$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
290 reviews
very good experience for husband & wife

room was clean but the first night i discover blood spots on the sheet and bites on my skin .i... See full review

  • bp47
  • Sep 14, 2014
50th Birthday Party

My friends had called the hotel prior to our arrival to arrange a huge balloon bouquet to surprise... See full review

  • Tom Melinda
  • Sep 14, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd Deavor
Loxley, AL
Feb 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

This was one of my best trips to NO best location every and the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeanine
Fort Worth, Texas
May 30, 2013

Great Adult Entertainment Hotel

Very classy hotel on Bourbon St. Noise level was very good considering our window faced right to Bourbon. Pool area very nice as is having #1 rated jazz bar downstairs and PJ's coffee contained within. Would not recommend staying anywhere on Bourbon St if you have kids under age 16 or 17. Heavy partying and strip clubs galore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soon-to-be a Mrs.
San Francisco, CA
Apr 22, 2009

A Jewel on Bourbon

This was a magnificent hotel and I got engaged there with all of it gorgeous chandeliers and beautiful architecture both inside and out. We booked the hotel thru an orbtiz deal, but when we arrived they were out of the special deal rooms. I asked the hotel manager if we could have anything on the Bourbon Street side and they made no hesitation to giving us a lovely balcony suite room overlooking Bourbon Street! Bourbon can be a bit noisy at night when they close down the street to car traffic after 6pm, but if you enjoy nightlife and partying then its fine. We got the newspaper every morning on our doorknob and housekeeping was always attentive to our needs. We always enjoyed coming back from a long day of site seeing to a spotless and neat room! Also, the airline lost my fiance's luggage for a whole day and half, and when we left notice with the Royal Sonesta staff about our luggage issue, they were knowledgeable of the times it would get dropped off if found, and advised us that it would be delivered to our room immediately upon arrival. Sure enough, after we left for breakfast the following day we came back to his luggage in our room! The location is plum because anything you need is within short walking distance (banks, Walgreens, Decatur Street Shopping, site seeing tour ticket booths, restaurants galore). Definitely take a French Quarter tour on a horse and carriage which you can hop on in Jackson Square. Its was fun! This is one of my top 5 places to visit, I definitely will come back again one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Iberia, Louisiana
Jul 30, 2009

great location for the price

The location was easy walking distance to all sites in the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel staff referred us to the resturant next to the Hotel which had great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd Deavor
Loxley, AL
Feb 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

This was one of my best trips to NO best location every and the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jellyfish09
Ontario, Canada
Aug 17, 2011

Great Experience

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta Aug 7-12 and had a great time. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Malcolm the doorman was the best, a very happy man indeed. The room was very clean and the bed was about one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in, in a hotel. The pool was excellent, very refreshing on those extremely hot days. Towels are provided at the pool, and robes are available in your room. A great place to stay right on Bourbon St. A quiet oasis on one of the liveliest streets in New Orleans. Within walking distance to the French Market, Riverwalk and Cafe du Monde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are interested in some of the history of the Mardi Gras floats visit Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World, very interesting. We really enjoyed the tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louisiana Honeymooner
Denham springs, la
Jan 6, 2014

Royal treatment

Check in was easy and the room was great. Loved my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Short Business Stay
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Short business trip

My experience in the hotel was great. The location was fabulous. Being on Bourbon Street, some of the guest were a little loud (including the ones that came in at 3:30 in the morning and seemed to want to transact business in the hallway). But overall, the location was great, the room was spacious and clean, and the staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark Freeman
Rochester, NY, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Bourbon St at it's finest!

So Bourbon Street is what you desire? First class is how you roll? Imagine the complete Bourbon St experience and right in the middle is your oasis, the Royal Sonesta! One minute you’re in the middle of all the excitement and the next minute the doorman greets you with a big smile and opens the door to the lap of luxury. Don’t forget to visit Kendrell and the folks at Desire…he shucks oysters faster than you can eat them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure you visit Magazine Street for an afternoon stroll and French Market Street for after dinner Jazz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikee
NY
Oct 31, 2013

Great Value

Centrally located on Bourbon Street, but perfectly clean, quiet and comfortable. The perfect mix of amenties and location and well worth the price of admission.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

venture away from bourbon st for the best food and drink

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janie R.
Providence, Rhode Island
Aug 30, 2011

Great Vacation - Loved every minute

My husband I loved the hotel. The staff, rooms, pool, drinks everything about the hotel was wonderful. The only thing I did not like was that there was no microwave in the room. There was a refrigerator though. I have stayed at the Royal Sonesta in the past and will continue to do so in the future. On a scale of 1 - 10...................... I give it a 10 all day long!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My suggestion would be to definitely go on the Swamp Tour. When making your reserations make sure you request the "small boat". Taking the tour on the small boat is much better than the bigger one because it goes faster with less people on it. Definitely worth the money all day long!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search