$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
301 reviews
Really quite peaceful steps from the fun

it was amazing to me how quiet and beautiful this hotel was being on Bourbon Street I love that... See full review

  • Sperry1014
  • Nov 25, 2014
Excellent Stay!

From the moment we pulled into valet parking, we were already impressed. The staff was very... See full review

  • Jo Ann B.
  • Nov 20, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dy
Business
nc
Aug 5, 2009

love, love love this hotel!!!

this was the best hotel i have been to in a long time. i travel a good bit and have become used to bored, uncaring employees. This hotel's employees are off the charts!! everyone was so helpful and pleasant. Crisp linens, fluffy towels,pampering turn down service, excellent bar and delicious restaurants--and the best mojito i have ever had! i had trouble with my room safe on a number of occaisons and every time i called security for help, they would arrive within 5 minutes--i later discovered it was my stupidity, not their safe that was the problem. I locked myself out of the room, they were there within minutes. i had left my do not disturb sign up by mistake and they returned later for turn down service. if i asked my room to be cleaned early/late--it was done. Great location on Bourbon street--great valets, check in, maids everyone! It was so wonderful to feel like people couldn't do enough for me, rather than that they didn't want to be bothered. Totally different experience from my last few trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get a map--it's so easy to get around and not too far to walk most places if you know what you're doing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RevJoe
Business
Piedmont, CA
Aug 26, 2009

Incredible Hotel

The hotel is on Bourbon Street in the heart of the French Quarter. This was one of our best vacation experiences ever. We faced Bourbon Street by choice. (We were told at check-in we could change rooms if we wanted to do so -- but it wasn't that noisy, in fact it was fun.) [...], Chief Concierge, made our stay unforgettable -- he remembered our names at our second visit to his desk, he arranged tours, recommended restaurants, etc., he is a great asset to the hotel. The Doormen were extremely personable, the housekeeping staff friendly. The Hotel was spotless, our room was perfect -- the hotel is a gem in the midst of earthy Bourbon Street. A beautiful side entrance to the lobby is available for anyone (families with small children) wishing to avoid 'the street.' Other than Bourbon Street, the French Quarter abounds in shops, restaurants, museums, riverboats, etc. The hotel has a lounge with different and varied entertainment every night. We walked to almost everything or used public transportation. Unforgettable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jun 10, 2010

Loved it!

Our hotel stay was amazing. I spent a week here with my sister, and we loved everything about the Royal Sonesta. Its location can't be beat - right on Bourbon (but we called the hotel our quiet oasis from the craziness ;) in the heart of the French Quarter, and walking distance to the Warehouse District and streetcars on Canal St. The concierge gave us wonderful suggestions for tours and jazz performances. The service was amazing, the pool was perfect...can't find enough good things to say!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBJC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 14, 2010

Excellent Experience

This hotel is by far one of the best places you can stay when taking a trip to New Orleans. While Bourbon street can get quite noisy and is rather trashy, the hotel provides an oasis. Our room was not facing Bourbon street (we had a choice when we checked in) and therefore had no problems with the noise outside. We arrived at 11am and without any hassle were able to check in immediately, even though the check in time was 4pm. We immediately visited the concierge and inquired about renting a car to drive to the plantations and within minutes he had arranged for someone to pick us up the following morning to pick up the car, and had also managed to get us a rate that was cheaper than any we had found when asking at the airport that morning. The best thing about this hotel was that it was the perfect place to return to in the afternoon, when the 100 degree heat became too much, and lounge around by the beautiful pool, sit in the indoor cafe, or outside in the court yard. When booking this trip we had also considered several other hotels, some on Canal street and others closer to the CBD, but the Royal Sonesta was by far the best choice in terms of location. Canal street and the CBD both seemed a bit seedy, and although Royal Sonesta is on Bourbon street, it was in the best location in terms of walking distance to tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast we would strongly recommend anyone to go to the OLD COFFEE POT. It is a short walk from the Royal Sonesta and off of Bourbon street. The old-time cafe/restaurant had delicious food (try the Cala Cakes), friendly service, and a nice ambiance. The prices are also very reasonable and breakfast was served until 2pm. For lunch, the SOMETHING ELSE CAFE was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HURRICANE GINA
Business
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Sep 6, 2010

ROYAL SONESTA SHINES!

WE STAYED AT THE ROYAL SONESTA ON LABOR DAY WEEKEND FOR MY BOYFRIEND'S 50TH. WE STAYED ON THE CLUB R FLOOR. THE ROOM WAS VERY PLUSH, THE BED AND LINENS WERE AMAZING. TURNDOWN SERVICE AND ALL AMENITIES. THE BREAKFAST AND COCKTAIL HOUR ON THE CONCIERGE FLOOR WERE ALSO WONDERFUL. UNLIMITED BEVERAGES AND APPETIZERS WHICH CHANGED DAILY. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

WE HAD THE CONCIRGE FLOOR ROOM, OUR FRIENDS HAD THE BOURBON STREET BALCONY ROOM. WE PLAYED IN THE ONE ROOM AND SLEPT IN THE OTHER!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicher
Business
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Mar 2, 2011

Pre Mardi-Gras Unwind

I have always wanted to stay at the Royal Sonesta but could not afford it. You made it possible and it went well beyond our expectations. The service and friendlyness was such a help from the front desk to the room service. The rooms were spotless with the most comfortable beds we've had in New Orleans. It was not necessary to leave the hotel to savor the finest food and drinks as well as the local entertainment if you did not want to. Although there was a large conference going on at the same time we never felt cramped or went for lack of service. The location is ideal as we walked to the many sights in the French Quarter that we wanted to see. This was the best trip we have had in the Crescent City and we have been there over a dozen times. The only thing missing from this trip in New Orleans was more time to enjoy it. We visited Jackson Square, took a buggy ride to get all the local lore and hear bout the famous places. Shopped at the French Market, saw a Mardi-Gras parade on Sunday and had to buy an extra bag to bring all the beads home. In addition to several meals at Royal Sonesta we went across the Street from the hotel and ate at the Old New Orleans Cookery. Thanks to all the money you saved us we were also able to have lunch at Antoine's. Of course, everyone goes to the Cafe Du Monde and we were there every day for the powdered sugar fix. We certainly will do our traveling through Cheap Tickets from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk to the hotel employees. They will help you find the food you want at the most reasonable prices and the best quality. You are in short walking distance to to the river, Jackson Square, and Canal Street if you really want to go shopping. At the corner of Bourbon and Conti is where the fun and relaxation begins. The Royal Sonesta is unbeatable if you are a party animal as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Apr 5, 2011

Royal Sonesta

Perfect for Mardi Gras

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 6, 2011

What an Experience!

I upgraded to the executive level which included Breakfast and Cocktails and Hors Derves, Concierge floor staff was outstanding from [...] all every helpful and with the greatest attitudes. Felt at home here with bell staff car porters everyone, next time I travel to New Orleans there is no other choice to stay but here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pascal Manales, best barbecue Shrimp in the country

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janie R.
Business
Providence, Rhode Island
Aug 30, 2011

Great Vacation - Loved every minute

My husband I loved the hotel. The staff, rooms, pool, drinks everything about the hotel was wonderful. The only thing I did not like was that there was no microwave in the room. There was a refrigerator though. I have stayed at the Royal Sonesta in the past and will continue to do so in the future. On a scale of 1 - 10...................... I give it a 10 all day long!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My suggestion would be to definitely go on the Swamp Tour. When making your reserations make sure you request the "small boat". Taking the tour on the small boat is much better than the bigger one because it goes faster with less people on it. Definitely worth the money all day long!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buff Driver
Business
Florida
Oct 10, 2011

Wonderful weekend experience.

Great location to experience Bourbon Street and the French Quarter and never get in your car. You can walk to many interesting landmarks, restaurants, bars, and see art on the street or in galleries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top