$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ngreg
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 14, 2012

great trip!

we had a fantastic time in new orleans! our room was clean, they had a crib set up for our kid when we arrived, the food in the hotel restaurant was great, and the staff couldn't have been nicer. next time we go to new orleans we want to stay in the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the french market and get a beignet while you're there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Short Business Stay
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Short business trip

My experience in the hotel was great. The location was fabulous. Being on Bourbon Street, some of the guest were a little loud (including the ones that came in at 3:30 in the morning and seemed to want to transact business in the hallway). But overall, the location was great, the room was spacious and clean, and the staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark Freeman
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Bourbon St at it's finest!

So Bourbon Street is what you desire? First class is how you roll? Imagine the complete Bourbon St experience and right in the middle is your oasis, the Royal Sonesta! One minute you’re in the middle of all the excitement and the next minute the doorman greets you with a big smile and opens the door to the lap of luxury. Don’t forget to visit Kendrell and the folks at Desire…he shucks oysters faster than you can eat them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure you visit Magazine Street for an afternoon stroll and French Market Street for after dinner Jazz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NIkM
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Great weekend for a 50th birthday!

The Hotel was clean and amazingly quiet since it is on Boubon St. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. An overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GW Fins restaurant was excellent. Food and service were superb! I will dine there again the next time I travel to New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve and Laura
Business
Chicago
Feb 7, 2012

our honeymoon in New Orleans

It was fantastic! The hussle and bustle of Bourbon St outside, you walk inside the doors of Royal Sonesta to quite and peace. The room was clean and newly remodled the staff was so helpful. Even loaning us an umbrella the last morning during our one and only rainstorm in our 5 day trip. Thank You Royal Sonesta for everything!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Green Line streetcar with an all day pass. On that line you can go to WWII and civil war muesums, the beautiful Garden District and the Layefette Cemetary. All for $3.00 per person plus admission to muesums. At WWII do the package film and tour. Do the film first, narrated by Tom Hanks, fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BlondeDetective
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 27, 2012

Perfection in the Big Easy

From the time you are met at the front door, the experience at the Royal Sonesta, New Orleans, just gets better and better. It's located right on Bourbon St. and if you didn't want to go out, you wouldn't have to as the hotel offers everything from a cute little breakfast shop (PJ's) to a great little restaurant (Desire Oyster Bar) to a top ranked jazz Club (Irvin Mayfield's). The rooms are all gorgeous. My room looked out into the pool area. Do yourself a favor and take a trip to the Big Easy and stay at the Royal Sonesta. You'll be glad you did !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go outside the French Quarter and do some exploring. There are over 1200 restaurants in New Orleans, don't limit yourself to the French Quarter. I don't believe you can get a bad meal in New Orleans, so give it a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desert Dancer
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Feb 14, 2012

True Southern Hospitality!

Great food! Awesome Staff! Very clean. I was hesitant to stay right on Bourbon Street because I thought it might not be "nice" but was really surprised. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Desire Oyster Bar was very good! Friendly and very good wait staff! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
billy k
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Mar 3, 2012

not for kids

best hotel on bourbon street. Rooms are great hotel is beautyful. location couldn't be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good places to eat just off bourbon st. Live Music everywhere. This place is not for kids

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alligator and Turtle
Business
New England
Mar 30, 2012

Bourbon Street on a budget

There were 4 adults. We had one room with a terrace. We all agreed that we had a very nice room at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Willie Mae's Scotch House. It has been featured on the food channel. We were all surprised at how good the chicken was. Also, the Court of the Two Sisters on Royal Street was very good. This was not cheap, but certainly worth it. Eating out should be about the quality and experience. They did a good job.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schsieme
Business
Saint Louis MO
Mar 29, 2012

Outstanding

An amazing experience. Every single staff person we encountered was THE BEST. I felt like a Princess from beginning to end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top