$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
290 reviews
Bourbon week end

We introduced our Oklahoma friends to a week end in New Orleans. We chose Royal Sonesta due to... See full review

  • BAMA locals
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fantastic getaway

Excellent location, great food, good times . A must try. See full review

  • Wild Blll
  • Aug 6, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
charleshawk
circleville ohio
Dec 27, 2011

christmas getaway.

Accomidations, food, staff were great. A little costly given the time of year, but over all a very good stay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great antique shops and art galleries.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NickPC
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 23, 2011

Big and Easy in the Big Easy

If you go to New Orleans and plan to spend the bulk of your time in the French Quarter, the Garden District, Business Center or the Warehouse District you can't go wrong with the Royal Sonesta.We stayed 4 nights there and found it thoroughly enjoyable. It was quiet inside despite the 24 hr party on Bourbon Street just outside the front door. Also got excellent help and service from the staff. The only things which could have improved the visit would be firmer pillows and the lighting in our room was oddly connected to light switches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a giuded tour of the heavily damaged but resurging 9th ward. Its inspirational.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnnyAppleseed
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Ask if the your hotel is being renovated!

I was very excited to be staying at a hotel which was renowned for its courtyards. I was at Conference where I needed to entertain some business colleagues. I invited them to my hotel for a quite meeting only to have our meeting disrupted, and be embarrassed by the noise. There we were, well after dark in the courtyard and we could not hear each other talk for the sound of saws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eva G.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Great experience from to A to Z

Great experience. Our room was quiet, with comfortable beds, super soft white sheets, and the best pillows. We've upgraded to the Tower Floor and it was worth every penny: inclusive breakfast, happy hour from 5-7pm with nice appetizers and nice quality wines. The concierge and staff was absolutely the best. They had great suggestions for music and dinning, made our reservations, and took care pretty much of everything we've asked for. And whatever you do-don't miss the Irvin Mayfield's jazz lounge in the lobby. Fantastic jazz and great atmosphere. Loved every hour of our stay at that hotel. Five stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Amelie at 912 Royal Street. Fresh and delicious Louisiana food, prepared with much more finesse than at the big touristy spots. Super romantic courtyard setting; even though we ate inside because of the rain it still felt truly magical.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boyaa
Charlotte, NC, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Couples getaway

Good Location, clean and helpful staff. Be sure to try to get an upgarde to Club level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Em Dog
God's Country- Iowa
Dec 10, 2011

short stay

We only stayed three nights( the airlines made sure if that by not getting us there the first night, so we stayed in a dumpy Ramada in Houston at midnite instead of an 8 pm arrival to the Royal!) But the three nites were great and the hotel very nice with friendly staff and lots of options. We were on floor 7 which is "Royal" service floor with drinks at night and breakfast in the a m all part of the room cost. They also have a very friendly man that is devoted to the "Royal Service" and helps with what to do where to go and will make reservations etc. Great location...right ON Bourbon and close to a lot(there are Strip clubs right across the street and next door close...just FYI, if that bothers you) FINALLY...don't miss the WW II Museum very very interesting..about a half hour walk from the French Quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wille Mae's Chicken....great for lunch and 5 minute taxi drive

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jazz2
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 30, 2011

Very enjoyable

The Royal Sonesta was very comfortable, clean, and well located for walking to the various tourist attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful. I was impressed at the amount of security that was present. I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the Royal Sonesta's Desire Oyster Bar was outstanding.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike2011
Texas, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Please choose a different hotel.

I would not recommend this hotel for a vacation. Room staff constantly disturb you to clean the room. The hotel is not safe as someone was knocking our door at 2 am in the morning and we had to call the security. The whole trip at new Orleans was good except for the stay at this hotel. They also have a hidden parking charge of 40 dollars per night. My credit card statement indicated that they have charged me 50 bucks per night. I had to call them to get this corrected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MS65
Chicago, IL
Nov 21, 2011

French Quarter Hotel

Located right on Bourbon Street the hotel was very convenient. The rooms were clean and the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamaandpapa
Baltimore, MD, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great vacation

The staff at Royal Sonesta couldn't be any nicer. We felt welcomed and valued. Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search