$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph G
Sand Springs, OK
Oct 15, 2013

Night on the town

Loved this hotel. Staff was so helpful and friendly. Can't wait to go back to New Orleans .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50-something Dad
Business
NY, NY
Aug 22, 2010

Great hotel, raucous guests

New Orleans is a great city and Royal Sonesta is one of it's great hotels. The blessing and curse is the location, on Bourbon Street in the French Quarter, where drunken 20-somethings reign. Services and staff are outstanding. Sizable outdoor pool but often too crowded with drinkers to swim. Still, we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50-something Dad
Business
NY, NY
Aug 22, 2010

Great hotel, raucous guests

New Orleans is a great city and Royal Sonesta is one of it's great hotels. The blessing and curse is the location, on Bourbon Street in the French Quarter, where drunken 20-somethings reign. Services and staff are outstanding. Sizable outdoor pool but often too crowded with drinkers to swim. Still, we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Normal Guy Reviewer
Business
Baltimore md
Aug 19, 2010

Sonesta

This hotel was a clean, perfect location, and relaxing. After spending a couple hours on boubon street it is a releaf to go back to our little retreat at the Royal Sonesta. We had a room right off of Bourbon street and you could hear a little noise. We thought this was fine and loved being able to peak right out the window to people watch, throw beeds, and generally being able to check the atmosphere before we went out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Punkinv
Business
South Carolina
Aug 16, 2010

Very nice experience

[...] greeted us at the door when we first arrived and he was most helpful along with all the staff the rest of our stay. They made great recommendations for places to dine, directions etc.We felt very safe and secure with this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBJC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 14, 2010

Excellent Experience

This hotel is by far one of the best places you can stay when taking a trip to New Orleans. While Bourbon street can get quite noisy and is rather trashy, the hotel provides an oasis. Our room was not facing Bourbon street (we had a choice when we checked in) and therefore had no problems with the noise outside. We arrived at 11am and without any hassle were able to check in immediately, even though the check in time was 4pm. We immediately visited the concierge and inquired about renting a car to drive to the plantations and within minutes he had arranged for someone to pick us up the following morning to pick up the car, and had also managed to get us a rate that was cheaper than any we had found when asking at the airport that morning. The best thing about this hotel was that it was the perfect place to return to in the afternoon, when the 100 degree heat became too much, and lounge around by the beautiful pool, sit in the indoor cafe, or outside in the court yard. When booking this trip we had also considered several other hotels, some on Canal street and others closer to the CBD, but the Royal Sonesta was by far the best choice in terms of location. Canal street and the CBD both seemed a bit seedy, and although Royal Sonesta is on Bourbon street, it was in the best location in terms of walking distance to tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast we would strongly recommend anyone to go to the OLD COFFEE POT. It is a short walk from the Royal Sonesta and off of Bourbon street. The old-time cafe/restaurant had delicious food (try the Cala Cakes), friendly service, and a nice ambiance. The prices are also very reasonable and breakfast was served until 2pm. For lunch, the SOMETHING ELSE CAFE was excellent.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBJC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 14, 2010

Excellent Experience

This hotel is by far one of the best places you can stay when taking a trip to New Orleans. While Bourbon street can get quite noisy and is rather trashy, the hotel provides an oasis. Our room was not facing Bourbon street (we had a choice when we checked in) and therefore had no problems with the noise outside. We arrived at 11am and without any hassle were able to check in immediately, even though the check in time was 4pm. We immediately visited the concierge and inquired about renting a car to drive to the plantations and within minutes he had arranged for someone to pick us up the following morning to pick up the car, and had also managed to get us a rate that was cheaper than any we had found when asking at the airport that morning. The best thing about this hotel was that it was the perfect place to return to in the afternoon, when the 100 degree heat became too much, and lounge around by the beautiful pool, sit in the indoor cafe, or outside in the court yard. When booking this trip we had also considered several other hotels, some on Canal street and others closer to the CBD, but the Royal Sonesta was by far the best choice in terms of location. Canal street and the CBD both seemed a bit seedy, and although Royal Sonesta is on Bourbon street, it was in the best location in terms of walking distance to tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast we would strongly recommend anyone to go to the OLD COFFEE POT. It is a short walk from the Royal Sonesta and off of Bourbon street. The old-time cafe/restaurant had delicious food (try the Cala Cakes), friendly service, and a nice ambiance. The prices are also very reasonable and breakfast was served until 2pm. For lunch, the SOMETHING ELSE CAFE was excellent.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jake's dad
Business
Chandler, AZ
Aug 12, 2010

New Orleans historic hotel jazzy

Great hotel in center of French Quarter. Awesome Jazz club in the hotel, 7 nights/week. Caution: If you like rock music till 3am, request Bourbon St facing room. However, if you like quiet, be sure to request quiet section of hotel. We had to change rooms, but got an awesome quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse is in the hotel and features awesome jazz 7 nights/week

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Aug 11, 2010

Where the action is!

Spent 4 days looking at the galleries and markets in the French Quarter and 4 nights listening to good live music. To see outside the french quarter the trams are great and cheap. The partying can get a bit intense but makes for great people watching. Had lots of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cab was set 33 dollars (for two persons) from the airport - most of the French Quarter is within walking distance plus there are the trams thus whilst in the Quarter it is not worth hireing a car. Do the Quarter first then get a car if you want to roam further.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C/V Jackson
Business
Morrilton, AR
Aug 9, 2010

Wonderful retreat from the real world

Friendly staff, comfy hotel, excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Desire restaurant right in the hotel, Oceana and Deanie's restaurant very nearby were all excellent and resonable priced.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clinton, SC
Aug 8, 2010

Excellent

Fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top