$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
271 reviews
Luxurious haven in the heart of the action

I took my son for 5 days for the WWE wrestle mania events. It was during spring break and I... See full review

  • Sherifa
  • Apr 8, 2014
business trip

great hotel, wonderful stay, would recomend it to everyone. See full review

  • K Alex
  • Jan 28, 2014
Timeless and elegant French Quarter hotel with lush courtyards, pools

Traditional gabled windows, French doors and wrought-iron lace balconies appoint the "Jewel of the French Quarter." The Royal Sonesta offers lush tropical courtyards with outdoor pools and serene gardens. The famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse features live jazz seven nights a week on the lobby level.

Highlights
  • Relaxing pool environment complete with a lavish courtyard and pool bar
  • True French Quarter architectural style
  • Live jazz nightly at the famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse
Rooms

Choose between a lush courtyard view or the bustle and excitement of a Bourbon Street-facing room, many with private balconies. Flat screen TVs and desks with high-speed wired and wireless Internet (fees apply) are available in all 483 smoke-free rooms. Rooms are richly decorated and match the French Quarter feel. 

Features

Many dining and nightlife options await guests in true New Orleans style. The on-site Begue's restaurant boasts French and Creole specialties for breakfast and lunch. Guests can also enjoy a decadent Sunday Champagne brunch. The famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse features live jazz seven nights a week on the lobby level with no cover charge. A lavish outdoor pool on the third floor is the perfect afternoon escape. Options include a poolside massage or lunch at the Oasis Pool Bar, open seasonally.

 

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (21 minutes)
Attractions
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km )
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3.1 mi/ 5 km)
  • Xavier University (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Tulane University (4.7 mi/ 7.6 km)
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (6.5 mi/ 10.5 km)
Business
  • The 24-hour business center features computer stations, Internet access, print and photocopy capabilities, faxing and complimentary boarding pass printing (fees apply)
  • Computer and equipment rental services available by Royal Productions
  • 20,000 square feet of function space
  • A 5,000-square-foot ballroom accommodates events up to 650 people
  • An executive board room offers the latest in broadcast and telecommunication technology
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at $39.00 USD plus tax.
  • Rooms are non-smoking.  Smoking is permitted at the green spaces and courtyards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
271 out of 271
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
WMC party goer
New Jersey, USA
Mar 11, 2013

5 star Bourbon St experience

Step out of the taxi and instantly greeted by Malcom the porter. His politeness and welcoming good nature I would learn would be typical of this hotel and the French Quarter in general. At the concierge desk, my girlfriend and I spent about 10 minutes with the staff getting there best advice about bars, restaurants and the sights. They did not mislead or disappoint. The room was outstanding, a balcony over looking the pool. Quiet enough to rest, but the hotel was right on Bourbon so the action is right at your finger tips. All of the best dining is within the a block of this amazing hotel. On Bourbon, the hotel's bar, Le Booze is a nice spot to start off the night with a couple of brews before drinking the sugar packed drinks littering Bourbon. After a night out or for lunch, Desire Oyster Bar is a must. Try the Oysters Desire! Although room service ends at midnight, they happily obliged my request to come up with a bottle of champagne and a piece of delicious chocolate cake for my girlfriend's birthday. I asked them to come up at 12, and they were not a second late. Room 4136 was where I stayed and is a luxurious balcony room with a king sized bed that made you think you were sleeping on a cloud. It was the perfect vessel to rest your worn and tired feet after venturing up and down the French quarters. Highly recommend this hotel, and when I return to New Orleans this will be the only hotel I would consider. I am so impressed with Royal Sonesta I will go as far and say I will choose their name of hotel in the next city I stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oysters, Felix's oysters, Desire, R'evolution, Dickie Brennan's, Brennan's, Bourbon house, Antoine's are all within a block of this hotel! Truly amazing.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
LionelHouston
Houston, TX
Jun 6, 2013

Very good and friendly service

Waiters have been very helpful in giving directions for best places to visit, best timing, and organization. Very well located hotel, very practical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Preservation Hall

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Jeanine
Fort Worth, Texas
May 30, 2013

Great Adult Entertainment Hotel

Very classy hotel on Bourbon St. Noise level was very good considering our window faced right to Bourbon. Pool area very nice as is having #1 rated jazz bar downstairs and PJ's coffee contained within. Would not recommend staying anywhere on Bourbon St if you have kids under age 16 or 17. Heavy partying and strip clubs galore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
MORK10
Austin Texas
May 28, 2013

Romantic and Fun WE getaway

Hotel was very good right in the middle of the action on Bourbon Street in the French Quarters. That's an advantage as most of the best restaurants and bars are within a 3 to 4 blocks radius and you get a real feel for the place but also a disadvantage as Bourbon St. is very noisy, dirty most of the time and has a semi permanent foul smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Jacksonsgirl79
Charlotte, NC
May 22, 2013

Paying for location

We loved our trip to New Orleans. It was our first time there and it was for my husbands birthday so it was the perfect place to celebrate. We liked the Royal Sonesta; it's a nice hotel. The location was so good and clearly that is what you pay for. The cost of the room didnt bother us, it was how we were nickled and dimed to death. We ordered breakfast one time and our 18$ per person plate ended up costing 68$! Also the scrambled eggs were soupy and clearly came from a bag-not farm fresh like the menu boasted. We needed a fridge which doesn't come with the room and that was 12$ per day, my husband wanted a microwave and that was another 15$ per day. In this day and age a hotel that costs 575$ per night should have a fridge. Also the parking was outrageously expensive. For an upscale hotel I also expect a spa or even basic spa services but there were none. I would recommend this hotel but understand nothing comes with your rate except a bed and a shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Frenchman Street for good live music.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Cathy woody
Massachusetts
May 18, 2013

Bourbon street experience

People are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are so clean. Beds are very comfortable .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Never too old
Irving
May 15, 2013

Super great location

If you like jazz, the Sonesta is the place with jazz in the hotel bar, Legends Jazz Park across the street with nightly music, in the jazz bars on Bourbon St and Preservation Hall nearby. Staff was bend-over backwards friendly. Room was a bit "aged" but clean and comfy. Parking was available but pricey. Nearby Court of Two Sisters Restaurant has the BEST breakfast buffet. Hotel location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you can imagine from dining, to jazz, to shopping, to a riverboat dinner cruise is within a short easy walk from the Royal Sonesta Hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
rukind710
New York
May 14, 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans

This was our 2nd stay in two years at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans. Beautiful hotel in the heart of the French Quarter, right on Bourbon St. We upgraded to the Concierge Level and were glad we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great time in the French Quarter.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
naninine
San Diego, CA
May 8, 2013

Great location

This hotel offers excellent service and well as the best location in the heart of New Orleans. Everyone is very friendly and will perform the best service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennan's for breakfast is the best in the world.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Jgau
Kent
Apr 25, 2013

Party town

If you are a party amimal then this is the place to stay. If you take a room with balcony on bourbon street don't expect to get much sleep. After two nights I considered changing rooms to something quieter but decided to go with the flow. It's very central to amenities in the French quarter and would be perfect for Madis gras. We stayed here in between festivals, can't imagine what it would be like during! Great location wish I had time to try the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Antonines

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
1st Time in NO
Syracuse, NY
Apr 7, 2013

Overall ok

Location was great, right on Bourbon st. Staff could have been friendlier. We were checking out @ 4am & staff struggled to give me a zero balance print out. Why didn't they deliver check out statement under the door like most hotels? also for security door were locked/elevators to where to get cab was not out of service, had to carry bags down stairs to get to cab, should provide better option during those hours. 1/2 of Equipment in workout facility made loud noises, they all need to be updated. Overall ok hotel, clean enough, although they didn't clean room timely, they came late to our room, seemed busy but they should plan for that. I would recommend this hotel but with above explanations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

download NOLA app. you can make reservations right from your phone with this app & get confirmation. Also has a lot of information on what to see & do in the area and includes distance & directions from where you are to restaurants & other locations. Great App!

Back to menu Return to top