$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WMC party goer
New Jersey, USA
Mar 11, 2013

5 star Bourbon St experience

Step out of the taxi and instantly greeted by Malcom the porter. His politeness and welcoming good nature I would learn would be typical of this hotel and the French Quarter in general. At the concierge desk, my girlfriend and I spent about 10 minutes with the staff getting there best advice about bars, restaurants and the sights. They did not mislead or disappoint. The room was outstanding, a balcony over looking the pool. Quiet enough to rest, but the hotel was right on Bourbon so the action is right at your finger tips. All of the best dining is within the a block of this amazing hotel. On Bourbon, the hotel's bar, Le Booze is a nice spot to start off the night with a couple of brews before drinking the sugar packed drinks littering Bourbon. After a night out or for lunch, Desire Oyster Bar is a must. Try the Oysters Desire! Although room service ends at midnight, they happily obliged my request to come up with a bottle of champagne and a piece of delicious chocolate cake for my girlfriend's birthday. I asked them to come up at 12, and they were not a second late. Room 4136 was where I stayed and is a luxurious balcony room with a king sized bed that made you think you were sleeping on a cloud. It was the perfect vessel to rest your worn and tired feet after venturing up and down the French quarters. Highly recommend this hotel, and when I return to New Orleans this will be the only hotel I would consider. I am so impressed with Royal Sonesta I will go as far and say I will choose their name of hotel in the next city I stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oysters, Felix's oysters, Desire, R'evolution, Dickie Brennan's, Brennan's, Bourbon house, Antoine's are all within a block of this hotel! Truly amazing.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jgau
Business
Kent
Apr 25, 2013

Party town

If you are a party amimal then this is the place to stay. If you take a room with balcony on bourbon street don't expect to get much sleep. After two nights I considered changing rooms to something quieter but decided to go with the flow. It's very central to amenities in the French quarter and would be perfect for Madis gras. We stayed here in between festivals, can't imagine what it would be like during! Great location wish I had time to try the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Antonines

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Time in NO
Business
Syracuse, NY
Apr 7, 2013

Overall ok

Location was great, right on Bourbon st. Staff could have been friendlier. We were checking out @ 4am & staff struggled to give me a zero balance print out. Why didn't they deliver check out statement under the door like most hotels? also for security door were locked/elevators to where to get cab was not out of service, had to carry bags down stairs to get to cab, should provide better option during those hours. 1/2 of Equipment in workout facility made loud noises, they all need to be updated. Overall ok hotel, clean enough, although they didn't clean room timely, they came late to our room, seemed busy but they should plan for that. I would recommend this hotel but with above explanations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

download NOLA app. you can make reservations right from your phone with this app & get confirmation. Also has a lot of information on what to see & do in the area and includes distance & directions from where you are to restaurants & other locations. Great App!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Easter Bunny
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 1, 2013

Easter Weekend Getaway

Great Hotel right in the Heart of Bourbon Street. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great Jazz club in the hotel. Room was comfortable and clean. 5th Floor room faced Bourbon Street but street noise was minimal. Visit the Courtyard Bar on the pool deck. (2nd Floor). Hotel has a side entrance on Conti which made avoiding Bourbon Street crowds easy when desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

BMC Music Club; 1331 Decatur. About 15 minute walk from Hotel. Great music. The place rocks. Hit Cafe Du Monde on the way back later.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chitst
Business
London, UK
Mar 11, 2013

Great location & atmosphere

You can't get closer to the heart of New Orleans with this hotel! Excellent service & location, if there was a negative it was that as a great hotel it was very busy and we couldn't get a jazz dinner reservation at the hotel, or even return to stay later that week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arnould@s Jazz restaurant was exceptional

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flashsemi
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 11, 2013

Guys trip

Great location if you want to party on Bourbon. Balcony room very fun but incredibly noisy when you want to sleep. Nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd Deavor
Business
Loxley, AL
Feb 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

This was one of my best trips to NO best location every and the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arctic Cat
Business
Nashville
Feb 20, 2013

Rough start but ended well

We were originally given a prison cell room that opened onto a brick wall with no view. Not what I came to New Orleans for. Finally got the room changed to one with a balcony overlooking Conti and Bourbon and things were greatly improved! A note for others: this type of room will make it hard to get any sleep because of the noise but it was what we were looking for. My biggest concern when we went to change the room (which was smoothly accomplished by the friendly staff) was that the lines were full of unhappy people also changing their rooms. That made me nervous as to what we had gotten ourselves into...This hotel does have great amenities and a perfect location if you want to be in the heart of the action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana Restaurant sits beside the Royal Sonesta and offered some of the best food and drinks we had the whole trip. Convenient to be close to the hotel when one of those hurricanes sneaks up on you as often happens in the Big Easy!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fabulous Mom
Business
Lafayette, Louisiana
Jan 28, 2013

Night Away

My daughter had to go to Metairie to take the MCAT exam, so I treated her to a night in New Orleans on Bourbon Street. We had an amazing time. I've stayed in the city many times at different hotels, but this one was the best by far. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I will definitely stay at the Royal Sonesta again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hard Rock Cafe is now located on Bourbon Street just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DRubes
Business
Boston
Jan 15, 2013

Best Vacation Ever!!

Went to New Orleans with my girlfriend of 2 years and booked travel for 3 nights.. The hotel was great! It has a jazz bar in it which is fantastic, and the oyster bar gives you that NO feel. The staff was super friendly; we needed our air in the room adjusted to blow colder air, and it was fixed within 15 minutes of calling! Since its right on Bourbon Street, it can be LOUD but we booked with that understanding. The hotel provides security, though, so you can't get to the elevators without a key. I really liked that, especially with the insanity taking place outside. Will definitely, unequivocally be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top