$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
290 reviews
very good experience for husband & wife

room was clean but the first night i discover blood spots on the sheet and bites on my skin .i... See full review

  • bp47
  • Sep 14, 2014
50th Birthday Party

My friends had called the hotel prior to our arrival to arrange a huge balloon bouquet to surprise... See full review

  • Tom Melinda
  • Sep 14, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Johns Creek, GA
Jan 2, 2010

Wonderful location

A beautiful interior with wonderful courtyard. The staff was courteous and very helpful. I could not find even one complaint, even if I try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Desire Oyster Bar is above and beyond most hotel restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, Florida
Dec 30, 2009

Great location and great service

Very efficient and the staff will do anything to please. Good location walking distance from all attractions. Pleanty of good places nearby to eat and shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the middle of the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Crowley, LA
Dec 14, 2009

Great accomodations AND great service

As good as it has been...great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the concierge he knows best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wpb fl.
Dec 1, 2009

CLEAN, CLASSY, GREAT LOCATION

WONDERFUL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMN
Indiana, PA
Nov 27, 2009

Great location, wonderful ambiente

Booked online through [...]; everything went smoothly at check-in; hotel lobby is very grand, appealing, clean, and has a friendly atmosphere; room was large enough for two people, very well taken care of (no rips in wallpaper, cracks in ceiling, smudges on carpet, etc.), extremely clean with rather comfortable beds; room was always ready when we came back in the afternoon to rest; staff was quite courteous and helpful and gave informed answers to our questions. Two things, however, we did not like as much: the toilet flushed very noisily and the computer use in the business office is clearly overpriced (we believe that a hotel of this class ought to offer free internet use to its guests). We will certainly recommend the Royal Sonesta to our friends and acquaintances warmly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

1. Audobon Park and Zoo (take Canal Street Streetcar) 2. take in the atmosphere around Jackson Square 3. for the literature people: visit Faulkner House in Pirate's Alley where he wrote "Soldiers' Pay"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Rochelle, NY
Nov 16, 2009

Excellent Choice in N'awlins!

First trip to NO. Would stay at Royal Sonesta again. The staff was warm and friendly and helpful. All touring and dining suggestions were top-notch and on the mark. Especially enjoyed half-day city tour with Oswald of Celebration tours. He was so knowledgeable and informative and justifiably proud of his city! Look forward to returning to NO....so much to do, so little time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The World War II Museum was super. We spent an entire day there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Nov 11, 2009

OK, but not what I expected

The lobby of the hotel is gorgeous, rooms not so much. We had a pool view room. The room were really tiny and nothing like you would expect after seeing the lobby. All the furniture in our room was dusty. The room is overly priced for what you get. I don't believe I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on Bourbon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis
Nov 7, 2009

great hotel, great location

we were in New Orleans for Halloween. This is something you should not miss. The hotel was great and the food and street intertainment was unbelivable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickD
Boulder Colorado
Nov 3, 2009

Great Trip to New Orleans

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff. Enjoyed our trip very much. Definately would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Nov 3, 2009

Royal Sonesta

The room was loud, but that was expected given that it is on Bourbon St. It was a great location if you don't mind the noise. Bring ear plugs. The food you get through room service is cheaper and tastier than in the French Quarter. I'm thinking outsiders infiltrated after Katrina because the food used to be delicious and affordable in the French Quarter. Our phone never worked despite three complaints. The handle to the shower was broken, but still functional. One of our blankets smelled like cigarette smoke so we don't think they washed it. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was beautiful. The beds were only full size, which is terrible for a couple. The prices are crazy high. There is no coffee pot in your room so you have to get dressed and go buy theirs downstairs, which is Starbucks. A grande coffee is $3 and a venti latte is $6.87! You can purchase a room service pot for $6 plus tax for 6 cups. However, there is an automatic gratuity on everything equal to 21%. Yikes! Thus, the coffee is $7.80. You also have to purchase internet service, which is available in your room with your laptop or the television and the business office. I think the cheapest method was your laptop, but I cannot remember. At the business office - If you use the printer its $1 for black or $2 for color printouts for the first 8 pages. I can't remember the amount after that. It's 45 cents/min for the computer with a min. charge of $7. In the end, I didn't mind the noise, but I don't think I will stay here, again. I like free coffee in my room so that I do not have to get dressed. I would think a hotel of this quality and price would offer that when places over $100 cheaper do. I also would like to be able to choose my gratuities especially if they are at 21%. Who came up with 21% instead of 20% anyway?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We recommend taking the mule pulled carriages for a tour of the French Quarter. They have small and large carriages so you can choose if you want company or not. Seems like the small one is more fun because you probably can hear better. They pick you up at Decatur St. across the street from Cafe Du Monde (800 Decatur St.). Even greater, you can eat some DELICIOUS beignets before or after you go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search