$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josh&dana
Business
Pittsburgh pa
Dec 4, 2010

Quick get away to NOLA

Very nice hotel and staff. Centrally located. Definitely recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good food and drink just of bourbon street. Take a short walk and explore the cafes and local bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland Or.
Nov 30, 2010

great place, bad service, no sleep

The Royal Sonesta is a very beautiful hotel on Bourbon street and by all appearances it should be a great place to stay. During check-in I knew we did not want to have a room on Bourbon street and the clerk also suggested that we stay in a room off the streets. This is were it all went bad; the room we were given was adjoining the work out room. Yes there were hours of operation but it opened at 6:00am which meant there was no sleeping in and we had to listen to the sounds of the work out room all day. We requested to be moved and they put us 4 rooms off of Bourbon st and told use we might get some street noise? They failed to tell us the bar right out side our window blasts heavy bass music until 4:00am in the morning. I went to the front desk and was told "there is no guarantee any of there rooms would be quite and I was handed 2 sets of ear plugs. The concierge was rude, insulting, and did not have time for us. Comments includes "I am going to make this simple so even you can find the restaurant" and "if you want complicated you will have to get in you car and drive" The door man was the only person that took the time to explain were several good restaurants were and was very personable. After 4 nights of pounding music until 4:00am not being able to order one movie to drowned out the droning noise since all we would get is snow on the TV. The wife and I were ready to leave and never return. Checking out was another wonderful experience with a desk clerk willing to ask how our stay was but not really wanting to hear what I had to say with comments like "Well Welcome to the French quarter" I have stayed in the French quarter before and I have never been treated so poorly and with so little disregarded to the customer. We will return to the french Quarter but never to the Royal Sonesta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Care Forgot, We Remember
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 18, 2010

Beautiful Suite courtesy of Alexandra!

I spent the extra money for a king size bed, but when we arrived they had us booked in a room with 2 doubles. The clerk told me that my reservation was between me and the website, that the hotel wasn't obligated to fulfill that request, but she'd see what she could come up with. We ended up in a gorgeous suite with king size bed, jacuzzi tub, large tv, sofa, on the quietest side of the hotel! [...] went above and beyond! You'll be amazed what a little courtesy and persistence can achieve!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off Bourbon St. and explore the smaller bars and restaurants. Our favorite pub is Fahy's at 540 Burgundy. Neighborhood pub, drinks are priced right, staff is super cool!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
JERSEY SHORE, NJ
Oct 22, 2010

THEY DO EVERYTHING RIGHT

THE ROYAL SONESTA WAS PURE LUXURY. WE UP GRADED TO ABALCONY ROOM OVER LOOKING THE POOL. THE ROOM, WITH ITS FRENCH DOORS LEADING TO THE POOL WAS BEAUTIFUL AND PEACEFUL. WITH BURBON STREET JUST OUT THE LOBBYDOORS YOU COULD NOT HEAR THE ALL NIGHT PARTY SCENEBUT WHEN YOU WANTED TO JOIN IN YOU JUST WALKED OUTTHE FRONT DOOR. SERVICE COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER.WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RED FISH GRILL--GO EARLY--GETS VERY BUSY--BURBON ST GRAPEVINE WINE & BISTRO--ORLEANS AVE--EXCELLENT FOOD THE BAR IN THE MONTELEONE HOTEL--ROYAL ST--PURE CLASS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun lovers
Business
Finger Lakes , NY
Oct 13, 2010

"Grand" location -French Quarter!

Wonderful way to experience the French Quarter. Walkable. Easy access to various venues - culture, dining, music. Shopping options limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street was at doorstep. Short walk to Canal Street where trolleys available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fire Ante
Business
NY
Oct 4, 2010

In The Heart of The City

Really great location on Bourbon Street, friendly staff, down-to-earth, but respectful at the same time. Air conditioning worked, but would have liked to have it cooler. I called to try to see if the room could be cooled down a bit more, but was told although there was a local thermostat, it all was actually controled by a central unit which would ultimately regulate the temp. Comfortable bed, great restaurant and lounge right in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SEGWAY NEW ORLEANS!!!!! Do it!!! Our tour guide, [...] was great!! What a blast. Easy, fun, different...wow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Woodlands, TX
Sep 26, 2010

Katrina ruined a great hotel

Hotal premises and services have gone downhill gradually since Katrina

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
your only 21 once
Business
lafayette, la
Sep 25, 2010

Great experience

We went to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. The hotel was amazing. Great location. The staff offered suggestion of a nice place to eat. Staff was very friendly. This was a wonderful experience and a memorable trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Any shopping or dining in the French Quarter will be more expensive. If you want to save money ask around for the locals favorite places to eat that are reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HURRICANE GINA
Business
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Sep 6, 2010

ROYAL SONESTA SHINES!

WE STAYED AT THE ROYAL SONESTA ON LABOR DAY WEEKEND FOR MY BOYFRIEND'S 50TH. WE STAYED ON THE CLUB R FLOOR. THE ROOM WAS VERY PLUSH, THE BED AND LINENS WERE AMAZING. TURNDOWN SERVICE AND ALL AMENITIES. THE BREAKFAST AND COCKTAIL HOUR ON THE CONCIERGE FLOOR WERE ALSO WONDERFUL. UNLIMITED BEVERAGES AND APPETIZERS WHICH CHANGED DAILY. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

WE HAD THE CONCIRGE FLOOR ROOM, OUR FRIENDS HAD THE BOURBON STREET BALCONY ROOM. WE PLAYED IN THE ONE ROOM AND SLEPT IN THE OTHER!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Slidell, LA
Sep 6, 2010

Nice Hotel but parking was a surprise

The Royal Sonesta is a very nice hotel. Great location for staying in the French Quarter. Didn't know it was located directly across the street from a strip club though. I was very surprised upon check-out that I was charged $32.00 a day for hotel parking. For the price you pay for a room, parking should be included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top