$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
295 reviews
Great location

Could not ask for a better location! Very nice hotel. I stay here every time I go to New Orleans. See full review

  • Chachibear
  • Oct 5, 2014
50th Birthday Party

My friends had called the hotel prior to our arrival to arrange a huge balloon bouquet to surprise... See full review

  • Tom Melinda
  • Sep 14, 2014
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the grand hotel in the French Quarter! One will love distinctively European style, beautiful architecture and staff's warmth. Here, one will find a casual but sophisticated ambiance with inviting guest rooms and suites, a world-class art collection, a lush tropical courtyard, secluded pool and serene gardens. The Big Easy's best choices in dining and entertainment are right here, from a charming courtyard restaurant to a sidewalk bistro to nationally recognized "Women in Jazz" concert series. All this along with 20,000 sq. ft. of function space, a state of the art Board Room and a team of enthusiastic professionals ensure vacation, meeting or special event will exceed expectations. The various amenities provided are ballroom, bar, business center, concierge, conference facilities, disabled facilities, dry cleaning, gift shop, gym/fitness facilities, high speed internet access, wireless internet access, laundry service, lift/elevator, lobby, non smoking rooms, parking facilities-at cost, Domesticated Pets under 30 lb allowed with a one time fee of $75.00, restaurant, room service, safe deposit box, outdoor swimming pool and tour desk. Parking is available at a charge of $39 per day.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (295)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Woodlands, TX
Sep 26, 2010

Katrina ruined a great hotel

Hotal premises and services have gone downhill gradually since Katrina

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
your only 21 once
Business
lafayette, la
Sep 25, 2010

Great experience

We went to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. The hotel was amazing. Great location. The staff offered suggestion of a nice place to eat. Staff was very friendly. This was a wonderful experience and a memorable trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Any shopping or dining in the French Quarter will be more expensive. If you want to save money ask around for the locals favorite places to eat that are reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HURRICANE GINA
Business
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Sep 6, 2010

ROYAL SONESTA SHINES!

WE STAYED AT THE ROYAL SONESTA ON LABOR DAY WEEKEND FOR MY BOYFRIEND'S 50TH. WE STAYED ON THE CLUB R FLOOR. THE ROOM WAS VERY PLUSH, THE BED AND LINENS WERE AMAZING. TURNDOWN SERVICE AND ALL AMENITIES. THE BREAKFAST AND COCKTAIL HOUR ON THE CONCIERGE FLOOR WERE ALSO WONDERFUL. UNLIMITED BEVERAGES AND APPETIZERS WHICH CHANGED DAILY. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

WE HAD THE CONCIRGE FLOOR ROOM, OUR FRIENDS HAD THE BOURBON STREET BALCONY ROOM. WE PLAYED IN THE ONE ROOM AND SLEPT IN THE OTHER!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Slidell, LA
Sep 6, 2010

Nice Hotel but parking was a surprise

The Royal Sonesta is a very nice hotel. Great location for staying in the French Quarter. Didn't know it was located directly across the street from a strip club though. I was very surprised upon check-out that I was charged $32.00 a day for hotel parking. For the price you pay for a room, parking should be included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamison27
Business
Ft. Worth, TX
Aug 23, 2010

Great room, bad location

Hotel was superb, parking was expensive $38 for overnight. French quarter had too much sinful businesses for my taste, as this was my first visit to New Orleans. Based on my experience, the hotel was great, the scenery and location I wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50-something Dad
Business
NY, NY
Aug 22, 2010

Great hotel, raucous guests

New Orleans is a great city and Royal Sonesta is one of it's great hotels. The blessing and curse is the location, on Bourbon Street in the French Quarter, where drunken 20-somethings reign. Services and staff are outstanding. Sizable outdoor pool but often too crowded with drinkers to swim. Still, we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Normal Guy Reviewer
Business
Baltimore md
Aug 19, 2010

Sonesta

This hotel was a clean, perfect location, and relaxing. After spending a couple hours on boubon street it is a releaf to go back to our little retreat at the Royal Sonesta. We had a room right off of Bourbon street and you could hear a little noise. We thought this was fine and loved being able to peak right out the window to people watch, throw beeds, and generally being able to check the atmosphere before we went out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Punkinv
Business
South Carolina
Aug 16, 2010

Very nice experience

[...] greeted us at the door when we first arrived and he was most helpful along with all the staff the rest of our stay. They made great recommendations for places to dine, directions etc.We felt very safe and secure with this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBJC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 14, 2010

Excellent Experience

This hotel is by far one of the best places you can stay when taking a trip to New Orleans. While Bourbon street can get quite noisy and is rather trashy, the hotel provides an oasis. Our room was not facing Bourbon street (we had a choice when we checked in) and therefore had no problems with the noise outside. We arrived at 11am and without any hassle were able to check in immediately, even though the check in time was 4pm. We immediately visited the concierge and inquired about renting a car to drive to the plantations and within minutes he had arranged for someone to pick us up the following morning to pick up the car, and had also managed to get us a rate that was cheaper than any we had found when asking at the airport that morning. The best thing about this hotel was that it was the perfect place to return to in the afternoon, when the 100 degree heat became too much, and lounge around by the beautiful pool, sit in the indoor cafe, or outside in the court yard. When booking this trip we had also considered several other hotels, some on Canal street and others closer to the CBD, but the Royal Sonesta was by far the best choice in terms of location. Canal street and the CBD both seemed a bit seedy, and although Royal Sonesta is on Bourbon street, it was in the best location in terms of walking distance to tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast we would strongly recommend anyone to go to the OLD COFFEE POT. It is a short walk from the Royal Sonesta and off of Bourbon street. The old-time cafe/restaurant had delicious food (try the Cala Cakes), friendly service, and a nice ambiance. The prices are also very reasonable and breakfast was served until 2pm. For lunch, the SOMETHING ELSE CAFE was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jake's dad
Business
Chandler, AZ
Aug 12, 2010

New Orleans historic hotel jazzy

Great hotel in center of French Quarter. Awesome Jazz club in the hotel, 7 nights/week. Caution: If you like rock music till 3am, request Bourbon St facing room. However, if you like quiet, be sure to request quiet section of hotel. We had to change rooms, but got an awesome quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse is in the hotel and features awesome jazz 7 nights/week

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top