$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mack77
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 22, 2013

Great Experience

Perfect Bourbon St experience, without the noise! (get a room off of Bourbon St. Best bed I've ever slept in! Nice and helpful staff. A+ experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Planet Diamond
Jul 9, 2010

nola 7/10

I have stayed here at Royal Sonesta several times, and it is always a superbly helpful staff. The hotel needs some updating inside, business center, concierge desk, shopping area (or lack thereof), but staff more than made up for it- What a friendly Hotel staff! Dining, parking, directions, never a delay, only the desire to make my stay with my family a pleasant experience. Hotel- 3 stars Service- 6 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The French market is a real artist experience, without the imported "artworks" . Buy on or around -Frenchman Street-

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jul 2, 2010

A Treasure

We spent three nights here, but I wish we had had time to stay longer. The hotel was much more than we imagined. What a grand palace! [...] We were on Bourbon Street, within walking distance from some of the best restaurants in the French Quarter. Just around the corner on Royal Street, we saw artists at work in their studios and another block over we walked along Decataur Street where we enjoyed shopping for items representative of New Orleans. Next time we'll stay at this hotel longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dick Brennan's Steakhouse was a full-service restaurant where we dinned for our anniversary. The steak was better than Ruth Chris'and not quite as pricey. Still, you want to prepare to spend the most here. The meal is worth it. For other meals, the hotel meets your needs well. For a change, the Oceano is a step or two away and offers delicious dinners at moderate prices.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party of 6
Couples
Northern NJ
Jun 23, 2010

Perfect Location

The hotel is in the perfect location right on Bourbon St. The lobby is Beautiful (marble, flowers, chandeliers, concierge) & has a great PJ's Coffee shop you enter from lobby or from out on Bourbon St. It would be nice if there was a little 24hr. gift shop or something for aspirin, toothbrush, film, sunscreen, newspaper, a bottle of water or snacks, etc. because if you forget any of those little things they aren't easy to find on Bourbon St, you must go to CVS or Walgreens a few blocks away. Also I wish the rooms had a small refrigerator in them just to store some water or juice or something since Bourbon St. mostly all alcohol. The pool area is nice, gets very crowded on weekends so go early if you want a chair. The poolside bar is a great amenity & there is a grill open on weekends. One of the couples had a pool view room with a balcony walkway that went right out to pool, I suggest you request one of those rooms for a view but hear they can be noisy on weekends so depends on which you prefer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New Orleans
Jun 21, 2010

NOLA

Totally satisfied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Petercoorslt
Family
Richmond va
Jun 13, 2010

Great times in Nola

Great times on bourbon st. No issues as a result of the oil spill. Nola is beautiful and suited for adults. We will definitly return. Eat a cheesesteak at big chubbys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep an eye on your belongings.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Des Moines, IA
Jun 12, 2010

Hotel good .... [...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Carlsbad, NM
Jun 11, 2010

Wonderful all around experience.

The room was immaculate, and the front desk staff were great. Our room fronted Bourbon Street, and even though we read previous reviews stating how loud it was, we did not agree. There was some noise, but the view of Bourbon and the ability to people watch right out of our room was worth it all. We highly recommend a stay at this hotel. We did overhear someone asking about staying during Mardi Gras, and the hotel suggested making reservations at least 6 months prior... FYI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware "Hand Grenades".... great drinks, but 190 proof alcohol. LOL

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago
Jun 8, 2010

French Quarter Hotel

This is a hotel that I would go back to stay at. There is absolutly nothing bad I can say about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to be able to enjoy the nightlife on Bourbon Street, this is a great Hotel for it. Right on the strip, in walking distance of everything that the French Quarter has to offer.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houstontx
Jun 6, 2010

Great hotel for bourbon street fun

Went on a couples weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J-Tizzel
Friends
Austin, TX
Jun 3, 2010

Best Two Days Ever

Bed was very comfortable. The only bad thing was that I lost a $425 pair of Oakleys somewhere in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Desire has the best blackened red snapper covered in crab meat that I have ever eaten. I'm sure the rest of the menu is just as tasty.

Back to menu Return to top