Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WMC party goer
New Jersey, USA
Mar 11, 2013

5 star Bourbon St experience

Step out of the taxi and instantly greeted by Malcom the porter. His politeness and welcoming good nature I would learn would be typical of this hotel and the French Quarter in general. At the concierge desk, my girlfriend and I spent about 10 minutes with the staff getting there best advice about bars, restaurants and the sights. They did not mislead or disappoint. The room was outstanding, a balcony over looking the pool. Quiet enough to rest, but the hotel was right on Bourbon so the action is right at your finger tips. All of the best dining is within the a block of this amazing hotel. On Bourbon, the hotel's bar, Le Booze is a nice spot to start off the night with a couple of brews before drinking the sugar packed drinks littering Bourbon. After a night out or for lunch, Desire Oyster Bar is a must. Try the Oysters Desire! Although room service ends at midnight, they happily obliged my request to come up with a bottle of champagne and a piece of delicious chocolate cake for my girlfriend's birthday. I asked them to come up at 12, and they were not a second late. Room 4136 was where I stayed and is a luxurious balcony room with a king sized bed that made you think you were sleeping on a cloud. It was the perfect vessel to rest your worn and tired feet after venturing up and down the French quarters. Highly recommend this hotel, and when I return to New Orleans this will be the only hotel I would consider. I am so impressed with Royal Sonesta I will go as far and say I will choose their name of hotel in the next city I stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oysters, Felix's oysters, Desire, R'evolution, Dickie Brennan's, Brennan's, Bourbon house, Antoine's are all within a block of this hotel! Truly amazing.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GoCards
Business
Louisville
Jan 9, 2013

Amazing

This place was awesome. Right in the heart of New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Stanley restaurant is delicious

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crucian mom
Business
US Virgin Islands
Dec 28, 2012

Nice 1-night stay

Room was small but comfortable. No coffee maker or hair dryer in room. Parking was expensive--$40 for one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Boy R
Business
MA
Nov 2, 2012

70th Birthday Gift

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The servce, location, friendliness and assistance from all the staff made our days enjoyable. An extra day stay due to the superstorm was provided to us with no problems. It was a memorable vacation, which was a birthday gift, from start to finish. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan your itinerary as soon as possible so you can fit in as much shopping and sight seeing as you want. Also, make reservations for special dining experiences.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EKIL
Business
Boston Ma area
Oct 16, 2012

Wonderful place to stay

Everything was 1st class. They have well trained staff that go out of their way to make you comfortable. Many thanks to them for making are stay perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

K Paul's Louisiana Kitchen for dinner

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 24, 2012

Great location. Rooms a bit run down.

Room service and housekeeping unreliable and slow. Rooms need to be updated. No coffee machine in room. Located in heart of Bourbon St in pedestrian only block, so no taxi drop off during evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnJanet
Business
Bhm, Al.
May 19, 2012

Hotel was nice, very noisy outside, parking expensive.

Parking at the Hotel was too high @ $40 a night. It was very loud and noisy on Burbon street till about 2-3 am even during the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kimmmm
Business
Chicago, IL
May 16, 2012

World Class!!

This hotel may be located on Bourbon Street. (dirty and loud) but you wouldn't know it the moment you step inside. Quiet, luxurious, and absolutely beautiful! We have stayed here before, the beds are amazingly comfortable, the service is second to none, and the courtyard balconies and pool are just a gorgeous way to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street. Highly recommend this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car! Take a cab from the airport. everything in the French Quarter is within walking distance of the Royal Sonesta!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug1111
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
May 8, 2012

Good but could have been better

We got stuck in elevator. It was't fixed when we left. R Club was great. Staff very friendly. If you liike the action in the French Quarter you will love this hotel. It started out bad because o r b i t z did not have confirmed reservations until the day before and we booked the room 3 months before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have R Club included with your room.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alligator and Turtle
Business
New England
Mar 30, 2012

Bourbon Street on a budget

There were 4 adults. We had one room with a terrace. We all agreed that we had a very nice room at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Willie Mae's Scotch House. It has been featured on the food channel. We were all surprised at how good the chicken was. Also, the Court of the Two Sisters on Royal Street was very good. This was not cheap, but certainly worth it. Eating out should be about the quality and experience. They did a good job.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schsieme
Business
Saint Louis MO
Mar 29, 2012

Outstanding

An amazing experience. Every single staff person we encountered was THE BEST. I felt like a Princess from beginning to end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top