$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacksonsgirl79
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 22, 2013

Paying for location

We loved our trip to New Orleans. It was our first time there and it was for my husbands birthday so it was the perfect place to celebrate. We liked the Royal Sonesta; it's a nice hotel. The location was so good and clearly that is what you pay for. The cost of the room didnt bother us, it was how we were nickled and dimed to death. We ordered breakfast one time and our 18$ per person plate ended up costing 68$! Also the scrambled eggs were soupy and clearly came from a bag-not farm fresh like the menu boasted. We needed a fridge which doesn't come with the room and that was 12$ per day, my husband wanted a microwave and that was another 15$ per day. In this day and age a hotel that costs 575$ per night should have a fridge. Also the parking was outrageously expensive. For an upscale hotel I also expect a spa or even basic spa services but there were none. I would recommend this hotel but understand nothing comes with your rate except a bed and a shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Frenchman Street for good live music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathy woody
Business
Massachusetts
May 18, 2013

Bourbon street experience

People are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are so clean. Beds are very comfortable .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Never too old
Business
Irving
May 15, 2013

Super great location

If you like jazz, the Sonesta is the place with jazz in the hotel bar, Legends Jazz Park across the street with nightly music, in the jazz bars on Bourbon St and Preservation Hall nearby. Staff was bend-over backwards friendly. Room was a bit "aged" but clean and comfy. Parking was available but pricey. Nearby Court of Two Sisters Restaurant has the BEST breakfast buffet. Hotel location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you can imagine from dining, to jazz, to shopping, to a riverboat dinner cruise is within a short easy walk from the Royal Sonesta Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rukind710
Business
New York
May 14, 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans

This was our 2nd stay in two years at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans. Beautiful hotel in the heart of the French Quarter, right on Bourbon St. We upgraded to the Concierge Level and were glad we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great time in the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
naninine
Business
San Diego, CA
May 8, 2013

Great location

This hotel offers excellent service and well as the best location in the heart of New Orleans. Everyone is very friendly and will perform the best service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennan's for breakfast is the best in the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jgau
Business
Kent
Apr 25, 2013

Party town

If you are a party amimal then this is the place to stay. If you take a room with balcony on bourbon street don't expect to get much sleep. After two nights I considered changing rooms to something quieter but decided to go with the flow. It's very central to amenities in the French quarter and would be perfect for Madis gras. We stayed here in between festivals, can't imagine what it would be like during! Great location wish I had time to try the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Antonines

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Time in NO
Business
Syracuse, NY
Apr 7, 2013

Overall ok

Location was great, right on Bourbon st. Staff could have been friendlier. We were checking out @ 4am & staff struggled to give me a zero balance print out. Why didn't they deliver check out statement under the door like most hotels? also for security door were locked/elevators to where to get cab was not out of service, had to carry bags down stairs to get to cab, should provide better option during those hours. 1/2 of Equipment in workout facility made loud noises, they all need to be updated. Overall ok hotel, clean enough, although they didn't clean room timely, they came late to our room, seemed busy but they should plan for that. I would recommend this hotel but with above explanations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

download NOLA app. you can make reservations right from your phone with this app & get confirmation. Also has a lot of information on what to see & do in the area and includes distance & directions from where you are to restaurants & other locations. Great App!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Easter Bunny
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 1, 2013

Easter Weekend Getaway

Great Hotel right in the Heart of Bourbon Street. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great Jazz club in the hotel. Room was comfortable and clean. 5th Floor room faced Bourbon Street but street noise was minimal. Visit the Courtyard Bar on the pool deck. (2nd Floor). Hotel has a side entrance on Conti which made avoiding Bourbon Street crowds easy when desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

BMC Music Club; 1331 Decatur. About 15 minute walk from Hotel. Great music. The place rocks. Hit Cafe Du Monde on the way back later.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chitst
Business
London, UK
Mar 11, 2013

Great location & atmosphere

You can't get closer to the heart of New Orleans with this hotel! Excellent service & location, if there was a negative it was that as a great hotel it was very busy and we couldn't get a jazz dinner reservation at the hotel, or even return to stay later that week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arnould@s Jazz restaurant was exceptional

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flashsemi
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 11, 2013

Guys trip

Great location if you want to party on Bourbon. Balcony room very fun but incredibly noisy when you want to sleep. Nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top