$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
288 reviews
Bourbon week end

We introduced our Oklahoma friends to a week end in New Orleans. We chose Royal Sonesta due to... See full review

  • BAMA locals
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fantastic getaway

Excellent location, great food, good times . A must try. See full review

  • Wild Blll
  • Aug 6, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (288)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanya from Texas
Fayetteville, AR
Aug 12, 2013

Wonderful quick weekend

Staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly. Valet service was fast, friendly. They even packed up our car when we were leaving. Room was excellent! Beds were very comfortable! Bathroom was clean and good sized for 3 ladies to share. Location was perfect - short distance to all French Quarter attractions. I would certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the French Market!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Apr 1, 2010

very good spot!

Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Mar 29, 2010

Great hotel - great location!

Recent 4-day stay at Royal Sonesta for our honeymoon - what a great trip! Hotel staff was outstanding, always helpful with anything necessary. It is an older hotel, and the rooms aren't huge, but it is extremely well maintained and is one of those classic properties that is quintessential New Orleans. Location is ON Bourbon St, but the hotel has done a good job of blocking most of the noise so you can sleep. If you like the noise though, you can always upgrade to a balcony room to be in the middle of the party

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wyzone
Collierville, TN
Mar 25, 2010

New Orleans trip

My husband and I went to New Orleans to get away for a few days. The staff at the Royal Sonesta was really very accomadating and friendly. The room was small but very nice and clean. The hotel is in a perfect location and was within walking distance to most everything. The parking fees were a little extreme and we were charged more because we had a SUV. The parking spaces were the same for all the vehicles so I was puzzled about the extra fee. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - just don't park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find alternative parking besides the hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cypriot
Washington, DC
Mar 24, 2010

Great City, Great Hotel, Great Stay!

Was in new orleans for a conference. We wanted to stay at a prime spot, but far away from the noise. This place was a perfect choice for that. I would recommend paying little bit extra to get the concierge floor room. Our room had luxury accomodations, and the stay included breakfast, evening appetizers/drinks, free internet access, and a more personalized concierge service. Except for few minor issues such as internet not working, spotty tv reception at times, soaps not being replaced, concierge taking an off day without notice, everything was great during our 5-day stay. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Great bars on or close to Frenchman St. to listen to live jazz performances. Most places have no cover, just 1 drink requirement. I would highly recommend Spotted Cat and Snug Harbor - listened to very unique and diverse local bands on Saturday.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario
Mar 22, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wine Guy Chris
San Diego, CA
Mar 17, 2010

Great location right on Bourbon Street

Originally we had rooms on the 7th floor R Club level but the rooms didn't have balconies so we asked to be switched to the 4th floor which had french doors going out to an interior (quiet!) balcony overlooking the central atrium but still close (yet far away enough!) from the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother eating at Antoine's or Arnaud's. Both were very expensive and the food was horrible. It was a major disappointment because that was one of the reasons we came.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AshShaC
Floresville, TX
Mar 16, 2010

Great Stay!

My husband and I went on a mini vacation without the kids and really enjoyed the location of this hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. It was easy to walk all over the FQ during the day and perfect to play on Bourbon St. at night. The staff was mostly friendly and helpful. The parking people were grumpy and wrecked someone's car. Which I'm sure is why they were grumpy. The hotel is beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arnaud's Jazz Brunch

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little Momma
Morgan City, La
Mar 15, 2010

Nice stay

We were there just for a night to go to padaes for St. Patty's Day and liked the location. We were worried about the noise but we had a courtside room and never once had a noise issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda,
Randolph, MA
Mar 5, 2010

The center of NOLA"s universe

There's a great club in the hotel featuring 1st class jazz bands. There's a coffee shop available with a beautiful patio next door perfect for your start to the day. The hotel is right in the center of all of the action on Bourbon Street but once inside you're back in quiet of your room. The rooms were well appointed and service top notch. All requests were handled quickly and pleasantly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A marketplace located beginning at The Cafe Du Mode is a great place to shop a wide variety of vendors willing to barter for the right price. Also, no overhead means the prices start out better. It's only a 10-15 minute walk away.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Re-linda
Dominican Republic
Mar 2, 2010

Just a great experience!

Our visit was very short. Just a few hours but really loved the place. Very clean, bed and pillows very comfortable, great location, beautiful lobby. Just great. Only thing missing was more time to enjoy the rest of the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search