$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
271 reviews
Luxurious haven in the heart of the action

I took my son for 5 days for the WWE wrestle mania events. It was during spring break and I... See full review

  • Sherifa
  • Apr 8, 2014
business trip

great hotel, wonderful stay, would recomend it to everyone. See full review

  • K Alex
  • Jan 28, 2014
Timeless and elegant French Quarter hotel with lush courtyards, pools

Traditional gabled windows, French doors and wrought-iron lace balconies appoint the "Jewel of the French Quarter." The Royal Sonesta offers lush tropical courtyards with outdoor pools and serene gardens. The famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse features live jazz seven nights a week on the lobby level.

Highlights
  • Relaxing pool environment complete with a lavish courtyard and pool bar
  • True French Quarter architectural style
  • Live jazz nightly at the famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse
Rooms

Choose between a lush courtyard view or the bustle and excitement of a Bourbon Street-facing room, many with private balconies. Flat screen TVs and desks with high-speed wired and wireless Internet (fees apply) are available in all 483 smoke-free rooms. Rooms are richly decorated and match the French Quarter feel. 

Features

Many dining and nightlife options await guests in true New Orleans style. The on-site Begue's restaurant boasts French and Creole specialties for breakfast and lunch. Guests can also enjoy a decadent Sunday Champagne brunch. The famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse features live jazz seven nights a week on the lobby level with no cover charge. A lavish outdoor pool on the third floor is the perfect afternoon escape. Options include a poolside massage or lunch at the Oasis Pool Bar, open seasonally.

 

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (21 minutes)
Attractions
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km )
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3.1 mi/ 5 km)
  • Xavier University (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Tulane University (4.7 mi/ 7.6 km)
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (6.5 mi/ 10.5 km)
Business
  • The 24-hour business center features computer stations, Internet access, print and photocopy capabilities, faxing and complimentary boarding pass printing (fees apply)
  • Computer and equipment rental services available by Royal Productions
  • 20,000 square feet of function space
  • A 5,000-square-foot ballroom accommodates events up to 650 people
  • An executive board room offers the latest in broadcast and telecommunication technology
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at $39.00 USD plus tax.
  • Rooms are non-smoking.  Smoking is permitted at the green spaces and courtyards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
271 out of 271
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
GoCards
Louisville
Jan 9, 2013

Amazing

This place was awesome. Right in the heart of New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Stanley restaurant is delicious

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
mamaandpapa
Baltimore, MD, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great vacation

The staff at Royal Sonesta couldn't be any nicer. We felt welcomed and valued. Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
CindyMax
Houston
Nov 2, 2011

Royal Sonesta R Club

The conciege level - The R Club. Amenities-only good because they advertise your personal conceige there 2 days out of 6. When we came and when we left. Room comfort only because a borken shower door, which they fixed when reported and a broken chair, which I didn't notice until we were leaving(first time sitting in it). Chocolate with bed turn down 2 nights out of 5. It was nice going down the hall in the morning for breakfast but can't get a drink for the hair of the dog.. The bright shining star was Kadija the host of breakfast and nightly cocktails. She was wonderful. It was nice, but not $450. a night nice. Not sure I'll stay there again. The Royal Sonesta is a lovely hotel, R Club needs a little tweaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

My favorite bar is French 75. An intimate french bar. They make perfect Corpse Revivers. Very Close to northwest corner of Bienville and Bourbon. Heard the most amazing trombone player and composer, Rick Trolsen, at Snug Harbor, on Frenchman Street. All his original music. Incredible!!! I'd put him in the same category as Miles. A long walk for Bourbon and Bienville. (We're over 60)

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
EdieB
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Perfect location

We just got back from a terrific stay at the Royal Sonesta on Bourbon Street. The staff members were warm, friendly and incredibly helpful. The location is awesome, we walked everywhere, with great ease (Harrah's, Riverwalk, Cafe Dumonde, Bourbon House, Brennan's, Galatoines, Acme, on and on). The restaurants in the area, are the amongst the best in the world. The entertainment at the Sonesta was fabulous, best heard anywhere in N.O. The beds were 1st class, pillows too. We elected to have a room in the back, way off Bourbon Street, for quiet rest. Would do the whole trip again, it a heartbeat! You will be happy you stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
BuzzSaw
Frisco, TX, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Nice weekend getaway

Very nice hotel. I only had one bad experince with 3 bellhops. I asked them directions for a place to eat and interuppted their discussion. They one that answered me acted upset that I interuppted them. And they were not busy...just shooting the bull. Other than that, I will be there again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Chula
Surfside Beach, SC 29575, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Great spot for 3 older visitors

Excellent with 1 small exception: we never had bath towels in the room without contacting service. ( 4 days ) Jazz club off lobby is a great benefit to those who don't want to carouse after dinner. Location is very convenient. Staff is helpful and very friendly. Will use Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Jazz club! 3 out of four nights were great!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
jim c
Naples, FL, USA
Oct 23, 2011

excellent

no complaints. Superb staff. Only negative was the Tues night jazz band in the bar --would describe them as dreary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

prailine connection

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Cpy99
Lexington, KY, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Best balcony in NOLA

Had a wonderful time in New Orleans. Best part of the trip was sitting on the balcony overlooking Bourbon St.. Lots of noise but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great time on Magic Tour of cemetary.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Buff Driver
Florida
Oct 10, 2011

Wonderful weekend experience.

Great location to experience Bourbon Street and the French Quarter and never get in your car. You can walk to many interesting landmarks, restaurants, bars, and see art on the street or in galleries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Washll
Brooklyn Heights, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Oct 10, 2011

First visit to Grandson at Tulane

I would characterize this as superior busy hotel on a noisy street. The fitness center is modest but adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
nulabs71
Atlanta, GA
Oct 3, 2011

Right on Bourbon Street

My wife and I decided to visit New Orleans for our 10 year wedding anniversary. After reading many reviews on Orbitz we decided on the Royal Sonesta. The Hotel is located right in the heart of the French Quater on Bourbon Street. Yes, the Bourbon Street party rages loudly well into the night, every night, but you'd never know it from the quiet confines of your room. This is wonderful because as much fun as the party is on Bourbon Street when your ready to call it a night it's nice to have complete peace and quiet and this you will have on the courtyard rooms. There are balcony rooms that face Bourbon but I'd imagine those aren't so peaceful. The staff at the Hotel was wonderful. Everyone we came into contact w/ was always customer service minded and very friendly from the front desk folks to the bellhops and all the others in between. I especially liked chatting w/ Eubanks about each days adventures. He was very helpful. Would I stay at the Royal Sonesta again? Perhaps. The accommodations were top notch and the service was 4 star. For my wife and I though, we preferred the relative tranquility of Royal Street and the east side of the Quarter. Even though it is completely quiet inside the Royal Sonesta you still have to walk through the bourbon street madness to get to the Hotel. After an evening of fine dining and a night of music on Frenchman Street we didn't enjoy wading through all the craziness to get into the Hotel. All and all a great vacation at a fine Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top