$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
442 reviews
The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed See full review

  • UGA4LIFE
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great Value

We stayed here for one night and paid $164 for a second floor balcony room on Bourbon street. The... See full review

  • Rani Rockstar
  • Jun 19, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (442)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
442 out of 442
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland Or.
Nov 30, 2010

great place, bad service, no sleep

The Royal Sonesta is a very beautiful hotel on Bourbon street and by all appearances it should be a great place to stay. During check-in I knew we did not want to have a room on Bourbon street and the clerk also suggested that we stay in a room off the streets. This is were it all went bad; the room we were given was adjoining the work out room. Yes there were hours of operation but it opened at 6:00am which meant there was no sleeping in and we had to listen to the sounds of the work out room all day. We requested to be moved and they put us 4 rooms off of Bourbon st and told use we might get some street noise? They failed to tell us the bar right out side our window blasts heavy bass music until 4:00am in the morning. I went to the front desk and was told "there is no guarantee any of there rooms would be quite and I was handed 2 sets of ear plugs. The concierge was rude, insulting, and did not have time for us. Comments includes "I am going to make this simple so even you can find the restaurant" and "if you want complicated you will have to get in you car and drive" The door man was the only person that took the time to explain were several good restaurants were and was very personable. After 4 nights of pounding music until 4:00am not being able to order one movie to drowned out the droning noise since all we would get is snow on the TV. The wife and I were ready to leave and never return. Checking out was another wonderful experience with a desk clerk willing to ask how our stay was but not really wanting to hear what I had to say with comments like "Well Welcome to the French quarter" I have stayed in the French quarter before and I have never been treated so poorly and with so little disregarded to the customer. We will return to the french Quarter but never to the Royal Sonesta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnnyAppleseed
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Ask if the your hotel is being renovated!

I was very excited to be staying at a hotel which was renowned for its courtyards. I was at Conference where I needed to entertain some business colleagues. I invited them to my hotel for a quite meeting only to have our meeting disrupted, and be embarrassed by the noise. There we were, well after dark in the courtyard and we could not hear each other talk for the sound of saws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland Or.
Nov 30, 2010

great place, bad service, no sleep

The Royal Sonesta is a very beautiful hotel on Bourbon street and by all appearances it should be a great place to stay. During check-in I knew we did not want to have a room on Bourbon street and the clerk also suggested that we stay in a room off the streets. This is were it all went bad; the room we were given was adjoining the work out room. Yes there were hours of operation but it opened at 6:00am which meant there was no sleeping in and we had to listen to the sounds of the work out room all day. We requested to be moved and they put us 4 rooms off of Bourbon st and told use we might get some street noise? They failed to tell us the bar right out side our window blasts heavy bass music until 4:00am in the morning. I went to the front desk and was told "there is no guarantee any of there rooms would be quite and I was handed 2 sets of ear plugs. The concierge was rude, insulting, and did not have time for us. Comments includes "I am going to make this simple so even you can find the restaurant" and "if you want complicated you will have to get in you car and drive" The door man was the only person that took the time to explain were several good restaurants were and was very personable. After 4 nights of pounding music until 4:00am not being able to order one movie to drowned out the droning noise since all we would get is snow on the TV. The wife and I were ready to leave and never return. Checking out was another wonderful experience with a desk clerk willing to ask how our stay was but not really wanting to hear what I had to say with comments like "Well Welcome to the French quarter" I have stayed in the French quarter before and I have never been treated so poorly and with so little disregarded to the customer. We will return to the french Quarter but never to the Royal Sonesta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Jan 10, 2011

Not a customer oriented hotel

I booked the hotel to look at french quarter property. The quality of the hotel services available were not up to my previous stays at this hotel. The was an incident at the hotel bar involving a rude and completely unprofessional bartender. When I complained to management the hotel staff did not even have the courtesy to respond to the phone call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike2011
Texas, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Please choose a different hotel.

I would not recommend this hotel for a vacation. Room staff constantly disturb you to clean the room. The hotel is not safe as someone was knocking our door at 2 am in the morning and we had to call the security. The whole trip at new Orleans was good except for the stay at this hotel. They also have a hidden parking charge of 40 dollars per night. My credit card statement indicated that they have charged me 50 bucks per night. I had to call them to get this corrected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
The Woodlands, TX
Sep 26, 2010

Katrina ruined a great hotel

Hotal premises and services have gone downhill gradually since Katrina

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Apr 22, 2010

So-so

The hotel is on bourbon street. Thats great for location but the area around it smells awful. The room smelled like there had been a dog staying in it. I didn't request a room change but was a little disappointed. When it was time for me to leave, the printer was down still so I couldn't sign my receipt. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Apr 22, 2010

So-so

The hotel is on bourbon street. Thats great for location but the area around it smells awful. The room smelled like there had been a dog staying in it. I didn't request a room change but was a little disappointed. When it was time for me to leave, the printer was down still so I couldn't sign my receipt. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
The Woodlands, TX
Sep 26, 2010

Katrina ruined a great hotel

Hotal premises and services have gone downhill gradually since Katrina

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimmieo
New York, NY
Sep 17, 2013

not worth the money spent!

arrived late to the hotel on a fri night. best picks for rooms had already been taken. first room given to us was too small, old and carpet had a few stains. the second room, thanks to the manager, was much cleanier and more spacious but no view of bourbon street. was hanging out by the pool side on sunday and wanted to order food but the wait time for food was 45 minutes...decided to go outside instead. also noticed vomit in the pool which a guy was scooping out with a cup...gross!! with so many hotel options nearby can't believe we chose royal sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For fine Dining: check out Nola and GW Finns!!

Back to menu Return to top