$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Alex
Business
short hills, nj
Jan 28, 2014

business trip

great hotel, wonderful stay, would recomend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carlisle, Pa.
Apr 8, 2010

Easter weekend at the Royal Sonesta

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel, this was my 4th trip to New Orleans and I really enjoyed the staff at the hotel...it also has a beautiful pool...off the 3rd floor, sort of on the roof. Everything is purely first class here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of excitement on Bourbon Street and great dining experiences abound.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reisterstown, Maryland
Apr 7, 2010

Perfect-It doesn't get any better

everything at the hotel was wonderful. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food and the atmosphere was wonderful at Nola Restaurant. It was not extremely overpriced with entrees in the $20's. Serice was impeccable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 6, 2010

Central Location

If your looking for a central location between Jackson Square (tourist activities) and Central Business District/Casino this is it. Very nice hotel but it is on Bourbon Street which is loud and obnoxious. However, the pool is a plus and may quiet your nerves (trade-off) on loud location. People with children may want to consider hotel away from Bourbon due to bawdy atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lunch Joint, French Quarter, Simple, Inexpensive-Looking to try crawfish, $5.00 per lb at "Somewhere Else" (St. Louis & Chartres-look up exact address). May want to consider ordering something additional, not a lot of substance to crawfish. Shrimp sandwich excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culpeper VA
Apr 6, 2010

nice get away for Spring break

For all the chaos outside on Bourbon St, it was VERY quiet inside. The staff and other guests were lovely. We did not chose the Easter Jazz Bruch due to high cost. But this hotel had beautful flowers and a courtyard to die for. We had to wait until almost 6 o'clock to get into our room and arrived in town at 10:00 a.m. But they very nicely took the bags up and we had a lovely place to hang out. Plus, enjoy the city without luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

well, you gotta see it to believe it! A lovely EAster parade with middle age ladies in carriages before church. In the afternoon a gay pride parade. The crowds were heavy and fun during the day. At night - be aware!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana BKNY
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 2, 2010

New Orleans' trip

It was our first trip to New Orleans and we LOVED it! Our hotel was smack in the middle of the liveliest street in the French Quarters. The staff was terrific and very friendly. Although we were on the street side, it was surprisingly quiet. The porter even watched our bags while we picked up some last minute souvenirs. I would recommend the Royal Sonesta to everyone. Affordable price, great location and beautiful hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york and ireland
Apr 2, 2010

Beautiful Hotel.Desk Staf could be nicer

Beautiful hotel that recaptures the glory of the past. Beautiful entrance. Great restaurant, pool, café and jazz club. The servers in the jazz bar are so nice and the door men and facilities people couldn't be nicer. Real genuine charm. The desk staff have a bee in their bonnet and recreate the whole supremist attitude. Couldn't or wouldn't give me info. on how to get to the airport. The doormen obliged. TV wouldn't work, had to hange rooms as it was too noisy facing Bourbon Street and safe needed a battery change. The front desk were just uninterested whereas the door men, cleaning staff and bar staff gave great advice and helped in any way they could. My advice: train the desk staff how to smile, be charming and HELP people !!! By the way, it is customary no matter where you are from to greet the customer with a hello!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Laura Creole Plantation. Also do te Dixie Tour of New Orleans. was so good. Check in hotel for leaflets and ask for info at desk if the desk staff can actually help you!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Apr 1, 2010

very good spot!

Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 29, 2010

Great hotel - great location!

Recent 4-day stay at Royal Sonesta for our honeymoon - what a great trip! Hotel staff was outstanding, always helpful with anything necessary. It is an older hotel, and the rooms aren't huge, but it is extremely well maintained and is one of those classic properties that is quintessential New Orleans. Location is ON Bourbon St, but the hotel has done a good job of blocking most of the noise so you can sleep. If you like the noise though, you can always upgrade to a balcony room to be in the middle of the party

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wyzone
Business
Collierville, TN
Mar 25, 2010

New Orleans trip

My husband and I went to New Orleans to get away for a few days. The staff at the Royal Sonesta was really very accomadating and friendly. The room was small but very nice and clean. The hotel is in a perfect location and was within walking distance to most everything. The parking fees were a little extreme and we were charged more because we had a SUV. The parking spaces were the same for all the vehicles so I was puzzled about the extra fee. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - just don't park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find alternative parking besides the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cypriot
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 24, 2010

Great City, Great Hotel, Great Stay!

Was in new orleans for a conference. We wanted to stay at a prime spot, but far away from the noise. This place was a perfect choice for that. I would recommend paying little bit extra to get the concierge floor room. Our room had luxury accomodations, and the stay included breakfast, evening appetizers/drinks, free internet access, and a more personalized concierge service. Except for few minor issues such as internet not working, spotty tv reception at times, soaps not being replaced, concierge taking an off day without notice, everything was great during our 5-day stay. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Great bars on or close to Frenchman St. to listen to live jazz performances. Most places have no cover, just 1 drink requirement. I would highly recommend Spotted Cat and Snug Harbor - listened to very unique and diverse local bands on Saturday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top