$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
439 reviews
The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed See full review

  • UGA4LIFE
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great Value

We stayed here for one night and paid $164 for a second floor balcony room on Bourbon street. The... See full review

  • Rani Rockstar
  • Jun 19, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (439)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
439 out of 439
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeanine
Fort Worth, Texas
May 30, 2013

Great Adult Entertainment Hotel

Very classy hotel on Bourbon St. Noise level was very good considering our window faced right to Bourbon. Pool area very nice as is having #1 rated jazz bar downstairs and PJ's coffee contained within. Would not recommend staying anywhere on Bourbon St if you have kids under age 16 or 17. Heavy partying and strip clubs galore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berlin, CT
Feb 21, 2011

Beautiful hotel in the middle of it all!

Such a gorgeous hotel located right on Bourbon Street. Many restaurants within just a short walk. Some were right around the corner! Very friendly staff who give good suggestions. I would not stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book the "Undead Tour" with Bloody Mary Tours online prior to your trip if you are into history, ghosts, vampires, etc. Very cool walking tour at night.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave & Natalie
Missouri
Feb 21, 2011

Spoils you from the moment you walk in.

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel, we were treated like VIP's. We stayed three nights to celebrate my husbands birthday. The location was perfect for us. Almost everything thing we wanted to see was within walking distance. If not, the staff was quick to find transportation for us. The staff all knew the area well which meant there was no guessing at the best places for food and entertainment. We will recommend the Royal Sonesta everytime. PS Be sure to ask for a Cajun Mary in the Desire Oyster Bar. Its the best around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A tour of the World War II Museum is a must see.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berlin, CT
Feb 21, 2011

Beautiful hotel in the middle of it all!

Such a gorgeous hotel located right on Bourbon Street. Many restaurants within just a short walk. Some were right around the corner! Very friendly staff who give good suggestions. I would not stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book the "Undead Tour" with Bloody Mary Tours online prior to your trip if you are into history, ghosts, vampires, etc. Very cool walking tour at night.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave & Natalie
Missouri
Feb 21, 2011

Spoils you from the moment you walk in.

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel, we were treated like VIP's. We stayed three nights to celebrate my husbands birthday. The location was perfect for us. Almost everything thing we wanted to see was within walking distance. If not, the staff was quick to find transportation for us. The staff all knew the area well which meant there was no guessing at the best places for food and entertainment. We will recommend the Royal Sonesta everytime. PS Be sure to ask for a Cajun Mary in the Desire Oyster Bar. Its the best around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A tour of the World War II Museum is a must see.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Feb 20, 2011

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

My wife and I are locals staying in the french quarter for a weeding downtown. The hotel is one of the top hotels in the city. The staff are extremely polite. check in and check out times are perfect. The only thing that would have made this stay better is the parking. The Attendant collecting the money was rude and abrupt. I also do not understand why a small Volvo SUV is charged pricing as a large vehicle. Other then the parking situation everything else was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Feb 20, 2011

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

My wife and I are locals staying in the french quarter for a weeding downtown. The hotel is one of the top hotels in the city. The staff are extremely polite. check in and check out times are perfect. The only thing that would have made this stay better is the parking. The Attendant collecting the money was rude and abrupt. I also do not understand why a small Volvo SUV is charged pricing as a large vehicle. Other then the parking situation everything else was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AGBpirate from NJ
New Jersey
Jan 11, 2011

Natl Lampoons Trip To NOLA

Hotel was great except for having to flush our toilet with a trash can full of water each time we used it. But, easily repaired and we moved on. Jazz in the Lobby was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Maison DeVille, 727 Toulouse St, just off Bourbon.Quiet and great food. You can actually have a conversation while your dining.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AGBpirate from NJ
New Jersey
Jan 11, 2011

Natl Lampoons Trip To NOLA

Hotel was great except for having to flush our toilet with a trash can full of water each time we used it. But, easily repaired and we moved on. Jazz in the Lobby was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Maison DeVille, 727 Toulouse St, just off Bourbon.Quiet and great food. You can actually have a conversation while your dining.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway geauxru
Dallas, tx.
Jan 10, 2011

Beautiful french quarter hotel

Great hotel in a great location! Be prepared to stay up late and not rest between 11p and 4am. Everyone was friendly and responsive. Definitely would recommend to couples wanting to be adventurous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurants near or in the hotel were great!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Jan 10, 2011

Not a customer oriented hotel

I booked the hotel to look at french quarter property. The quality of the hotel services available were not up to my previous stays at this hotel. The was an incident at the hotel bar involving a rude and completely unprofessional bartender. When I complained to management the hotel staff did not even have the courtesy to respond to the phone call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top