$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
296 reviews
Excellent Stay!

From the moment we pulled into valet parking, we were already impressed. The staff was very... See full review

  • Jo Ann B.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great location

Could not ask for a better location! Very nice hotel. I stay here every time I go to New Orleans. See full review

  • Chachibear
  • Oct 5, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (296)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikee
NY
Oct 31, 2013

Great Value

Centrally located on Bourbon Street, but perfectly clean, quiet and comfortable. The perfect mix of amenties and location and well worth the price of admission.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

venture away from bourbon st for the best food and drink

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
carebear15
Business
Decatur ms
Feb 15, 2012

extra charges

The hotel was great. The only problem was that every night between 2 & 3 a.m. my debit card was being charged. the first night it was charged $307.00, the 2nd night it was charged 267.00 and the last night was charged 260.00 and the morning we were checking out I was charged another 681.00. When we asked why they told us it was just conformation charges. There were a total of $1500.00 charges that we did not use!!! It is being refunded back to my card but each transaction has to wait 3 days to come back onto my card. So everyday I have to call the credit card company to make sure they are releasing the transaction back onto my account.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

watch your credit card transactions very closely! if I hadn't noticed the transaction coming off of my account I probably would have been out $1500!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desert Dancer
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Feb 14, 2012

True Southern Hospitality!

Great food! Awesome Staff! Very clean. I was hesitant to stay right on Bourbon Street because I thought it might not be "nice" but was really surprised. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Desire Oyster Bar was very good! Friendly and very good wait staff! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve and Laura
Business
Chicago
Feb 7, 2012

our honeymoon in New Orleans

It was fantastic! The hussle and bustle of Bourbon St outside, you walk inside the doors of Royal Sonesta to quite and peace. The room was clean and newly remodled the staff was so helpful. Even loaning us an umbrella the last morning during our one and only rainstorm in our 5 day trip. Thank You Royal Sonesta for everything!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Green Line streetcar with an all day pass. On that line you can go to WWII and civil war muesums, the beautiful Garden District and the Layefette Cemetary. All for $3.00 per person plus admission to muesums. At WWII do the package film and tour. Do the film first, narrated by Tom Hanks, fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yales
Business
Charles City, IA 50616, USA
Feb 4, 2012

New Orleans Honeymoon

The Royal Sonesta Hotel was a great stay. The staff was so warming and friendly, helped us with anything we needed. We loved the live jazz bands every night. The only complaint we had was that the cable/satellite would cut in and out quite a bit and the it took a little longer for the picture to come on the screen. Couldn't beat the location, short walking distance from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was so many dining choices in a short walking distance. All the big name diners and restaurants along with the unknown that serve great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BlondeDetective
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 27, 2012

Perfection in the Big Easy

From the time you are met at the front door, the experience at the Royal Sonesta, New Orleans, just gets better and better. It's located right on Bourbon St. and if you didn't want to go out, you wouldn't have to as the hotel offers everything from a cute little breakfast shop (PJ's) to a great little restaurant (Desire Oyster Bar) to a top ranked jazz Club (Irvin Mayfield's). The rooms are all gorgeous. My room looked out into the pool area. Do yourself a favor and take a trip to the Big Easy and stay at the Royal Sonesta. You'll be glad you did !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go outside the French Quarter and do some exploring. There are over 1200 restaurants in New Orleans, don't limit yourself to the French Quarter. I don't believe you can get a bad meal in New Orleans, so give it a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NIkM
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Great weekend for a 50th birthday!

The Hotel was clean and amazingly quiet since it is on Boubon St. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. An overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GW Fins restaurant was excellent. Food and service were superb! I will dine there again the next time I travel to New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
echo79
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Anniversary Heavan

The hotel is beautiful and has its own restaurants and a jazz club (the jazz was awesome!) next to the lobby. The courtyard is quiet and peaceful, lush and green. The staff were attentive, pleasant and always at your service. This was my first experience at a high-end hotel such as this and I was not disappointed. However, I wish the room would have had a coffee maker and fridge. I found that I did miss these amenities, which I am used to at mid-level hotels. Otherwise, the bed was comfortable and the room a good size. I was in a room next to the fitness center and it was loud, especially when people had the TV on while running on the treadmill. Next time I will request to be away from there. The location is absolutely the best thing about this hotel. Ignoring the in-your-face debauchery on Bourbon St, the hotel is a short walk to Decatur St, the French Market, Canal St to catch the streetcars and the Royal St shops. I wish we had more time to explore the business district, downtown and city park. There are loads of museums, but the weather was so nice, that we didn't want to spend the day inside. New Orleans was worth the trip, and we will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coops Place on Decatur has some awesome creole food but do NOT step through the doorway when there are people waiting outside. The staff will come and get you when they are ready to seat you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike9mike
Business
san jose,ca
Jan 19, 2012

Heart of the french quarter.

room was clean. no rooms had refrigerators. staff was helpful. jazz club is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanna Puza Photography
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Jan 19, 2012

business/pleasure

Royal Sonesta was like an oasis in the middle of NOLA chaos. We loved the sanctuary of the courtyard after walking off of Bourbon St. Staff was amazing and we felt so lucky to have chosen The Royal Sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner from Royal Sonesta were wonderful antique and art shops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Short Business Stay
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Short business trip

My experience in the hotel was great. The location was fabulous. Being on Bourbon Street, some of the guest were a little loud (including the ones that came in at 3:30 in the morning and seemed to want to transact business in the hallway). But overall, the location was great, the room was spacious and clean, and the staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top