$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
287 reviews
Bourbon week end

We introduced our Oklahoma friends to a week end in New Orleans. We chose Royal Sonesta due to... See full review

  • BAMA locals
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fantastic getaway

Excellent location, great food, good times . A must try. See full review

  • Wild Blll
  • Aug 6, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DRubes
Boston
Jan 15, 2013

Best Vacation Ever!!

Went to New Orleans with my girlfriend of 2 years and booked travel for 3 nights.. The hotel was great! It has a jazz bar in it which is fantastic, and the oyster bar gives you that NO feel. The staff was super friendly; we needed our air in the room adjusted to blow colder air, and it was fixed within 15 minutes of calling! Since its right on Bourbon Street, it can be LOUD but we booked with that understanding. The hotel provides security, though, so you can't get to the elevators without a key. I really liked that, especially with the insanity taking place outside. Will definitely, unequivocally be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
Feb 28, 2010

Great accommodations!

Concierge helped with dinner reservations. Everyone from desk to bellhop were very pleasant and friendly. What a beautiful place in the Bourbon Street area. I had a room off the main street and it was quiet and restful. I would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many excellent restaurants. We ate at Brennan's (five dollar signs), Desire, Bourbon House and the Bon Ton Cafe (two dollar signs). The latter was the BEST food for the price with the best ambiance. Eat lots of fresh raw oysters and lots of local cuisine. Bon appetite!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jazz2
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 30, 2011

Very enjoyable

The Royal Sonesta was very comfortable, clean, and well located for walking to the various tourist attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful. I was impressed at the amount of security that was present. I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the Royal Sonesta's Desire Oyster Bar was outstanding.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blues Brian
melrose ma
Jun 4, 2014

Great New Orleans spot

This is the sixth time I have been to this hotel> the serviuce is excellent. The location is tremendous but it is pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal street galeries and shops are wonderful

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glenn Atkinson
Business
Weston Fl
May 22, 2014

Hotel Royal Sonesta

It was the best of the best, its is for sure where I'm staying next time I go back to New Orleans !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana Restaurant

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New fan of New Orleans
Santa Fe NM
Apr 10, 2010

Very Pleased! Even better than expected.

New Orleans is a very unique city. I was completely amazed by it. I loved the jazz bands and the people were wonderful. The Hotel was totally like going back in time when people really took pride in their job and their surroundings I hope if I have the chance to return I will stay at Royal Sonesta New Orleans and recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be very careful there are some very clever pick pockets. That can really ruin a wonderful trip to loose all your money.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
your only 21 once
lafayette, la
Sep 25, 2010

Great experience

We went to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. The hotel was amazing. Great location. The staff offered suggestion of a nice place to eat. Staff was very friendly. This was a wonderful experience and a memorable trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Any shopping or dining in the French Quarter will be more expensive. If you want to save money ask around for the locals favorite places to eat that are reasonably priced.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schsieme
Saint Louis MO
Mar 29, 2012

Outstanding

An amazing experience. Every single staff person we encountered was THE BEST. I felt like a Princess from beginning to end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Culpeper VA
Apr 6, 2010

nice get away for Spring break

For all the chaos outside on Bourbon St, it was VERY quiet inside. The staff and other guests were lovely. We did not chose the Easter Jazz Bruch due to high cost. But this hotel had beautful flowers and a courtyard to die for. We had to wait until almost 6 o'clock to get into our room and arrived in town at 10:00 a.m. But they very nicely took the bags up and we had a lovely place to hang out. Plus, enjoy the city without luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

well, you gotta see it to believe it! A lovely EAster parade with middle age ladies in carriages before church. In the afternoon a gay pride parade. The crowds were heavy and fun during the day. At night - be aware!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cam4
Walnut, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Royal Sonesta

Beautiful lobby, comfortable room and excellent, friendly staff .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eva G.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Great experience from to A to Z

Great experience. Our room was quiet, with comfortable beds, super soft white sheets, and the best pillows. We've upgraded to the Tower Floor and it was worth every penny: inclusive breakfast, happy hour from 5-7pm with nice appetizers and nice quality wines. The concierge and staff was absolutely the best. They had great suggestions for music and dinning, made our reservations, and took care pretty much of everything we've asked for. And whatever you do-don't miss the Irvin Mayfield's jazz lounge in the lobby. Fantastic jazz and great atmosphere. Loved every hour of our stay at that hotel. Five stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Amelie at 912 Royal Street. Fresh and delicious Louisiana food, prepared with much more finesse than at the big touristy spots. Super romantic courtyard setting; even though we ate inside because of the rain it still felt truly magical.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search