Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

4.3/5

Overall score

94%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Accessible Deluxe King
Handicap Accessible-King Bed.
Conti or Bienville Street Balcon
Conti or Bienville Street Balcony King Wifi - TV HD - safe - minibar
R Club Double
R Club Floor - 2 Dbl beds - Comp WiFi full brkfst -evening cocktails-hors doeuvres
R Club King
R Club Floor - 1 King - Comp WiFi full brkfst -evening cocktails-hors doeuvres
Standard Room
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability.
Accessible Deluxe Double
Handicap accessible deluxe double beds.
Accessible Queen Bed.
Handicap Accessible Queen Bed.
Bourbon Balcony King
Bourbon Balcony- King Bed WiFi Desk TV HD- safe- minibar
Pool Patio Balcony Double
Premium Double Pool Terrace Balcony -2 Beds WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar
Pool Patio Balcony King
Premium Pool Terrace Balcony -1 King WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar
Deluxe Room Double
2 Dbl Beds-WiFi-safe-minibar-TV HD-marble bath
Deluxe Room King
Deluxe Room-King Bed WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 16.50, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant Revolution
Five Star quality restaurant expected to open March 2012.
Desire Oyster Bar and Grill
Casual dining. Moderately priced serving 3 meals 7 days. Features generous portions of local favorites. The shrimp and grits are not to be missed.
PJs Coffee Cafe
Serves locally roasted PJs Coffee and Specialty Drinks- freshly baked items baked by our pastry chef and light lunch items
Room Service
In room dining available 7 days a week 6 am to 11 pm with extended hours during special events

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (311)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drobbin
Business
NY, NY
Sep 8, 2014

great place to stay

Just an overall good experience. Not much else to say. The beds were super comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark on the go
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 3, 2014

Would stay again

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again. The only thing I didn't like was the bed was not very comfortable to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't have to pay alot to get great food. Try the little places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KC331
Business
new york, ny
Aug 31, 2014

Great Location! Great Pool!

The Royal Sonesta is a beautiful hotel. My boyfriend and I requested a room facing Bourbon street so that we could hang out on the balcony and watch all of the craziness go by...but unfortunately, we didn't get one. You need to pay extra for a room with a balcony (we were told about $50 more a night)..so don't expect all the rooms to have balconies! Our room directly faced a strip club and two homeless men so we never really wanted to keep our curtains open for more than a few minutes... The hotel lobby is gorgeous, with a courtyard leading to an AMAZING (and super pricey) courtyard restaurant. The pool is also beautiful, and was surprisingly not too busy on a hot August day. We loved the fact that the hotel entrance is directly across the street from a Cafe Beignet, which had drinks and amazing live music every day from early on in the morning until the evening. Its really right in the center of it all..its pretty wild on Bourbon but we're a lively couple in our mid-twenties and we had a great time! Hotel staff was pleasant, always trying to assist us. Rooms were really nice too--only issue was that comforter on our king sized bed seemed like it was meant for a twin..but the bed itself was so comfortable it didn't matter too much! Our only real complaint: We booked four nights here and after the third night, we had someone knocking on our door HARD telling us it was time to check out....when I had two more nights at the hotel booked and paid for. Shortly after, we received a call from the front desk telling us we only booked two nights and that it was past check out time..when we confirmed two nights earlier, with the woman at the front desk, WITH my hotel confirmation, that we booked 4 nights. This was REALLY upsetting. This was on our "rest/hangover day" after two really fun days and we were hoping we would be able to sleep in...but the woman on the phone insisted we only booked two nights. I was then put on hold for about fifteen minutes, and afterwards, was transferred to another person at hotel reservations who told me i changed my reservation from four nights to two nights...which never happened. I was then put on hold for so long that I hung up and called the hotel directly, and spoke to someone who apologized, and said that someone changed by reservation for some reason..and that it would all get sorted out. This was a pretty awful morning. Other than that mishap we had a GREAT experience in New Orleans. We hardly spent any time in the hotel (just to sleep and go swimming) because there is SO much to do outside! Nonetheless, we would stay here again because of the location and the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is SO MUCH to eat and drink and do on Bourbon! If you are with a group/can afford it, its probably worth it to stay in a room with a balcony, facing bourbon or the pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BAMA locals
Business
Bay Minette, Alabama
Aug 24, 2014

Bourbon week end

We introduced our Oklahoma friends to a week end in New Orleans. We chose Royal Sonesta due to location and overall good rates. We could not have asked for a better location and friendly staff. We were impressed with the quietness of our room while staying on Bourbon Street and rested very well and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the best oysters in the area at Acme oyster House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miglo
Business
Dallas, tx
Aug 19, 2014

Perfect location

The location is great. Only a few blocks from Canal but deep enough into bourbon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from bars and dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wild Blll
Business
Livonia, Mi
Aug 6, 2014

Fantastic getaway

Excellent location, great food, good times . A must try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshue ATL
Business
Atlanta
Jul 21, 2014

Good weekend.

This hotel is in prime location, but not all 4 stars for me. Room where a little small and you can tell the hotel is not brand new. Staff did ok, but I think it's because they are extremely busy at times. Concierge was the best very good help. Overall would I stay here again, sure why not smacked in the middle of everything and not too shabby. If you stay here I'm sure you will enjoy but it's no ritzcarlton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved N'Awlins
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 16, 2014

perfect place for a quick vacation

Beautiful hotel, very clean, safe, and friendly. The pool was a bit crowded, but OK. Concierge was very helpful. This hotel is within walking distance to anywhere you'd like to go. Bourbon St. is a bit crazy, but Frenchman St. had fabulous jazz at night. Muriels restaurant had an amazing atmosphere. Excellent food at all restaurants. Trolley cars inexpensive and easy to use. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elliot2983
Business
NY
Jul 15, 2014

Great Bachelor Party Location

Had great time. spent much less fthan friends who stayed elsewhere nearby... Great outdoor pool and bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UGA4LIFE
Business
ALbany, Ga
Jul 1, 2014

The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top