$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda,
Couples
Randolph, MA
Mar 5, 2010

The center of NOLA"s universe

There's a great club in the hotel featuring 1st class jazz bands. There's a coffee shop available with a beautiful patio next door perfect for your start to the day. The hotel is right in the center of all of the action on Bourbon Street but once inside you're back in quiet of your room. The rooms were well appointed and service top notch. All requests were handled quickly and pleasantly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A marketplace located beginning at The Cafe Du Mode is a great place to shop a wide variety of vendors willing to barter for the right price. Also, no overhead means the prices start out better. It's only a 10-15 minute walk away.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jake's dad
Couples
Chandler, AZ
Aug 12, 2010

New Orleans historic hotel jazzy

Great hotel in center of French Quarter. Awesome Jazz club in the hotel, 7 nights/week. Caution: If you like rock music till 3am, request Bourbon St facing room. However, if you like quiet, be sure to request quiet section of hotel. We had to change rooms, but got an awesome quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse is in the hotel and features awesome jazz 7 nights/week

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AGBpirate from NJ
Family
New Jersey
Jan 11, 2011

Natl Lampoons Trip To NOLA

Hotel was great except for having to flush our toilet with a trash can full of water each time we used it. But, easily repaired and we moved on. Jazz in the Lobby was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Maison DeVille, 727 Toulouse St, just off Bourbon.Quiet and great food. You can actually have a conversation while your dining.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway geauxru
Couples
Dallas, tx.
Jan 10, 2011

Beautiful french quarter hotel

Great hotel in a great location! Be prepared to stay up late and not rest between 11p and 4am. Everyone was friendly and responsive. Definitely would recommend to couples wanting to be adventurous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurants near or in the hotel were great!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickD
Couples
Boulder Colorado
Nov 3, 2009

Great Trip to New Orleans

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff. Enjoyed our trip very much. Definately would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
new york
Apr 21, 2011

beautiful hotel

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very helpful and nice. The french quarter is not a place for children. We did not know this before booking this trip. We had to travel outside this area to feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The insecterium was a great place to visit if you are with children

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 25, 2011

Great Stay

Stay was great. Parking was expensive ($32 a day) but I guess that is standard. The rooms were a bit damp and not sure if that is just from all the humidity in the air but our clothes all felt a little damp by the end of the week. No coffee in the room was a bit odd. I have never stayed in a place that made you go down and buy your coffee every morning. Did appreciate the free internet access as we had expected to have to pay $11 a day for it as written in past reviews which my husband was pretty upset about. He was very happy to not have to pay for internet access. The rooms are great. Having the pools was nice as well although it was a touch on the warm side. We would probably stay here again although there are certainly cheaper hotels in the area the historical feel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near everything you would ever need

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D & J Travelers
Couples
Diamond Bar, CA
Apr 23, 2011

great accommodating friendly hotel

went on several tours, shopped and walked the French Quarter, dined in several places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWIN
Couples
Washington, D.C.
Mar 30, 2011

Royal Sonesta NOLA

This is a great location for a weekend in NOLA. The hotel is on Bourbon and in walking distance to the south end, the River Walk (Aquarium/IMAX)and the French Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Royal Sonesta has a great central NOLA location.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
GA
May 2, 2011

all good

Okay, you have to know you are staying on Bourbon Street,which may be a plus or a minus. Five stories above the street, the music and noise were muffled and the hotel was actually quieter than I expected, even during a peak season like Jazz Fest. Service was great.....no complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Germaine Basil sings in the hotel bar every Sunday night. She is the real New Orleans deal....local, gifted, and worth seeing. The bar was sparsely populated as she finished....people don't know what they're missing.

Back to menu Return to top