$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan greenbay
Long Island New York
Aug 5, 2013

SOLID

Staff outstanding location perfect food in restaurant exceptional (both) no complaints bedding exceptional comfort would return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Leisure dining Desire one of the best places I have eaten in 50 years!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brkrwllm
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 9, 2013

Perfect Location

Staff was great and everything in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pineeidge
Business
New Orleans
Jun 18, 2013

just got back

The location was perfect it was in walking distance to everything. The staff was friendly we had to get a new room because we needed needed a king room but was given two single beds. The new room was small with a view of a brick wall but quite and clean. The bar area had live entertainment that was very nice. The restaurant was five star and the food was great. The pool was small with very little shade. The gym was small but nice. Overall it was worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try hobb nobber restaurant its a little casual place place kind of a hole in the wall but the food is really good.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ColoradoGirlsTrip
Business
Colorado
Jun 11, 2013

Fun Girl's Trip

Excellent location with friendly service! Planning a couples trip for December.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LionelHouston
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 6, 2013

Very good and friendly service

Waiters have been very helpful in giving directions for best places to visit, best timing, and organization. Very well located hotel, very practical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Preservation Hall

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeanine
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
May 30, 2013

Great Adult Entertainment Hotel

Very classy hotel on Bourbon St. Noise level was very good considering our window faced right to Bourbon. Pool area very nice as is having #1 rated jazz bar downstairs and PJ's coffee contained within. Would not recommend staying anywhere on Bourbon St if you have kids under age 16 or 17. Heavy partying and strip clubs galore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MORK10
Business
Austin Texas
May 28, 2013

Romantic and Fun WE getaway

Hotel was very good right in the middle of the action on Bourbon Street in the French Quarters. That's an advantage as most of the best restaurants and bars are within a 3 to 4 blocks radius and you get a real feel for the place but also a disadvantage as Bourbon St. is very noisy, dirty most of the time and has a semi permanent foul smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacksonsgirl79
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 22, 2013

Paying for location

We loved our trip to New Orleans. It was our first time there and it was for my husbands birthday so it was the perfect place to celebrate. We liked the Royal Sonesta; it's a nice hotel. The location was so good and clearly that is what you pay for. The cost of the room didnt bother us, it was how we were nickled and dimed to death. We ordered breakfast one time and our 18$ per person plate ended up costing 68$! Also the scrambled eggs were soupy and clearly came from a bag-not farm fresh like the menu boasted. We needed a fridge which doesn't come with the room and that was 12$ per day, my husband wanted a microwave and that was another 15$ per day. In this day and age a hotel that costs 575$ per night should have a fridge. Also the parking was outrageously expensive. For an upscale hotel I also expect a spa or even basic spa services but there were none. I would recommend this hotel but understand nothing comes with your rate except a bed and a shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Frenchman Street for good live music.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathy woody
Business
Massachusetts
May 18, 2013

Bourbon street experience

People are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are so clean. Beds are very comfortable .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Never too old
Business
Irving
May 15, 2013

Super great location

If you like jazz, the Sonesta is the place with jazz in the hotel bar, Legends Jazz Park across the street with nightly music, in the jazz bars on Bourbon St and Preservation Hall nearby. Staff was bend-over backwards friendly. Room was a bit "aged" but clean and comfy. Parking was available but pricey. Nearby Court of Two Sisters Restaurant has the BEST breakfast buffet. Hotel location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you can imagine from dining, to jazz, to shopping, to a riverboat dinner cruise is within a short easy walk from the Royal Sonesta Hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rukind710
Business
New York
May 14, 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans

This was our 2nd stay in two years at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans. Beautiful hotel in the heart of the French Quarter, right on Bourbon St. We upgraded to the Concierge Level and were glad we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great time in the French Quarter.

Back to menu Return to top