$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rani Rockstar
Family
Buffalo, New York
Jun 19, 2014

Great Value

We stayed here for one night and paid $164 for a second floor balcony room on Bourbon street. The room was spacious, comfy, and clean. The hotel itself is very nice, very classy. To park is $40/night, but that's probably average for any parking garage in the area. I would stay there again : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe is a 5 minute walk, on the same street.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2010

Excellent Time

Experience was excellent overall but our room was right near the elevator and people seem to think they can be noisy when entering and exiting floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bartai
Friends
Louisville, KY
Jun 1, 2010

Great hotel

The location of the hotel is the best. Being on Bourbon you would think it would be a bit noisy but not at all. Loved the fact that we came in about 4 hours prior to check-in and to our suprise were immediately given a room. That rocks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to just try a place...you can't go wrong with the food in New Orleans.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KRISSY H
Couples
LOS ANGELES, CA
May 31, 2010

BEAUTY WITH A FEW GLITCHES

THIS WAS MY 2ND TIME HERE AND MY PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE WAS FLAWLESS. THIS TIME THERE WERE A FEW BUMPS IN THE ROAD. THE INITIAL PERSON AT THE CHECK IN DESK WAS A BIT IRRITABLE AND NOT FRIENDLY - NOT A GOOD THING WHEN YOU FIRST CHECK IN!!! THEN THE ROOM WE GOT ON BOURBON STREET (WHICH MY FAULT I REQUESTED) SEEMED KIND OF RUN DOWN AND SMELLED OF SMOKE. I REQUESTED THAT WE MOVE TO ANOTHER SECTION OF THE HOTEL ON A HIGHER FLOOR AND THAT ROOM WAS BEAUTIFUL - SO A WARNING ABOUT THE BOURBON STREET SIDE - THE ROOM SEEMED OLDER OR SOMETHING BUT NOT GOOD! THEN I FOUND OUT AFTER CHECKING MY BANK BALANCE THAT THEY HAD PUT A HOLD ON MY ATM CARD FOR $200 WHICH THEY DID NOT TELL ME THEY WERE GOING TO DO!!! AFTER I COMPLAINED ABOUT THAT IT WAS SMOOTH SAILING - STAFF WAS WONDERFUL - ESPECIALLY THE BELLMEN AND THE ROOM WAS QUIET, CLEAN AND HAD THE AMBIANCE OF NEW ORLEANS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cpack
Couples
cody, wyoming
May 2, 2010

again and again

my wife and i had put our honeymoon off for a couple of years.. my cousin was getting married in new orleans so we killed two birds. we booked the club floor that comes with a well appointed room. breakfast in the am and hordourves/ drinks in the evening. the staff was at our beck and call and seemed to love it that way! we will be back i guarantee! oh, almost forgot. the location is smack dab in the middle of the action on bourbon st.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
MICHIGAN
May 2, 2010

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL

HOTEL BEAUTIFUL BUT WHEN WE GOT THERE WERE TOLD ROOM WOULD BE ANOTHER HOUR AND THEN WHEN WE WENT BACK TOLD THAT THE PEOPLE DID NOT CHECK OUT AND WE HAD TO GET ANOTHER ROOM. SAID ANOTHER HOUR. NOT A GREAT BEGINNING FOR US. WE WERE ON CONCIERGE FLOOR AND DIDN'T FEEL WE WERE GIVEN MUCH EXTRA FOR THE PRICE WE PAID.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING RIGHT THERE IN THE QUARTER OR SHORT WALK TO CASINO, WATER ETC.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego
May 2, 2010

great hotel in French Quarter

Great hotel in the French Quarter. Rooms are nice with fabulous bedding. Can be noisy if you are located overlooking Bourbon Street. Bar, Desire, and jazz club are the best. Very friendly staff and convenient location to everything going on in and around the Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to many of the famous great restaurants. inexpensive cab ride to the fairgrounds if you are attending Jazz Fest.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
richmond bc
Apr 25, 2010

really enjoyed my stay

first time in Nola and the location of the hotel helped very much to enjoy the visit, I came on business but also had the opportunity to wnjoy some nightlife. room was great and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New Jersey
Apr 22, 2010

So-so

The hotel is on bourbon street. Thats great for location but the area around it smells awful. The room smelled like there had been a dog staying in it. I didn't request a room change but was a little disappointed. When it was time for me to leave, the printer was down still so I couldn't sign my receipt. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
MA
Apr 18, 2010

Royal Sonesta

Excellent room. Excellent location. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

G W Finns was excellent recommendation for dinner!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New fan of New Orleans
Single
Santa Fe NM
Apr 10, 2010

Very Pleased! Even better than expected.

New Orleans is a very unique city. I was completely amazed by it. I loved the jazz bands and the people were wonderful. The Hotel was totally like going back in time when people really took pride in their job and their surroundings I hope if I have the chance to return I will stay at Royal Sonesta New Orleans and recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be very careful there are some very clever pick pockets. That can really ruin a wonderful trip to loose all your money.

Back to menu Return to top