$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
439 reviews
The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed See full review

  • UGA4LIFE
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great Value

We stayed here for one night and paid $164 for a second floor balcony room on Bourbon street. The... See full review

  • Rani Rockstar
  • Jun 19, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (439)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
439 out of 439
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno Nevada
Mar 27, 2011

Royal Sonest New Orleans

I stayed the night at Royal Sonesta during a quick overnight stay in New Orleans after working for 25 days straight. I was looking for a place with a pool and a comfortable/quiet room and I wasn't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno Nevada
Mar 27, 2011

Royal Sonest New Orleans

I stayed the night at Royal Sonesta during a quick overnight stay in New Orleans after working for 25 days straight. I was looking for a place with a pool and a comfortable/quiet room and I wasn't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Slidell Louisiana
Mar 9, 2011

Mardi Gras

I live in New Orleans and booked a room downtown for Mardi Gras and it was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana was really good.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Slidell Louisiana
Mar 9, 2011

Mardi Gras

I live in New Orleans and booked a room downtown for Mardi Gras and it was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana was really good.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, Bew Mexico
Mar 6, 2011

Royal Sonesta hotel French Quarter New O

The Sonesta hotel lobby was impressive but, unfortunately, our room was on the fifth floor with no view of any significance and downward slant from the roof in one end of the room; this part of our trip was a downer -- I will never accept a booking at this hotel. To be fair, all other aspects of the hotel were good. We spent most of our time in the quarter and river front; ate at Antoines, and FIN, had Begnies/chicory coffee @ Cafe Du Monde; Watched a couple of Mardi Gras parades. Return trip was long, having been routed through Atlanta rather than Houston. Previous trips to the South and East were typically routed more crisply and as short as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, Bew Mexico
Mar 6, 2011

Royal Sonesta hotel French Quarter New O

The Sonesta hotel lobby was impressive but, unfortunately, our room was on the fifth floor with no view of any significance and downward slant from the roof in one end of the room; this part of our trip was a downer -- I will never accept a booking at this hotel. To be fair, all other aspects of the hotel were good. We spent most of our time in the quarter and river front; ate at Antoines, and FIN, had Begnies/chicory coffee @ Cafe Du Monde; Watched a couple of Mardi Gras parades. Return trip was long, having been routed through Atlanta rather than Houston. Previous trips to the South and East were typically routed more crisply and as short as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicher
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Mar 2, 2011

Pre Mardi-Gras Unwind

I have always wanted to stay at the Royal Sonesta but could not afford it. You made it possible and it went well beyond our expectations. The service and friendlyness was such a help from the front desk to the room service. The rooms were spotless with the most comfortable beds we've had in New Orleans. It was not necessary to leave the hotel to savor the finest food and drinks as well as the local entertainment if you did not want to. Although there was a large conference going on at the same time we never felt cramped or went for lack of service. The location is ideal as we walked to the many sights in the French Quarter that we wanted to see. This was the best trip we have had in the Crescent City and we have been there over a dozen times. The only thing missing from this trip in New Orleans was more time to enjoy it. We visited Jackson Square, took a buggy ride to get all the local lore and hear bout the famous places. Shopped at the French Market, saw a Mardi-Gras parade on Sunday and had to buy an extra bag to bring all the beads home. In addition to several meals at Royal Sonesta we went across the Street from the hotel and ate at the Old New Orleans Cookery. Thanks to all the money you saved us we were also able to have lunch at Antoine's. Of course, everyone goes to the Cafe Du Monde and we were there every day for the powdered sugar fix. We certainly will do our traveling through Cheap Tickets from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk to the hotel employees. They will help you find the food you want at the most reasonable prices and the best quality. You are in short walking distance to to the river, Jackson Square, and Canal Street if you really want to go shopping. At the corner of Bourbon and Conti is where the fun and relaxation begins. The Royal Sonesta is unbeatable if you are a party animal as well.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoyAnton
Oslo Norway
Feb 27, 2011

Wow, what a location in a top hotel

We really enjoyed the stay at the Royal Sonesta. perfect location in this fantastic street. New Orleans is one of the best places we have ever been. We had great food experiences and listened to really good bands at several places in Bourbon Street. Loved walking around the French Quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places with live band's

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling women
chicago
Feb 27, 2011

Lovely hotel in perfect location

The hotel was the perfect place for us to re-group during our New Orleans stay. Very nice and the location could not have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling women
chicago
Feb 27, 2011

Lovely hotel in perfect location

The hotel was the perfect place for us to re-group during our New Orleans stay. Very nice and the location could not have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top