$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WMC party goer
New Jersey, USA
Mar 11, 2013

5 star Bourbon St experience

Step out of the taxi and instantly greeted by Malcom the porter. His politeness and welcoming good nature I would learn would be typical of this hotel and the French Quarter in general. At the concierge desk, my girlfriend and I spent about 10 minutes with the staff getting there best advice about bars, restaurants and the sights. They did not mislead or disappoint. The room was outstanding, a balcony over looking the pool. Quiet enough to rest, but the hotel was right on Bourbon so the action is right at your finger tips. All of the best dining is within the a block of this amazing hotel. On Bourbon, the hotel's bar, Le Booze is a nice spot to start off the night with a couple of brews before drinking the sugar packed drinks littering Bourbon. After a night out or for lunch, Desire Oyster Bar is a must. Try the Oysters Desire! Although room service ends at midnight, they happily obliged my request to come up with a bottle of champagne and a piece of delicious chocolate cake for my girlfriend's birthday. I asked them to come up at 12, and they were not a second late. Room 4136 was where I stayed and is a luxurious balcony room with a king sized bed that made you think you were sleeping on a cloud. It was the perfect vessel to rest your worn and tired feet after venturing up and down the French quarters. Highly recommend this hotel, and when I return to New Orleans this will be the only hotel I would consider. I am so impressed with Royal Sonesta I will go as far and say I will choose their name of hotel in the next city I stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oysters, Felix's oysters, Desire, R'evolution, Dickie Brennan's, Brennan's, Bourbon house, Antoine's are all within a block of this hotel! Truly amazing.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikee
Business
NY
Oct 31, 2013

Great Value

Centrally located on Bourbon Street, but perfectly clean, quiet and comfortable. The perfect mix of amenties and location and well worth the price of admission.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

venture away from bourbon st for the best food and drink

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lrnzo
Business
Indianapolis
Oct 23, 2013

meh

Staff is not helpful or friendly. Hotel feels used but kept well b/c our room was clean but I wore flip flops so I did not have to touch the carpet. Bed was outstanding (very firm). Generally this is the first hotel that I have overpaid for in Years. Would do the W if french quarter is a must. Then just visit the R bar for a great cocktail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph G
Business
Sand Springs, OK
Oct 15, 2013

Night on the town

Loved this hotel. Staff was so helpful and friendly. Can't wait to go back to New Orleans .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spyderjohn
Business
Austin
Sep 29, 2013

A nice 4 day vacation

The hotel is in good shape considering how old it is. Nice pool. Staff was first class, very helpful. We did not get a room with a view that was a disappointment considering the deluxe upgrade I paid for. I had a horrible experience at the hotel restaurant and will never go there again, but the town is full of restaurants that are much better. Stay there if you want to be close to Bourbon St. Eat some were else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the carriage tours they will be the best way to get to know the area.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimmieo
Business
New York, NY
Sep 17, 2013

not worth the money spent!

arrived late to the hotel on a fri night. best picks for rooms had already been taken. first room given to us was too small, old and carpet had a few stains. the second room, thanks to the manager, was much cleanier and more spacious but no view of bourbon street. was hanging out by the pool side on sunday and wanted to order food but the wait time for food was 45 minutes...decided to go outside instead. also noticed vomit in the pool which a guy was scooping out with a cup...gross!! with so many hotel options nearby can't believe we chose royal sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For fine Dining: check out Nola and GW Finns!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KSYork
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 10, 2013

Saints Getaway

Great hotel if you're willing to stay in the quarter, which was a little hectic. It's nice they have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Azmjk
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Aug 16, 2013

All that jazz

This hotel is right on Bourbon St. And close to almost everything. The on site jazz club is probably the best feature. We did reserve and stated upon check-in we had three adults staying in the room and needed two beds. When we checked in they claimed they did not have any rooms left with two beds, so we had to settle for a king bed with a rollaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Make sure to check out the on-site jazz club.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanya from Texas
Business
Fayetteville, AR
Aug 12, 2013

Wonderful quick weekend

Staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly. Valet service was fast, friendly. They even packed up our car when we were leaving. Room was excellent! Beds were very comfortable! Bathroom was clean and good sized for 3 ladies to share. Location was perfect - short distance to all French Quarter attractions. I would certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the French Market!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan greenbay
Business
Long Island New York
Aug 5, 2013

SOLID

Staff outstanding location perfect food in restaurant exceptional (both) no complaints bedding exceptional comfort would return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Leisure dining Desire one of the best places I have eaten in 50 years!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mack77
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 22, 2013

Great Experience

Perfect Bourbon St experience, without the noise! (get a room off of Bourbon St. Best bed I've ever slept in! Nice and helpful staff. A+ experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top