$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WMC party goer
New Jersey, USA
Mar 11, 2013

5 star Bourbon St experience

Step out of the taxi and instantly greeted by Malcom the porter. His politeness and welcoming good nature I would learn would be typical of this hotel and the French Quarter in general. At the concierge desk, my girlfriend and I spent about 10 minutes with the staff getting there best advice about bars, restaurants and the sights. They did not mislead or disappoint. The room was outstanding, a balcony over looking the pool. Quiet enough to rest, but the hotel was right on Bourbon so the action is right at your finger tips. All of the best dining is within the a block of this amazing hotel. On Bourbon, the hotel's bar, Le Booze is a nice spot to start off the night with a couple of brews before drinking the sugar packed drinks littering Bourbon. After a night out or for lunch, Desire Oyster Bar is a must. Try the Oysters Desire! Although room service ends at midnight, they happily obliged my request to come up with a bottle of champagne and a piece of delicious chocolate cake for my girlfriend's birthday. I asked them to come up at 12, and they were not a second late. Room 4136 was where I stayed and is a luxurious balcony room with a king sized bed that made you think you were sleeping on a cloud. It was the perfect vessel to rest your worn and tired feet after venturing up and down the French quarters. Highly recommend this hotel, and when I return to New Orleans this will be the only hotel I would consider. I am so impressed with Royal Sonesta I will go as far and say I will choose their name of hotel in the next city I stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oysters, Felix's oysters, Desire, R'evolution, Dickie Brennan's, Brennan's, Bourbon house, Antoine's are all within a block of this hotel! Truly amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun lovers
Business
Finger Lakes , NY
Oct 13, 2010

"Grand" location -French Quarter!

Wonderful way to experience the French Quarter. Walkable. Easy access to various venues - culture, dining, music. Shopping options limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street was at doorstep. Short walk to Canal Street where trolleys available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fire Ante
Business
NY
Oct 4, 2010

In The Heart of The City

Really great location on Bourbon Street, friendly staff, down-to-earth, but respectful at the same time. Air conditioning worked, but would have liked to have it cooler. I called to try to see if the room could be cooled down a bit more, but was told although there was a local thermostat, it all was actually controled by a central unit which would ultimately regulate the temp. Comfortable bed, great restaurant and lounge right in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SEGWAY NEW ORLEANS!!!!! Do it!!! Our tour guide, [...] was great!! What a blast. Easy, fun, different...wow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Woodlands, TX
Sep 26, 2010

Katrina ruined a great hotel

Hotal premises and services have gone downhill gradually since Katrina

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
your only 21 once
Business
lafayette, la
Sep 25, 2010

Great experience

We went to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. The hotel was amazing. Great location. The staff offered suggestion of a nice place to eat. Staff was very friendly. This was a wonderful experience and a memorable trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Any shopping or dining in the French Quarter will be more expensive. If you want to save money ask around for the locals favorite places to eat that are reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HURRICANE GINA
Business
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Sep 6, 2010

ROYAL SONESTA SHINES!

WE STAYED AT THE ROYAL SONESTA ON LABOR DAY WEEKEND FOR MY BOYFRIEND'S 50TH. WE STAYED ON THE CLUB R FLOOR. THE ROOM WAS VERY PLUSH, THE BED AND LINENS WERE AMAZING. TURNDOWN SERVICE AND ALL AMENITIES. THE BREAKFAST AND COCKTAIL HOUR ON THE CONCIERGE FLOOR WERE ALSO WONDERFUL. UNLIMITED BEVERAGES AND APPETIZERS WHICH CHANGED DAILY. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

WE HAD THE CONCIRGE FLOOR ROOM, OUR FRIENDS HAD THE BOURBON STREET BALCONY ROOM. WE PLAYED IN THE ONE ROOM AND SLEPT IN THE OTHER!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Slidell, LA
Sep 6, 2010

Nice Hotel but parking was a surprise

The Royal Sonesta is a very nice hotel. Great location for staying in the French Quarter. Didn't know it was located directly across the street from a strip club though. I was very surprised upon check-out that I was charged $32.00 a day for hotel parking. For the price you pay for a room, parking should be included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HURRICANE GINA
Business
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Sep 6, 2010

ROYAL SONESTA SHINES!

WE STAYED AT THE ROYAL SONESTA ON LABOR DAY WEEKEND FOR MY BOYFRIEND'S 50TH. WE STAYED ON THE CLUB R FLOOR. THE ROOM WAS VERY PLUSH, THE BED AND LINENS WERE AMAZING. TURNDOWN SERVICE AND ALL AMENITIES. THE BREAKFAST AND COCKTAIL HOUR ON THE CONCIERGE FLOOR WERE ALSO WONDERFUL. UNLIMITED BEVERAGES AND APPETIZERS WHICH CHANGED DAILY. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

WE HAD THE CONCIRGE FLOOR ROOM, OUR FRIENDS HAD THE BOURBON STREET BALCONY ROOM. WE PLAYED IN THE ONE ROOM AND SLEPT IN THE OTHER!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamison27
Business
Ft. Worth, TX
Aug 23, 2010

Great room, bad location

Hotel was superb, parking was expensive $38 for overnight. French quarter had too much sinful businesses for my taste, as this was my first visit to New Orleans. Based on my experience, the hotel was great, the scenery and location I wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamison27
Business
Ft. Worth, TX
Aug 23, 2010

Great room, bad location

Hotel was superb, parking was expensive $38 for overnight. French quarter had too much sinful businesses for my taste, as this was my first visit to New Orleans. Based on my experience, the hotel was great, the scenery and location I wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50-something Dad
Business
NY, NY
Aug 22, 2010

Great hotel, raucous guests

New Orleans is a great city and Royal Sonesta is one of it's great hotels. The blessing and curse is the location, on Bourbon Street in the French Quarter, where drunken 20-somethings reign. Services and staff are outstanding. Sizable outdoor pool but often too crowded with drinkers to swim. Still, we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top