$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
301 reviews
Really quite peaceful steps from the fun

it was amazing to me how quiet and beautiful this hotel was being on Bourbon Street I love that... See full review

  • Sperry1014
  • Nov 25, 2014
Excellent Stay!

From the moment we pulled into valet parking, we were already impressed. The staff was very... See full review

  • Jo Ann B.
  • Nov 20, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UGA4LIFE
ALbany, Ga
Jul 1, 2014

The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culpeper VA
Apr 6, 2010

nice get away for Spring break

For all the chaos outside on Bourbon St, it was VERY quiet inside. The staff and other guests were lovely. We did not chose the Easter Jazz Bruch due to high cost. But this hotel had beautful flowers and a courtyard to die for. We had to wait until almost 6 o'clock to get into our room and arrived in town at 10:00 a.m. But they very nicely took the bags up and we had a lovely place to hang out. Plus, enjoy the city without luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

well, you gotta see it to believe it! A lovely EAster parade with middle age ladies in carriages before church. In the afternoon a gay pride parade. The crowds were heavy and fun during the day. At night - be aware!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana BKNY
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 2, 2010

New Orleans' trip

It was our first trip to New Orleans and we LOVED it! Our hotel was smack in the middle of the liveliest street in the French Quarters. The staff was terrific and very friendly. Although we were on the street side, it was surprisingly quiet. The porter even watched our bags while we picked up some last minute souvenirs. I would recommend the Royal Sonesta to everyone. Affordable price, great location and beautiful hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york and ireland
Apr 2, 2010

Beautiful Hotel.Desk Staf could be nicer

Beautiful hotel that recaptures the glory of the past. Beautiful entrance. Great restaurant, pool, café and jazz club. The servers in the jazz bar are so nice and the door men and facilities people couldn't be nicer. Real genuine charm. The desk staff have a bee in their bonnet and recreate the whole supremist attitude. Couldn't or wouldn't give me info. on how to get to the airport. The doormen obliged. TV wouldn't work, had to hange rooms as it was too noisy facing Bourbon Street and safe needed a battery change. The front desk were just uninterested whereas the door men, cleaning staff and bar staff gave great advice and helped in any way they could. My advice: train the desk staff how to smile, be charming and HELP people !!! By the way, it is customary no matter where you are from to greet the customer with a hello!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Laura Creole Plantation. Also do te Dixie Tour of New Orleans. was so good. Check in hotel for leaflets and ask for info at desk if the desk staff can actually help you!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Apr 1, 2010

very good spot!

Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 29, 2010

Great hotel - great location!

Recent 4-day stay at Royal Sonesta for our honeymoon - what a great trip! Hotel staff was outstanding, always helpful with anything necessary. It is an older hotel, and the rooms aren't huge, but it is extremely well maintained and is one of those classic properties that is quintessential New Orleans. Location is ON Bourbon St, but the hotel has done a good job of blocking most of the noise so you can sleep. If you like the noise though, you can always upgrade to a balcony room to be in the middle of the party

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wyzone
Business
Collierville, TN
Mar 25, 2010

New Orleans trip

My husband and I went to New Orleans to get away for a few days. The staff at the Royal Sonesta was really very accomadating and friendly. The room was small but very nice and clean. The hotel is in a perfect location and was within walking distance to most everything. The parking fees were a little extreme and we were charged more because we had a SUV. The parking spaces were the same for all the vehicles so I was puzzled about the extra fee. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - just don't park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find alternative parking besides the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cypriot
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 24, 2010

Great City, Great Hotel, Great Stay!

Was in new orleans for a conference. We wanted to stay at a prime spot, but far away from the noise. This place was a perfect choice for that. I would recommend paying little bit extra to get the concierge floor room. Our room had luxury accomodations, and the stay included breakfast, evening appetizers/drinks, free internet access, and a more personalized concierge service. Except for few minor issues such as internet not working, spotty tv reception at times, soaps not being replaced, concierge taking an off day without notice, everything was great during our 5-day stay. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Great bars on or close to Frenchman St. to listen to live jazz performances. Most places have no cover, just 1 drink requirement. I would highly recommend Spotted Cat and Snug Harbor - listened to very unique and diverse local bands on Saturday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario
Mar 22, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wine Guy Chris
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 17, 2010

Great location right on Bourbon Street

Originally we had rooms on the 7th floor R Club level but the rooms didn't have balconies so we asked to be switched to the 4th floor which had french doors going out to an interior (quiet!) balcony overlooking the central atrium but still close (yet far away enough!) from the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother eating at Antoine's or Arnaud's. Both were very expensive and the food was horrible. It was a major disappointment because that was one of the reasons we came.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AshShaC
Business
Floresville, TX
Mar 16, 2010

Great Stay!

My husband and I went on a mini vacation without the kids and really enjoyed the location of this hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. It was easy to walk all over the FQ during the day and perfect to play on Bourbon St. at night. The staff was mostly friendly and helpful. The parking people were grumpy and wrecked someone's car. Which I'm sure is why they were grumpy. The hotel is beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arnaud's Jazz Brunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top