$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mack77
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 22, 2013

Great Experience

Perfect Bourbon St experience, without the noise! (get a room off of Bourbon St. Best bed I've ever slept in! Nice and helpful staff. A+ experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carlsbad, NM
Jun 11, 2010

Wonderful all around experience.

The room was immaculate, and the front desk staff were great. Our room fronted Bourbon Street, and even though we read previous reviews stating how loud it was, we did not agree. There was some noise, but the view of Bourbon and the ability to people watch right out of our room was worth it all. We highly recommend a stay at this hotel. We did overhear someone asking about staying during Mardi Gras, and the hotel suggested making reservations at least 6 months prior... FYI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware "Hand Grenades".... great drinks, but 190 proof alcohol. LOL

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jun 10, 2010

Loved it!

Our hotel stay was amazing. I spent a week here with my sister, and we loved everything about the Royal Sonesta. Its location can't be beat - right on Bourbon (but we called the hotel our quiet oasis from the craziness ;) in the heart of the French Quarter, and walking distance to the Warehouse District and streetcars on Canal St. The concierge gave us wonderful suggestions for tours and jazz performances. The service was amazing, the pool was perfect...can't find enough good things to say!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 8, 2010

French Quarter Hotel

This is a hotel that I would go back to stay at. There is absolutly nothing bad I can say about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to be able to enjoy the nightlife on Bourbon Street, this is a great Hotel for it. Right on the strip, in walking distance of everything that the French Quarter has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houstontx
Jun 6, 2010

Great hotel for bourbon street fun

Went on a couples weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J-Tizzel
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 3, 2010

Best Two Days Ever

Bed was very comfortable. The only bad thing was that I lost a $425 pair of Oakleys somewhere in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Desire has the best blackened red snapper covered in crab meat that I have ever eaten. I'm sure the rest of the menu is just as tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2010

Excellent Time

Experience was excellent overall but our room was right near the elevator and people seem to think they can be noisy when entering and exiting floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bartai
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 1, 2010

Great hotel

The location of the hotel is the best. Being on Bourbon you would think it would be a bit noisy but not at all. Loved the fact that we came in about 4 hours prior to check-in and to our suprise were immediately given a room. That rocks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to just try a place...you can't go wrong with the food in New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KRISSY H
Business
LOS ANGELES, CA
May 31, 2010

BEAUTY WITH A FEW GLITCHES

THIS WAS MY 2ND TIME HERE AND MY PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE WAS FLAWLESS. THIS TIME THERE WERE A FEW BUMPS IN THE ROAD. THE INITIAL PERSON AT THE CHECK IN DESK WAS A BIT IRRITABLE AND NOT FRIENDLY - NOT A GOOD THING WHEN YOU FIRST CHECK IN!!! THEN THE ROOM WE GOT ON BOURBON STREET (WHICH MY FAULT I REQUESTED) SEEMED KIND OF RUN DOWN AND SMELLED OF SMOKE. I REQUESTED THAT WE MOVE TO ANOTHER SECTION OF THE HOTEL ON A HIGHER FLOOR AND THAT ROOM WAS BEAUTIFUL - SO A WARNING ABOUT THE BOURBON STREET SIDE - THE ROOM SEEMED OLDER OR SOMETHING BUT NOT GOOD! THEN I FOUND OUT AFTER CHECKING MY BANK BALANCE THAT THEY HAD PUT A HOLD ON MY ATM CARD FOR $200 WHICH THEY DID NOT TELL ME THEY WERE GOING TO DO!!! AFTER I COMPLAINED ABOUT THAT IT WAS SMOOTH SAILING - STAFF WAS WONDERFUL - ESPECIALLY THE BELLMEN AND THE ROOM WAS QUIET, CLEAN AND HAD THE AMBIANCE OF NEW ORLEANS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
May 25, 2010

The royal sonesta in the french quarter

This Hotel is in a very convient location situated on an entire city block boardering Burbon st. The staff was very helpful from the time we stepped out of our car in the parking garage. Parking was $32.00 a day. The Sunday brunch was extremely good. Dishes were light on salt and seasoning but very well seasoned with ingrediants ,ie sasauge and boiled shrimp. The near by GW Fins restaurant was incredible. Non traditional seasonings, such as a pumpkin seed flour crusted grouper,make this establishment stand out as a virtuoso commander of flavor. I have and would return to the Royal Sonesta.Our room did not over look Burbon St..The typical street noise could be heard from our room but not so much of the non stop Burbon St. hooping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy bottled water at the walgreens around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cpack
Business
cody, wyoming
May 2, 2010

again and again

my wife and i had put our honeymoon off for a couple of years.. my cousin was getting married in new orleans so we killed two birds. we booked the club floor that comes with a well appointed room. breakfast in the am and hordourves/ drinks in the evening. the staff was at our beck and call and seemed to love it that way! we will be back i guarantee! oh, almost forgot. the location is smack dab in the middle of the action on bourbon st.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top