$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Alex
Business
short hills, nj
Jan 28, 2014

business trip

great hotel, wonderful stay, would recomend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geo K
Friends
Chicago, IL
Nov 26, 2013

Fun weekend with friends

The hotel was nice. Location on Bourbon street was centrally located, but it was a little too crazy. The pool looked nice, but it was too cold to use it. Overall pretty nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DougMcNerd
Single
Atlanta, GA
Nov 24, 2013

Royal Sonesta

Nice hotel, clean rooms, great location. This hotel is right in the middle of many great restaurants, bars, and other tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
another old guy
Couples
st. louis, mo
Nov 15, 2013

French Quarter comfort and convenience

Can't beat the Bourbon Street location for convenience. Concierge quite helpful. Rooms facing courtyard surprisingly quiet, considering the constant street party outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lrnzo
Friends
Indianapolis
Oct 23, 2013

meh

Staff is not helpful or friendly. Hotel feels used but kept well b/c our room was clean but I wore flip flops so I did not have to touch the carpet. Bed was outstanding (very firm). Generally this is the first hotel that I have overpaid for in Years. Would do the W if french quarter is a must. Then just visit the R bar for a great cocktail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph G
Couples
Sand Springs, OK
Oct 15, 2013

Night on the town

Loved this hotel. Staff was so helpful and friendly. Can't wait to go back to New Orleans .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spyderjohn
Couples
Austin
Sep 29, 2013

A nice 4 day vacation

The hotel is in good shape considering how old it is. Nice pool. Staff was first class, very helpful. We did not get a room with a view that was a disappointment considering the deluxe upgrade I paid for. I had a horrible experience at the hotel restaurant and will never go there again, but the town is full of restaurants that are much better. Stay there if you want to be close to Bourbon St. Eat some were else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the carriage tours they will be the best way to get to know the area.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimmieo
Couples
New York, NY
Sep 17, 2013

not worth the money spent!

arrived late to the hotel on a fri night. best picks for rooms had already been taken. first room given to us was too small, old and carpet had a few stains. the second room, thanks to the manager, was much cleanier and more spacious but no view of bourbon street. was hanging out by the pool side on sunday and wanted to order food but the wait time for food was 45 minutes...decided to go outside instead. also noticed vomit in the pool which a guy was scooping out with a cup...gross!! with so many hotel options nearby can't believe we chose royal sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For fine Dining: check out Nola and GW Finns!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KSYork
Couples
Washington, DC
Sep 10, 2013

Saints Getaway

Great hotel if you're willing to stay in the quarter, which was a little hectic. It's nice they have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Azmjk
Family
Gilbert, AZ
Aug 16, 2013

All that jazz

This hotel is right on Bourbon St. And close to almost everything. The on site jazz club is probably the best feature. We did reserve and stated upon check-in we had three adults staying in the room and needed two beds. When we checked in they claimed they did not have any rooms left with two beds, so we had to settle for a king bed with a rollaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Make sure to check out the on-site jazz club.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanya from Texas
Family
Fayetteville, AR
Aug 12, 2013

Wonderful quick weekend

Staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly. Valet service was fast, friendly. They even packed up our car when we were leaving. Room was excellent! Beds were very comfortable! Bathroom was clean and good sized for 3 ladies to share. Location was perfect - short distance to all French Quarter attractions. I would certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the French Market!!

Back to menu Return to top