$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
287 reviews
Fantastic getaway

Excellent location, great food, good times . A must try. See full review

  • Wild Blll
  • Aug 6, 2014
The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed See full review

  • UGA4LIFE
  • Jul 1, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikee
NY
Oct 31, 2013

Great Value

Centrally located on Bourbon Street, but perfectly clean, quiet and comfortable. The perfect mix of amenties and location and well worth the price of admission.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

venture away from bourbon st for the best food and drink

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Rochelle, NY
Nov 16, 2009

Excellent Choice in N'awlins!

First trip to NO. Would stay at Royal Sonesta again. The staff was warm and friendly and helpful. All touring and dining suggestions were top-notch and on the mark. Especially enjoyed half-day city tour with Oswald of Celebration tours. He was so knowledgeable and informative and justifiably proud of his city! Look forward to returning to NO....so much to do, so little time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The World War II Museum was super. We spent an entire day there.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Nov 11, 2009

OK, but not what I expected

The lobby of the hotel is gorgeous, rooms not so much. We had a pool view room. The room were really tiny and nothing like you would expect after seeing the lobby. All the furniture in our room was dusty. The room is overly priced for what you get. I don't believe I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on Bourbon.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis
Nov 7, 2009

great hotel, great location

we were in New Orleans for Halloween. This is something you should not miss. The hotel was great and the food and street intertainment was unbelivable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Nov 3, 2009

Royal Sonesta

The room was loud, but that was expected given that it is on Bourbon St. It was a great location if you don't mind the noise. Bring ear plugs. The food you get through room service is cheaper and tastier than in the French Quarter. I'm thinking outsiders infiltrated after Katrina because the food used to be delicious and affordable in the French Quarter. Our phone never worked despite three complaints. The handle to the shower was broken, but still functional. One of our blankets smelled like cigarette smoke so we don't think they washed it. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was beautiful. The beds were only full size, which is terrible for a couple. The prices are crazy high. There is no coffee pot in your room so you have to get dressed and go buy theirs downstairs, which is Starbucks. A grande coffee is $3 and a venti latte is $6.87! You can purchase a room service pot for $6 plus tax for 6 cups. However, there is an automatic gratuity on everything equal to 21%. Yikes! Thus, the coffee is $7.80. You also have to purchase internet service, which is available in your room with your laptop or the television and the business office. I think the cheapest method was your laptop, but I cannot remember. At the business office - If you use the printer its $1 for black or $2 for color printouts for the first 8 pages. I can't remember the amount after that. It's 45 cents/min for the computer with a min. charge of $7. In the end, I didn't mind the noise, but I don't think I will stay here, again. I like free coffee in my room so that I do not have to get dressed. I would think a hotel of this quality and price would offer that when places over $100 cheaper do. I also would like to be able to choose my gratuities especially if they are at 21%. Who came up with 21% instead of 20% anyway?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We recommend taking the mule pulled carriages for a tour of the French Quarter. They have small and large carriages so you can choose if you want company or not. Seems like the small one is more fun because you probably can hear better. They pick you up at Decatur St. across the street from Cafe Du Monde (800 Decatur St.). Even greater, you can eat some DELICIOUS beignets before or after you go.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickD
Boulder Colorado
Nov 3, 2009

Great Trip to New Orleans

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff. Enjoyed our trip very much. Definately would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheffy
Atlanta, GA
Nov 3, 2009

Beautiful Jewel in the Quarter

We were down for Halloween and VooDoo Fest. I always return to the Royal Sonesta. The location is perfect, the staff is wonderful and helpful. The only drawback this trip was that we could smell cigarette smoke from another room in ours. Other than that a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jeaude
florida
Oct 24, 2009

NO trip

The royal sonesta is an elegant hotel in the French Quarter. I was disappointed though, that I was not warned on their website that you had to pay extra for parking at $40/day. Or that there was no coffee pot, refrigerator or microwave in the room. The room itself was very nice but I heard every conversation that was going on in the hallway. It was almost as if there was no door into the room, it was that loud. They had an assortment of restaurants/lounges in the hotel, but all were too expensive for my blood. ($6.50 for a beer) The restaurants were right up there with their prices, too. The best thing is that it is in a great location and you don't have to drive to get to most of the places you want to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mongo jerry
san rafael ca
Oct 22, 2009

royal sonesta french quarter

just what i expected - priced just high enough to keep out the rif raf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

galatoire's stella

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
Sep 28, 2009

Fantastic Hotel!!

Check-in, check-out, parking, staff were all excellent. The Royal Sonesta is just a beautiful hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Right outside of the hotel..the hotel is on Bourbon Street!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cheela
torrance, ca
Aug 29, 2009

beautiful hotel

wonderful hotel, great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search