tours and jazz performances. The service was amazing, the pool was perfect...can't find enough good things to say!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBJC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 14, 2010

Excellent Experience

This hotel is by far one of the best places you can stay when taking a trip to New Orleans. While Bourbon street can get quite noisy and is rather trashy, the hotel provides an oasis. Our room was not facing Bourbon street (we had a choice when we checked in) and therefore had no problems with the noise outside. We arrived at 11am and without any hassle were able to check in immediately, even though the check in time was 4pm. We immediately visited the concierge and inquired about renting a car to drive to the plantations and within minutes he had arranged for someone to pick us up the following morning to pick up the car, and had also managed to get us a rate that was cheaper than any we had found when asking at the airport that morning. The best thing about this hotel was that it was the perfect place to return to in the afternoon, when the 100 degree heat became too much, and lounge around by the beautiful pool, sit in the indoor cafe, or outside in the court yard. When booking this trip we had also considered several other hotels, some on Canal street and others closer to the CBD, but the Royal Sonesta was by far the best choice in terms of location. Canal street and the CBD both seemed a bit seedy, and although Royal Sonesta is on Bourbon street, it was in the best location in terms of walking distance to tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast we would strongly recommend anyone to go to the OLD COFFEE POT. It is a short walk from the Royal Sonesta and off of Bourbon street. The old-time cafe/restaurant had delicious food (try the Cala Cakes), friendly service, and a nice ambiance. The prices are also very reasonable and breakfast was served until 2pm. For lunch, the SOMETHING ELSE CAFE was excellent.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HURRICANE GINA
Business
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Sep 6, 2010

ROYAL SONESTA SHINES!

WE STAYED AT THE ROYAL SONESTA ON LABOR DAY WEEKEND FOR MY BOYFRIEND'S 50TH. WE STAYED ON THE CLUB R FLOOR. THE ROOM WAS VERY PLUSH, THE BED AND LINENS WERE AMAZING. TURNDOWN SERVICE AND ALL AMENITIES. THE BREAKFAST AND COCKTAIL HOUR ON THE CONCIERGE FLOOR WERE ALSO WONDERFUL. UNLIMITED BEVERAGES AND APPETIZERS WHICH CHANGED DAILY. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

WE HAD THE CONCIRGE FLOOR ROOM, OUR FRIENDS HAD THE BOURBON STREET BALCONY ROOM. WE PLAYED IN THE ONE ROOM AND SLEPT IN THE OTHER!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicher
Business
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Mar 2, 2011

Pre Mardi-Gras Unwind

I have always wanted to stay at the Royal Sonesta but could not afford it. You made it possible and it went well beyond our expectations. The service and friendlyness was such a help from the front desk to the room service. The rooms were spotless with the most comfortable beds we've had in New Orleans. It was not necessary to leave the hotel to savor the finest food and drinks as well as the local entertainment if you did not want to. Although there was a large conference going on at the same time we never felt cramped or went for lack of service. The location is ideal as we walked to the many sights in the French Quarter that we wanted to see. This was the best trip we have had in the Crescent City and we have been there over a dozen times. The only thing missing from this trip in New Orleans was more time to enjoy it. We visited Jackson Square, took a buggy ride to get all the local lore and hear bout the famous places. Shopped at the French Market, saw a Mardi-Gras parade on Sunday and had to buy an extra bag to bring all the beads home. In addition to several meals at Royal Sonesta we went across the Street from the hotel and ate at the Old New Orleans Cookery. Thanks to all the money you saved us we were also able to have lunch at Antoine's. Of course, everyone goes to the Cafe Du Monde and we were there every day for the powdered sugar fix. We certainly will do our traveling through Cheap Tickets from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk to the hotel employees. They will help you find the food you want at the most reasonable prices and the best quality. You are in short walking distance to to the river, Jackson Square, and Canal Street if you really want to go shopping. At the corner of Bourbon and Conti is where the fun and relaxation begins. The Royal Sonesta is unbeatable if you are a party animal as well.

Back to menu Return to top