$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 4, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
306 reviews
Young couples august getaway!

My boyfriend and I stayed here in late August of 2014. It was our first trip to New Orleans, and we... See full review

  • KC331
  • Jan 27, 2015
Amazing

Fantastic hotel. Location doesn't get any better. Friendly and accommodating staff. The only bad... See full review

  • Mabs1
  • Jan 24, 2015
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (306)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
306 out of 306
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jet Jock
Business
Central PA
Mar 27, 2012

4 star facility but 2 star room and housekeeping

Hotel was 4 star but the Deluxe King room was no more than 2 1/2 star. The room was damp/humid. One day we had to go out looking for wash cloths and another we ran out of toilet paper. The bath was small with a poorly constructed single vanity and there was a little mold on the tub grout. Clock/radio/mp3 player had the wrong time and no apparent way to change it. The concierge said he would have someone change it, but it never happened. We might return to an upgraded room because the location and hotel appointments were very nice but likely will look for another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 24, 2012

Great location. Rooms a bit run down.

Room service and housekeeping unreliable and slow. Rooms need to be updated. No coffee machine in room. Located in heart of Bourbon St in pedestrian only block, so no taxi drop off during evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bekah
Business
Greenville, NC
Oct 7, 2012

Not impressed

The staff at the concierge desk was lazy and made it clear they did not want to be bothered. Not helpful or even slightly concerned...they were actually, a bit rude. It was evident that repeat business was not valued at this establishment. While the room, the restaurant and location were very nice, I will not return to the Royal Sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crucian mom
Business
US Virgin Islands
Dec 28, 2012

Nice 1-night stay

Room was small but comfortable. No coffee maker or hair dryer in room. Parking was expensive--$40 for one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arctic Cat
Business
Nashville
Feb 20, 2013

Rough start but ended well

We were originally given a prison cell room that opened onto a brick wall with no view. Not what I came to New Orleans for. Finally got the room changed to one with a balcony overlooking Conti and Bourbon and things were greatly improved! A note for others: this type of room will make it hard to get any sleep because of the noise but it was what we were looking for. My biggest concern when we went to change the room (which was smoothly accomplished by the friendly staff) was that the lines were full of unhappy people also changing their rooms. That made me nervous as to what we had gotten ourselves into...This hotel does have great amenities and a perfect location if you want to be in the heart of the action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana Restaurant sits beside the Royal Sonesta and offered some of the best food and drinks we had the whole trip. Convenient to be close to the hotel when one of those hurricanes sneaks up on you as often happens in the Big Easy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Time in NO
Business
Syracuse, NY
Apr 7, 2013

Overall ok

Location was great, right on Bourbon st. Staff could have been friendlier. We were checking out @ 4am & staff struggled to give me a zero balance print out. Why didn't they deliver check out statement under the door like most hotels? also for security door were locked/elevators to where to get cab was not out of service, had to carry bags down stairs to get to cab, should provide better option during those hours. 1/2 of Equipment in workout facility made loud noises, they all need to be updated. Overall ok hotel, clean enough, although they didn't clean room timely, they came late to our room, seemed busy but they should plan for that. I would recommend this hotel but with above explanations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

download NOLA app. you can make reservations right from your phone with this app & get confirmation. Also has a lot of information on what to see & do in the area and includes distance & directions from where you are to restaurants & other locations. Great App!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brkrwllm
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 9, 2013

Perfect Location

Staff was great and everything in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spyderjohn
Business
Austin
Sep 29, 2013

A nice 4 day vacation

The hotel is in good shape considering how old it is. Nice pool. Staff was first class, very helpful. We did not get a room with a view that was a disappointment considering the deluxe upgrade I paid for. I had a horrible experience at the hotel restaurant and will never go there again, but the town is full of restaurants that are much better. Stay there if you want to be close to Bourbon St. Eat some were else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the carriage tours they will be the best way to get to know the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lrnzo
Business
Indianapolis
Oct 23, 2013

meh

Staff is not helpful or friendly. Hotel feels used but kept well b/c our room was clean but I wore flip flops so I did not have to touch the carpet. Bed was outstanding (very firm). Generally this is the first hotel that I have overpaid for in Years. Would do the W if french quarter is a must. Then just visit the R bar for a great cocktail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wed Party
Business
NYC
May 28, 2014

No surprises

You can't really complain about noise when you book a hotel on Bourbon Street, but the room was quite noisy. The room also had a strange odor that we couldn't quite place. Staff was very nice however our room was not cleaned the first day we were there which left us looking for towels for our morning shower. If you are looking for a hotel close to the Bourbon Street action, this is a nice one however, the price was seemingly high for the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bayona on Dauphine Street - romantic dinner. Really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top