$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bekah
Business
Greenville, NC
Oct 7, 2012

Not impressed

The staff at the concierge desk was lazy and made it clear they did not want to be bothered. Not helpful or even slightly concerned...they were actually, a bit rude. It was evident that repeat business was not valued at this establishment. While the room, the restaurant and location were very nice, I will not return to the Royal Sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 24, 2012

Great location. Rooms a bit run down.

Room service and housekeeping unreliable and slow. Rooms need to be updated. No coffee machine in room. Located in heart of Bourbon St in pedestrian only block, so no taxi drop off during evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnJanet
Business
Bhm, Al.
May 19, 2012

Hotel was nice, very noisy outside, parking expensive.

Parking at the Hotel was too high @ $40 a night. It was very loud and noisy on Burbon street till about 2-3 am even during the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kimmmm
Business
Chicago, IL
May 16, 2012

World Class!!

This hotel may be located on Bourbon Street. (dirty and loud) but you wouldn't know it the moment you step inside. Quiet, luxurious, and absolutely beautiful! We have stayed here before, the beds are amazingly comfortable, the service is second to none, and the courtyard balconies and pool are just a gorgeous way to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street. Highly recommend this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car! Take a cab from the airport. everything in the French Quarter is within walking distance of the Royal Sonesta!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug1111
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
May 8, 2012

Good but could have been better

We got stuck in elevator. It was't fixed when we left. R Club was great. Staff very friendly. If you liike the action in the French Quarter you will love this hotel. It started out bad because o r b i t z did not have confirmed reservations until the day before and we booked the room 3 months before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have R Club included with your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alligator and Turtle
Business
New England
Mar 30, 2012

Bourbon Street on a budget

There were 4 adults. We had one room with a terrace. We all agreed that we had a very nice room at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Willie Mae's Scotch House. It has been featured on the food channel. We were all surprised at how good the chicken was. Also, the Court of the Two Sisters on Royal Street was very good. This was not cheap, but certainly worth it. Eating out should be about the quality and experience. They did a good job.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schsieme
Business
Saint Louis MO
Mar 29, 2012

Outstanding

An amazing experience. Every single staff person we encountered was THE BEST. I felt like a Princess from beginning to end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jet Jock
Business
Central PA
Mar 27, 2012

4 star facility but 2 star room and housekeeping

Hotel was 4 star but the Deluxe King room was no more than 2 1/2 star. The room was damp/humid. One day we had to go out looking for wash cloths and another we ran out of toilet paper. The bath was small with a poorly constructed single vanity and there was a little mold on the tub grout. Clock/radio/mp3 player had the wrong time and no apparent way to change it. The concierge said he would have someone change it, but it never happened. We might return to an upgraded room because the location and hotel appointments were very nice but likely will look for another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arles
Business
Spring Hill, Florida
Mar 14, 2012

A-ONE

Staying at the Royal Senesta right on Bourbon Street was one of the best ideas I've had in a long time. The hotel was beautiful and right in the heart of the French Quarter. We were able to walk to almost all destinations. Their Sunday Brunch was lovely, and the waite staff was wonderful. Great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A must see. The WWII museum cannot be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
billy k
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Mar 3, 2012

not for kids

best hotel on bourbon street. Rooms are great hotel is beautyful. location couldn't be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good places to eat just off bourbon st. Live Music everywhere. This place is not for kids

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top