$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd Deavor
Loxley, AL
Feb 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

This was one of my best trips to NO best location every and the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
another old guy
Business
st. louis, mo
Nov 15, 2013

French Quarter comfort and convenience

Can't beat the Bourbon Street location for convenience. Concierge quite helpful. Rooms facing courtyard surprisingly quiet, considering the constant street party outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DougMcNerd
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 24, 2013

Royal Sonesta

Nice hotel, clean rooms, great location. This hotel is right in the middle of many great restaurants, bars, and other tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geo K
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 26, 2013

Fun weekend with friends

The hotel was nice. Location on Bourbon street was centrally located, but it was a little too crazy. The pool looked nice, but it was too cold to use it. Overall pretty nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MS traveller
Business
Mississippi
Dec 14, 2013

Gorgeous hotel & great value for the price we got

Beautiful hotel with an upscale atmosphere. The Christmas decorations were so pretty. Staff were nice. Our room had gorgeous details and was clean. It was a bit small and had no real view. The location on Bourbon street was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Advanceman
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jan 1, 2011

Very Nice Hotel...But Staff Idifferent

The hotel was very nice (with the exception of the bathroom in our room which was very tired and small) and in a great location in the Quarter. My biggest criticism is that the staff was not very customer service-oriented or friendly (with the exception of Russell, the Concierge). Overall, I would rate the hotel/experience a 3.5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I was very impressed with Iris Restaurant on Decatur.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susie Traveller
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2011

Great location

The location is fabulous if you like the craziness that is Bourbon St. Everything in the French Quarter is walkable, and just a couple of blocks from the trolleys on St. Charles and Canal. We were prepared to deal with loud noise from Bourbon St. during New Year's Eve weekend, but were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was. Only complaints: gym is pretty small and we had the unpleasant experience of getting stuck in the elevator, but not for too terribly long. Overall, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 2, 2010

A Treasure

We spent three nights here, but I wish we had had time to stay longer. The hotel was much more than we imagined. What a grand palace! [...] We were on Bourbon Street, within walking distance from some of the best restaurants in the French Quarter. Just around the corner on Royal Street, we saw artists at work in their studios and another block over we walked along Decataur Street where we enjoyed shopping for items representative of New Orleans. Next time we'll stay at this hotel longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dick Brennan's Steakhouse was a full-service restaurant where we dinned for our anniversary. The steak was better than Ruth Chris'and not quite as pricey. Still, you want to prepare to spend the most here. The meal is worth it. For other meals, the hotel meets your needs well. For a change, the Oceano is a step or two away and offers delicious dinners at moderate prices.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madisonville, La.
Jul 23, 2011

Great Hotel!

We only live 60 miles away but wanted a nice place to stay for our anniversary. This hotel is in the heart of the historical French Quarter. Everything is within walking distance. We ate and took tours that we had never taken before. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouisianaGrown
Business
Lake Charles, LA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Value on Bourbon Street

Great location on Bourbon Street in New Orleans. Pretty much in the middle if the excitement. The room was nice and clean. The bedding was soft and comfortable. This is a really nice upscale hotel and the price wasn't that bad. You had to pay a fee for parking, but on Bourbon Street parking is a pain. So paying the parking fee to use the garage was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bbq shrimp dinner was great in the adjacent building to the hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BATON ROUGE,LA
Jul 22, 2011

RIGHT SMACK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE QUARTER

JUST VISIT MY OLD HOME TOWN. NO. WHAT WE EXPECTED. GOOD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BE PREPARED TO PAY A HIGHER PRICE FOR A GOOD NEARBY RESTAURANT.

Back to menu Return to top