$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago
Jun 8, 2010

French Quarter Hotel

This is a hotel that I would go back to stay at. There is absolutly nothing bad I can say about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to be able to enjoy the nightlife on Bourbon Street, this is a great Hotel for it. Right on the strip, in walking distance of everything that the French Quarter has to offer.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wine Guy Chris
Couples
San Diego, CA
Mar 17, 2010

Great location right on Bourbon Street

Originally we had rooms on the 7th floor R Club level but the rooms didn't have balconies so we asked to be switched to the 4th floor which had french doors going out to an interior (quiet!) balcony overlooking the central atrium but still close (yet far away enough!) from the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother eating at Antoine's or Arnaud's. Both were very expensive and the food was horrible. It was a major disappointment because that was one of the reasons we came.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Re-linda
Couples
Dominican Republic
Mar 2, 2010

Just a great experience!

Our visit was very short. Just a few hours but really loved the place. Very clean, bed and pillows very comfortable, great location, beautiful lobby. Just great. Only thing missing was more time to enjoy the rest of the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lafayette, LA
Sep 28, 2009

Fantastic Hotel!!

Check-in, check-out, parking, staff were all excellent. The Royal Sonesta is just a beautiful hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Right outside of the hotel..the hotel is on Bourbon Street!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Carlisle, Pa.
Apr 8, 2010

Easter weekend at the Royal Sonesta

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel, this was my 4th trip to New Orleans and I really enjoyed the staff at the hotel...it also has a beautiful pool...off the 3rd floor, sort of on the roof. Everything is purely first class here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of excitement on Bourbon Street and great dining experiences abound.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
boston, ma
Jul 9, 2010

three days in new orleans

Great staff. Good restaurant on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fayetteville North Carolina
Jul 10, 2010

Great Getaway!

It was so nice to smell real flowers at every turn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

K-Pauls was super!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
workingmom
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Can't beat the location

This was my first trip to New Orleans and I couldn't have picked a better location! I was in town for a conference and was able to easily walk to the convention center, Friendly staff, great food, This is where I will stay if/when I come back with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Falls Church, VA
Jan 4, 2011

You get the royal treatment

The Royal Sonesta is akin to staying at a Ritz Carlton in terms of room size and quality of furnishings. Very clean and up to date. Bed and linens were very comfortable and bathroom was impeccable with Italian products. But do yourself a favor and ask for a quiet room overlooking the courtyard or the other internal patio. If you get a street room, the drunks on Bourbon will keep you up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Jackson Square and see St. Louis Cathedral, then Cafe du Monde for beignets, then walk the entire French Market which borders Cafe du Monde. Be sure to visit the shops on Royal if you like artwork. Be sure to buy your morning coffee just across Bourbon Street at Cafe Beignet. Refills are $0.60 each and the breakfast there is delicious too. Coffee in Sonesta is expensive.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
Feb 28, 2010

Great accommodations!

Concierge helped with dinner reservations. Everyone from desk to bellhop were very pleasant and friendly. What a beautiful place in the Bourbon Street area. I had a room off the main street and it was quiet and restful. I would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many excellent restaurants. We ate at Brennan's (five dollar signs), Desire, Bourbon House and the Bon Ton Cafe (two dollar signs). The latter was the BEST food for the price with the best ambiance. Eat lots of fresh raw oysters and lots of local cuisine. Bon appetite!

Back to menu Return to top