$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WMC party goer
Couples
New Jersey, USA
Mar 11, 2013

5 star Bourbon St experience

Step out of the taxi and instantly greeted by Malcom the porter. His politeness and welcoming good nature I would learn would be typical of this hotel and the French Quarter in general. At the concierge desk, my girlfriend and I spent about 10 minutes with the staff getting there best advice about bars, restaurants and the sights. They did not mislead or disappoint. The room was outstanding, a balcony over looking the pool. Quiet enough to rest, but the hotel was right on Bourbon so the action is right at your finger tips. All of the best dining is within the a block of this amazing hotel. On Bourbon, the hotel's bar, Le Booze is a nice spot to start off the night with a couple of brews before drinking the sugar packed drinks littering Bourbon. After a night out or for lunch, Desire Oyster Bar is a must. Try the Oysters Desire! Although room service ends at midnight, they happily obliged my request to come up with a bottle of champagne and a piece of delicious chocolate cake for my girlfriend's birthday. I asked them to come up at 12, and they were not a second late. Room 4136 was where I stayed and is a luxurious balcony room with a king sized bed that made you think you were sleeping on a cloud. It was the perfect vessel to rest your worn and tired feet after venturing up and down the French quarters. Highly recommend this hotel, and when I return to New Orleans this will be the only hotel I would consider. I am so impressed with Royal Sonesta I will go as far and say I will choose their name of hotel in the next city I stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oysters, Felix's oysters, Desire, R'evolution, Dickie Brennan's, Brennan's, Bourbon house, Antoine's are all within a block of this hotel! Truly amazing.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse D.G.
Couples
Maine
Nov 24, 2014

everything was great, but...

The morning of our flight the desk sent us to the parking garage exit to wait for a taxi that never showed up, and we were locked as we had handed in our room keys. Very confusing, and nerve wracking. We were finally rescued by an independent shuttle service, no thanks to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

pricey, but worth it (revolution)

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jo Ann B.
Couples
Los Angeles, Ca
Nov 20, 2014

Excellent Stay!

From the moment we pulled into valet parking, we were already impressed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We checked in with ease and discovered an upgrade to our room, with a bottle of chilled champaign! The location is right in the heart of Bourbon St. Walking distance to everything you may need. We will definitely be back to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chachibear
Friends
Santa Barbara
Oct 5, 2014

Great location

Could not ask for a better location! Very nice hotel. I stay here every time I go to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
n123
Business
Louisiana
Sep 29, 2014

Okay

Okay hotel. Older, very very loud. Restaurant R'evolution is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMFM
Single
CdMx
Sep 24, 2014

Excellent

This Hotel is the best option in Nola, you have a jazz bar in the lobby, have a beautiful piscine and the room are quiet in the night. Good place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Jazz bar in the lobby its excellent!!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bp47
Couples
niles il
Sep 14, 2014

very good experience for husband & wife

room was clean but the first night i discover blood spots on the sheet and bites on my skin .i don't want to say it was bed bugs but seems.because i gave for cleanliness 3 stars. bad remote control for tv because of this room comfort- 4 stars. overall everything very pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drobbin
Friends
NY, NY
Sep 8, 2014

great place to stay

Just an overall good experience. Not much else to say. The beds were super comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark on the go
Single
Raleigh, NC
Sep 3, 2014

Would stay again

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again. The only thing I didn't like was the bed was not very comfortable to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't have to pay alot to get great food. Try the little places.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KC331
Couples
new york, ny
Aug 31, 2014

Great Location! Great Pool!

The Royal Sonesta is a beautiful hotel. My boyfriend and I requested a room facing Bourbon street so that we could hang out on the balcony and watch all of the craziness go by...but unfortunately, we didn't get one. You need to pay extra for a room with a balcony (we were told about $50 more a night)..so don't expect all the rooms to have balconies! Our room directly faced a strip club and two homeless men so we never really wanted to keep our curtains open for more than a few minutes... The hotel lobby is gorgeous, with a courtyard leading to an AMAZING (and super pricey) courtyard restaurant. The pool is also beautiful, and was surprisingly not too busy on a hot August day. We loved the fact that the hotel entrance is directly across the street from a Cafe Beignet, which had drinks and amazing live music every day from early on in the morning until the evening. Its really right in the center of it all..its pretty wild on Bourbon but we're a lively couple in our mid-twenties and we had a great time! Hotel staff was pleasant, always trying to assist us. Rooms were really nice too--only issue was that comforter on our king sized bed seemed like it was meant for a twin..but the bed itself was so comfortable it didn't matter too much! Our only real complaint: We booked four nights here and after the third night, we had someone knocking on our door HARD telling us it was time to check out....when I had two more nights at the hotel booked and paid for. Shortly after, we received a call from the front desk telling us we only booked two nights and that it was past check out time..when we confirmed two nights earlier, with the woman at the front desk, WITH my hotel confirmation, that we booked 4 nights. This was REALLY upsetting. This was on our "rest/hangover day" after two really fun days and we were hoping we would be able to sleep in...but the woman on the phone insisted we only booked two nights. I was then put on hold for about fifteen minutes, and afterwards, was transferred to another person at hotel reservations who told me i changed my reservation from four nights to two nights...which never happened. I was then put on hold for so long that I hung up and called the hotel directly, and spoke to someone who apologized, and said that someone changed by reservation for some reason..and that it would all get sorted out. This was a pretty awful morning. Other than that mishap we had a GREAT experience in New Orleans. We hardly spent any time in the hotel (just to sleep and go swimming) because there is SO much to do outside! Nonetheless, we would stay here again because of the location and the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is SO MUCH to eat and drink and do on Bourbon! If you are with a group/can afford it, its probably worth it to stay in a room with a balcony, facing bourbon or the pool.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BAMA locals
Friends
Bay Minette, Alabama
Aug 24, 2014

Bourbon week end

We introduced our Oklahoma friends to a week end in New Orleans. We chose Royal Sonesta due to location and overall good rates. We could not have asked for a better location and friendly staff. We were impressed with the quietness of our room while staying on Bourbon Street and rested very well and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the best oysters in the area at Acme oyster House

Back to menu Return to top