$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
271 reviews
Luxurious haven in the heart of the action

I took my son for 5 days for the WWE wrestle mania events. It was during spring break and I... See full review

  • Sherifa
  • Apr 8, 2014
business trip

great hotel, wonderful stay, would recomend it to everyone. See full review

  • K Alex
  • Jan 28, 2014
Timeless and elegant French Quarter hotel with lush courtyards, pools

Traditional gabled windows, French doors and wrought-iron lace balconies appoint the "Jewel of the French Quarter." The Royal Sonesta offers lush tropical courtyards with outdoor pools and serene gardens. The famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse features live jazz seven nights a week on the lobby level.

Highlights
  • Relaxing pool environment complete with a lavish courtyard and pool bar
  • True French Quarter architectural style
  • Live jazz nightly at the famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse
Rooms

Choose between a lush courtyard view or the bustle and excitement of a Bourbon Street-facing room, many with private balconies. Flat screen TVs and desks with high-speed wired and wireless Internet (fees apply) are available in all 483 smoke-free rooms. Rooms are richly decorated and match the French Quarter feel. 

Features

Many dining and nightlife options await guests in true New Orleans style. The on-site Begue's restaurant boasts French and Creole specialties for breakfast and lunch. Guests can also enjoy a decadent Sunday Champagne brunch. The famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse features live jazz seven nights a week on the lobby level with no cover charge. A lavish outdoor pool on the third floor is the perfect afternoon escape. Options include a poolside massage or lunch at the Oasis Pool Bar, open seasonally.

 

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (21 minutes)
Attractions
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km )
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3.1 mi/ 5 km)
  • Xavier University (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Tulane University (4.7 mi/ 7.6 km)
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (6.5 mi/ 10.5 km)
Business
  • The 24-hour business center features computer stations, Internet access, print and photocopy capabilities, faxing and complimentary boarding pass printing (fees apply)
  • Computer and equipment rental services available by Royal Productions
  • 20,000 square feet of function space
  • A 5,000-square-foot ballroom accommodates events up to 650 people
  • An executive board room offers the latest in broadcast and telecommunication technology
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at $39.00 USD plus tax.
  • Rooms are non-smoking.  Smoking is permitted at the green spaces and courtyards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
271 out of 271
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Todd Deavor
Loxley, AL
Feb 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

This was one of my best trips to NO best location every and the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Mar 29, 2010

Great hotel - great location!

Recent 4-day stay at Royal Sonesta for our honeymoon - what a great trip! Hotel staff was outstanding, always helpful with anything necessary. It is an older hotel, and the rooms aren't huge, but it is extremely well maintained and is one of those classic properties that is quintessential New Orleans. Location is ON Bourbon St, but the hotel has done a good job of blocking most of the noise so you can sleep. If you like the noise though, you can always upgrade to a balcony room to be in the middle of the party

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
The Easter Bunny
Houston, TX
Apr 1, 2013

Easter Weekend Getaway

Great Hotel right in the Heart of Bourbon Street. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great Jazz club in the hotel. Room was comfortable and clean. 5th Floor room faced Bourbon Street but street noise was minimal. Visit the Courtyard Bar on the pool deck. (2nd Floor). Hotel has a side entrance on Conti which made avoiding Bourbon Street crowds easy when desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

BMC Music Club; 1331 Decatur. About 15 minute walk from Hotel. Great music. The place rocks. Hit Cafe Du Monde on the way back later.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
nulabs71
Atlanta, GA
Oct 3, 2011

Right on Bourbon Street

My wife and I decided to visit New Orleans for our 10 year wedding anniversary. After reading many reviews on Orbitz we decided on the Royal Sonesta. The Hotel is located right in the heart of the French Quater on Bourbon Street. Yes, the Bourbon Street party rages loudly well into the night, every night, but you'd never know it from the quiet confines of your room. This is wonderful because as much fun as the party is on Bourbon Street when your ready to call it a night it's nice to have complete peace and quiet and this you will have on the courtyard rooms. There are balcony rooms that face Bourbon but I'd imagine those aren't so peaceful. The staff at the Hotel was wonderful. Everyone we came into contact w/ was always customer service minded and very friendly from the front desk folks to the bellhops and all the others in between. I especially liked chatting w/ Eubanks about each days adventures. He was very helpful. Would I stay at the Royal Sonesta again? Perhaps. The accommodations were top notch and the service was 4 star. For my wife and I though, we preferred the relative tranquility of Royal Street and the east side of the Quarter. Even though it is completely quiet inside the Royal Sonesta you still have to walk through the bourbon street madness to get to the Hotel. After an evening of fine dining and a night of music on Frenchman Street we didn't enjoy wading through all the craziness to get into the Hotel. All and all a great vacation at a fine Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Reno Nevada
Mar 27, 2011

Royal Sonest New Orleans

I stayed the night at Royal Sonesta during a quick overnight stay in New Orleans after working for 25 days straight. I was looking for a place with a pool and a comfortable/quiet room and I wasn't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Wyzone
Collierville, TN
Mar 25, 2010

New Orleans trip

My husband and I went to New Orleans to get away for a few days. The staff at the Royal Sonesta was really very accomadating and friendly. The room was small but very nice and clean. The hotel is in a perfect location and was within walking distance to most everything. The parking fees were a little extreme and we were charged more because we had a SUV. The parking spaces were the same for all the vehicles so I was puzzled about the extra fee. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - just don't park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find alternative parking besides the hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Louisiana
May 25, 2010

The royal sonesta in the french quarter

This Hotel is in a very convient location situated on an entire city block boardering Burbon st. The staff was very helpful from the time we stepped out of our car in the parking garage. Parking was $32.00 a day. The Sunday brunch was extremely good. Dishes were light on salt and seasoning but very well seasoned with ingrediants ,ie sasauge and boiled shrimp. The near by GW Fins restaurant was incredible. Non traditional seasonings, such as a pumpkin seed flour crusted grouper,make this establishment stand out as a virtuoso commander of flavor. I have and would return to the Royal Sonesta.Our room did not over look Burbon St..The typical street noise could be heard from our room but not so much of the non stop Burbon St. hooping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy bottled water at the walgreens around the corner.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
yellow easter eggs
New Jersey
Apr 25, 2011

good location, beautiful lobby!

This hoel is at the heart of french quarter, so, if you are traveling with friends, it would be a great location. but for family vacation, Bourbon street is full of strip show clubs, and bars. especially at night, no business for ladies. Lobby is very fancy, great interior designs, full of antiques, but pool is small, and the water quality is poor. Don't expect too much for the pool. Staffs were all nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I strongly recommend NOT to purchase Power Pass that comes up when you are about to finish the purchase in this website. the Power Pass was certainly not worth paying anything. I was mislead about its short description that it included so many attractions, but later found out transportation to plantations, or swamp tours were not included. many tourists don't rent cars, and if you don't have a car, you have to book the tours from another vendors that provide transportations as well.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jun 4, 2011

Nice place

My partner and I decided to go to New Orleans on very short notice to get away. It was a phenomenal hotel to stay in while we were in the French Quarter. As a same sex couple, we were treated with great respect and kindness. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The gay portion of the French Quarter is on one side of the French Quarter. All the clubs are well within walking distance.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Brad from Texas
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Jul 8, 2009

Nice Hotel....Good Location

Great Location if you like the nightlife aspect as it sits right on Bourbon st.,however,if you have kids traveling w/ you,then you should probably look elsewhere.The beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping was very good.The pool looked nice,but I never got the chance to try it out since it always started to rain before I got the chance.The staff was friendly and helpful.Our room overlooked the Courtyard and we never heard any street noise,however,I can't speak for the rooms facing Bourbon st......Overall,a very good experience and I would happily stay there again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Being on Bourbon st.,there are no shortage of bars,clubs,gift shops,and restaraunts.You can easily walk up and down Bourbon st. and make it comfortably back to the hotel-yes,even after having a few too many cocktails......

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Wapakoneta, Oh
Jan 6, 2011

Right in the heart of the French Quarter

Great location on Bourbon Street. Outstanding staff in all ways. Easy check in and check out. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pierre Masperos's great food and just a 4 block walk Also a Walgreens on the next street back to stock up on inexpensive snacks, beer, water, etc.

Back to menu Return to top