$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Alex
Business
short hills, nj
Jan 28, 2014

business trip

great hotel, wonderful stay, would recomend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susie Traveller
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2011

Great location

The location is fabulous if you like the craziness that is Bourbon St. Everything in the French Quarter is walkable, and just a couple of blocks from the trolleys on St. Charles and Canal. We were prepared to deal with loud noise from Bourbon St. during New Year's Eve weekend, but were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was. Only complaints: gym is pretty small and we had the unpleasant experience of getting stuck in the elevator, but not for too terribly long. Overall, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Avondale PA
Jan 2, 2011

Classy-comfy in the French Quarter

Very comfortable, friendly staff Not noisy despite on Bourbon street (triple glazing windows?!) Very nice inside area with swimming pool and lounge chairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Advanceman
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jan 1, 2011

Very Nice Hotel...But Staff Idifferent

The hotel was very nice (with the exception of the bathroom in our room which was very tired and small) and in a great location in the Quarter. My biggest criticism is that the staff was not very customer service-oriented or friendly (with the exception of Russell, the Concierge). Overall, I would rate the hotel/experience a 3.5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I was very impressed with Iris Restaurant on Decatur.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chpmnksrgo
Business
Bordentown, NJ
Dec 31, 2010

Royal Sonesta Great

The hotel was immaculate and decorated nicely for the holiday. Located at the Corner of Conti and Borubon Streets, it was perfectly located and quiet. The staff was very accommmodating--we had an "R" club room with a concierge and she/they were great. I would have liked a little more variety in the breakfast/evening hors d'ouevres, but the quality was good and the room was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Step off Bourbon for the more interesting bars. Don't be put off by the plethora of adult joints--pretty low-key, actually.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mickey's Birthday
Business
Boise, Id
Dec 14, 2010

awsome

Excellent stay. 10 out of 10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josh&dana
Business
Pittsburgh pa
Dec 4, 2010

Quick get away to NOLA

Very nice hotel and staff. Centrally located. Definitely recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good food and drink just of bourbon street. Take a short walk and explore the cafes and local bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland Or.
Nov 30, 2010

great place, bad service, no sleep

The Royal Sonesta is a very beautiful hotel on Bourbon street and by all appearances it should be a great place to stay. During check-in I knew we did not want to have a room on Bourbon street and the clerk also suggested that we stay in a room off the streets. This is were it all went bad; the room we were given was adjoining the work out room. Yes there were hours of operation but it opened at 6:00am which meant there was no sleeping in and we had to listen to the sounds of the work out room all day. We requested to be moved and they put us 4 rooms off of Bourbon st and told use we might get some street noise? They failed to tell us the bar right out side our window blasts heavy bass music until 4:00am in the morning. I went to the front desk and was told "there is no guarantee any of there rooms would be quite and I was handed 2 sets of ear plugs. The concierge was rude, insulting, and did not have time for us. Comments includes "I am going to make this simple so even you can find the restaurant" and "if you want complicated you will have to get in you car and drive" The door man was the only person that took the time to explain were several good restaurants were and was very personable. After 4 nights of pounding music until 4:00am not being able to order one movie to drowned out the droning noise since all we would get is snow on the TV. The wife and I were ready to leave and never return. Checking out was another wonderful experience with a desk clerk willing to ask how our stay was but not really wanting to hear what I had to say with comments like "Well Welcome to the French quarter" I have stayed in the French quarter before and I have never been treated so poorly and with so little disregarded to the customer. We will return to the french Quarter but never to the Royal Sonesta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Care Forgot, We Remember
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 18, 2010

Beautiful Suite courtesy of Alexandra!

I spent the extra money for a king size bed, but when we arrived they had us booked in a room with 2 doubles. The clerk told me that my reservation was between me and the website, that the hotel wasn't obligated to fulfill that request, but she'd see what she could come up with. We ended up in a gorgeous suite with king size bed, jacuzzi tub, large tv, sofa, on the quietest side of the hotel! [...] went above and beyond! You'll be amazed what a little courtesy and persistence can achieve!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off Bourbon St. and explore the smaller bars and restaurants. Our favorite pub is Fahy's at 540 Burgundy. Neighborhood pub, drinks are priced right, staff is super cool!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Care Forgot, We Remember
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 18, 2010

Beautiful Suite courtesy of Alexandra!

I spent the extra money for a king size bed, but when we arrived they had us booked in a room with 2 doubles. The clerk told me that my reservation was between me and the website, that the hotel wasn't obligated to fulfill that request, but she'd see what she could come up with. We ended up in a gorgeous suite with king size bed, jacuzzi tub, large tv, sofa, on the quietest side of the hotel! [...] went above and beyond! You'll be amazed what a little courtesy and persistence can achieve!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off Bourbon St. and explore the smaller bars and restaurants. Our favorite pub is Fahy's at 540 Burgundy. Neighborhood pub, drinks are priced right, staff is super cool!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
JERSEY SHORE, NJ
Oct 22, 2010

THEY DO EVERYTHING RIGHT

THE ROYAL SONESTA WAS PURE LUXURY. WE UP GRADED TO ABALCONY ROOM OVER LOOKING THE POOL. THE ROOM, WITH ITS FRENCH DOORS LEADING TO THE POOL WAS BEAUTIFUL AND PEACEFUL. WITH BURBON STREET JUST OUT THE LOBBYDOORS YOU COULD NOT HEAR THE ALL NIGHT PARTY SCENEBUT WHEN YOU WANTED TO JOIN IN YOU JUST WALKED OUTTHE FRONT DOOR. SERVICE COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER.WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RED FISH GRILL--GO EARLY--GETS VERY BUSY--BURBON ST GRAPEVINE WINE & BISTRO--ORLEANS AVE--EXCELLENT FOOD THE BAR IN THE MONTELEONE HOTEL--ROYAL ST--PURE CLASS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top