$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jet Jock
Business
Central PA
Mar 27, 2012

4 star facility but 2 star room and housekeeping

Hotel was 4 star but the Deluxe King room was no more than 2 1/2 star. The room was damp/humid. One day we had to go out looking for wash cloths and another we ran out of toilet paper. The bath was small with a poorly constructed single vanity and there was a little mold on the tub grout. Clock/radio/mp3 player had the wrong time and no apparent way to change it. The concierge said he would have someone change it, but it never happened. We might return to an upgraded room because the location and hotel appointments were very nice but likely will look for another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 24, 2012

Great location. Rooms a bit run down.

Room service and housekeeping unreliable and slow. Rooms need to be updated. No coffee machine in room. Located in heart of Bourbon St in pedestrian only block, so no taxi drop off during evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bekah
Business
Greenville, NC
Oct 7, 2012

Not impressed

The staff at the concierge desk was lazy and made it clear they did not want to be bothered. Not helpful or even slightly concerned...they were actually, a bit rude. It was evident that repeat business was not valued at this establishment. While the room, the restaurant and location were very nice, I will not return to the Royal Sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crucian mom
Business
US Virgin Islands
Dec 28, 2012

Nice 1-night stay

Room was small but comfortable. No coffee maker or hair dryer in room. Parking was expensive--$40 for one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arctic Cat
Business
Nashville
Feb 20, 2013

Rough start but ended well

We were originally given a prison cell room that opened onto a brick wall with no view. Not what I came to New Orleans for. Finally got the room changed to one with a balcony overlooking Conti and Bourbon and things were greatly improved! A note for others: this type of room will make it hard to get any sleep because of the noise but it was what we were looking for. My biggest concern when we went to change the room (which was smoothly accomplished by the friendly staff) was that the lines were full of unhappy people also changing their rooms. That made me nervous as to what we had gotten ourselves into...This hotel does have great amenities and a perfect location if you want to be in the heart of the action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana Restaurant sits beside the Royal Sonesta and offered some of the best food and drinks we had the whole trip. Convenient to be close to the hotel when one of those hurricanes sneaks up on you as often happens in the Big Easy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Time in NO
Business
Syracuse, NY
Apr 7, 2013

Overall ok

Location was great, right on Bourbon st. Staff could have been friendlier. We were checking out @ 4am & staff struggled to give me a zero balance print out. Why didn't they deliver check out statement under the door like most hotels? also for security door were locked/elevators to where to get cab was not out of service, had to carry bags down stairs to get to cab, should provide better option during those hours. 1/2 of Equipment in workout facility made loud noises, they all need to be updated. Overall ok hotel, clean enough, although they didn't clean room timely, they came late to our room, seemed busy but they should plan for that. I would recommend this hotel but with above explanations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

download NOLA app. you can make reservations right from your phone with this app & get confirmation. Also has a lot of information on what to see & do in the area and includes distance & directions from where you are to restaurants & other locations. Great App!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brkrwllm
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 9, 2013

Perfect Location

Staff was great and everything in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spyderjohn
Business
Austin
Sep 29, 2013

A nice 4 day vacation

The hotel is in good shape considering how old it is. Nice pool. Staff was first class, very helpful. We did not get a room with a view that was a disappointment considering the deluxe upgrade I paid for. I had a horrible experience at the hotel restaurant and will never go there again, but the town is full of restaurants that are much better. Stay there if you want to be close to Bourbon St. Eat some were else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the carriage tours they will be the best way to get to know the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lrnzo
Business
Indianapolis
Oct 23, 2013

meh

Staff is not helpful or friendly. Hotel feels used but kept well b/c our room was clean but I wore flip flops so I did not have to touch the carpet. Bed was outstanding (very firm). Generally this is the first hotel that I have overpaid for in Years. Would do the W if french quarter is a must. Then just visit the R bar for a great cocktail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wed Party
Business
NYC
May 28, 2014

No surprises

You can't really complain about noise when you book a hotel on Bourbon Street, but the room was quite noisy. The room also had a strange odor that we couldn't quite place. Staff was very nice however our room was not cleaned the first day we were there which left us looking for towels for our morning shower. If you are looking for a hotel close to the Bourbon Street action, this is a nice one however, the price was seemingly high for the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bayona on Dauphine Street - romantic dinner. Really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top