$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Apr 21, 2011

beautiful hotel

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very helpful and nice. The french quarter is not a place for children. We did not know this before booking this trip. We had to travel outside this area to feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The insecterium was a great place to visit if you are with children

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 25, 2011

Great Stay

Stay was great. Parking was expensive ($32 a day) but I guess that is standard. The rooms were a bit damp and not sure if that is just from all the humidity in the air but our clothes all felt a little damp by the end of the week. No coffee in the room was a bit odd. I have never stayed in a place that made you go down and buy your coffee every morning. Did appreciate the free internet access as we had expected to have to pay $11 a day for it as written in past reviews which my husband was pretty upset about. He was very happy to not have to pay for internet access. The rooms are great. Having the pools was nice as well although it was a touch on the warm side. We would probably stay here again although there are certainly cheaper hotels in the area the historical feel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near everything you would ever need

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D & J Travelers
Business
Diamond Bar, CA
Apr 23, 2011

great accommodating friendly hotel

went on several tours, shopped and walked the French Quarter, dined in several places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWIN
Business
Washington, D.C.
Mar 30, 2011

Royal Sonesta NOLA

This is a great location for a weekend in NOLA. The hotel is on Bourbon and in walking distance to the south end, the River Walk (Aquarium/IMAX)and the French Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Royal Sonesta has a great central NOLA location.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GA
May 2, 2011

all good

Okay, you have to know you are staying on Bourbon Street,which may be a plus or a minus. Five stories above the street, the music and noise were muffled and the hotel was actually quieter than I expected, even during a peak season like Jazz Fest. Service was great.....no complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Germaine Basil sings in the hotel bar every Sunday night. She is the real New Orleans deal....local, gifted, and worth seeing. The bar was sparsely populated as she finished....people don't know what they're missing.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yellow easter eggs
Business
New Jersey
Apr 25, 2011

good location, beautiful lobby!

This hoel is at the heart of french quarter, so, if you are traveling with friends, it would be a great location. but for family vacation, Bourbon street is full of strip show clubs, and bars. especially at night, no business for ladies. Lobby is very fancy, great interior designs, full of antiques, but pool is small, and the water quality is poor. Don't expect too much for the pool. Staffs were all nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I strongly recommend NOT to purchase Power Pass that comes up when you are about to finish the purchase in this website. the Power Pass was certainly not worth paying anything. I was mislead about its short description that it included so many attractions, but later found out transportation to plantations, or swamp tours were not included. many tourists don't rent cars, and if you don't have a car, you have to book the tours from another vendors that provide transportations as well.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCtravels
Business
New York, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Good location, great service.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was amazing and the concierge was very helpful in organizing our trip and helping us book tours and come up with restaurants to go to. Would def make recommend making reservations well before arriving into New Orleans especially if traveling on a big holiday weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great brunch spot, right next to Muriel's Cafe called Stanley's. We had a great time and highly recommend it.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno Nevada
Mar 27, 2011

Royal Sonest New Orleans

I stayed the night at Royal Sonesta during a quick overnight stay in New Orleans after working for 25 days straight. I was looking for a place with a pool and a comfortable/quiet room and I wasn't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 4, 2011

Nice place

My partner and I decided to go to New Orleans on very short notice to get away. It was a phenomenal hotel to stay in while we were in the French Quarter. As a same sex couple, we were treated with great respect and kindness. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The gay portion of the French Quarter is on one side of the French Quarter. All the clubs are well within walking distance.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fire Ante
Business
NY
Oct 4, 2010

In The Heart of The City

Really great location on Bourbon Street, friendly staff, down-to-earth, but respectful at the same time. Air conditioning worked, but would have liked to have it cooler. I called to try to see if the room could be cooled down a bit more, but was told although there was a local thermostat, it all was actually controled by a central unit which would ultimately regulate the temp. Comfortable bed, great restaurant and lounge right in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SEGWAY NEW ORLEANS!!!!! Do it!!! Our tour guide, [...] was great!! What a blast. Easy, fun, different...wow.

Back to menu Return to top