$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fabulous Mom
Lafayette, Louisiana
Jan 28, 2013

Night Away

My daughter had to go to Metairie to take the MCAT exam, so I treated her to a night in New Orleans on Bourbon Street. We had an amazing time. I've stayed in the city many times at different hotels, but this one was the best by far. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I will definitely stay at the Royal Sonesta again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hard Rock Cafe is now located on Bourbon Street just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherifa
Business
Cairo, Egypt
Apr 8, 2014

Luxurious haven in the heart of the action

I took my son for 5 days for the WWE wrestle mania events. It was during spring break and I programmed myself to endure, however, the Royal Sonesta exceeded all my expectations. The hotel was a lovely haven in the heart of chaos, as soon as you step in, you're transported to cool, classic luxury. The staff are all welcoming and wonderful and efficient. The food is to die for, especially DESIRE..... We went there everyday and the oysters are addictive. The rooms were a bit worn but very clean, luxurious and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and the soap and shampoos were great. The laundry lost a sweater of mine, but the staff are working diligently to find it. My overall experience was perfect. I would love to go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Oysters Desire at Desire restaurant .....yummmm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve MD
Business
new york, ny
Apr 21, 2014

romantic getaway

great hotel!!!! Lobby is beautiful, room great, service excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great location!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blues Brian
Business
melrose ma
Jun 4, 2014

Great New Orleans spot

This is the sixth time I have been to this hotel> the serviuce is excellent. The location is tremendous but it is pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal street galeries and shops are wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beanne
Business
New York
May 10, 2011

Royal Sonesta for Jazz Fest

Just got back from Jazz Fest and the hotel was great. I'll start with my favorite part of the hotel - the lively pool scene. Full bar right next to the pool with poolside service, great music (not live) and a yummy barbecue on the weekends. We planned on sitting out for a couple of hours and ended up spending the whole day there. Fantastic location - right on Bourbon street. I opted for an R Club room on the concierge floor and the room was spacious, the bed was super comfortable and the jacuzzi tub came in handy after a long day dancing at jazz fest. I had a corner balcony which was so large it was more like a patio. The view was nothing to look at, but it was lovely sitting out there in the morning and in the afternoon and evening we were close enough to hear the music from Bourbon Street but far enough away that it didn't disturb our sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful and when I had my one hiccup - safe malfunctioned with all of my money and credit cards locked inside - the hotel had sent someone up immediately. I would definitly stay here again and would opt for the R Club floor again. The rooms are substantially bigger than on the other floors and the balcony alone was worth the extra cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rbuena
Business
Dayton, OH
Apr 12, 2011

Beautiful Hotel and Great Staff!

The hotel is located stretegically for a vacation in the French Quarter. Parking is easy and the staff were great! Rooms were fine as we were out all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennan's for breakfast and Antoine's, Arnaud's or Galatoire's for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dade City Fl
Jun 7, 2011

Great as usual.

Always get a balcony room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taby
Business
Astoria, NY
Apr 26, 2011

What a blast in NOLA

Stayed at the Royal Sonesta for 4 nights,5 days, it was awesome. The hotel is gorgeous, right on Bourbon street, we asked for a quite room in the back and we got it. There was no view but totally worth the peacefulness and those beds...soooo comfy. The staff were extremely helpful especially the doormen, they were great with suggestions on places to eat and things to do. The pool was great too. We had a blast. Definately visit Coop's Place, best Jambalaya in NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Unfortunately we didn't know about the flea market over by Cafe du Monde until the last day we were there. Way more affordable food and souvenirs then getting them on Bourbon. Stay away from Bourbon street's Pizza and those Lucky Hot dogs, so nasty and not worth the $3.50. Try Coops Place for rabbit and sausage Jambalaya or The Old coffee Pot for great breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
your only 21 once
Business
lafayette, la
Sep 25, 2010

Great experience

We went to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. The hotel was amazing. Great location. The staff offered suggestion of a nice place to eat. Staff was very friendly. This was a wonderful experience and a memorable trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Any shopping or dining in the French Quarter will be more expensive. If you want to save money ask around for the locals favorite places to eat that are reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cam4
Business
Walnut, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Royal Sonesta

Beautiful lobby, comfortable room and excellent, friendly staff .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Aug 11, 2010

Where the action is!

Spent 4 days looking at the galleries and markets in the French Quarter and 4 nights listening to good live music. To see outside the french quarter the trams are great and cheap. The partying can get a bit intense but makes for great people watching. Had lots of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cab was set 33 dollars (for two persons) from the airport - most of the French Quarter is within walking distance plus there are the trams thus whilst in the Quarter it is not worth hireing a car. Do the Quarter first then get a car if you want to roam further.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top