$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
271 reviews
Luxurious haven in the heart of the action

I took my son for 5 days for the WWE wrestle mania events. It was during spring break and I... See full review

  • Sherifa
  • Apr 8, 2014
business trip

great hotel, wonderful stay, would recomend it to everyone. See full review

  • K Alex
  • Jan 28, 2014
Timeless and elegant French Quarter hotel with lush courtyards, pools

Traditional gabled windows, French doors and wrought-iron lace balconies appoint the "Jewel of the French Quarter." The Royal Sonesta offers lush tropical courtyards with outdoor pools and serene gardens. The famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse features live jazz seven nights a week on the lobby level.

Highlights
  • Relaxing pool environment complete with a lavish courtyard and pool bar
  • True French Quarter architectural style
  • Live jazz nightly at the famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse
Rooms

Choose between a lush courtyard view or the bustle and excitement of a Bourbon Street-facing room, many with private balconies. Flat screen TVs and desks with high-speed wired and wireless Internet (fees apply) are available in all 483 smoke-free rooms. Rooms are richly decorated and match the French Quarter feel. 

Features

Many dining and nightlife options await guests in true New Orleans style. The on-site Begue's restaurant boasts French and Creole specialties for breakfast and lunch. Guests can also enjoy a decadent Sunday Champagne brunch. The famous Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse features live jazz seven nights a week on the lobby level with no cover charge. A lavish outdoor pool on the third floor is the perfect afternoon escape. Options include a poolside massage or lunch at the Oasis Pool Bar, open seasonally.

 

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (21 minutes)
Attractions
  • Riverwalk Marketplace (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km )
  • New Orleans Museum of Art (3.1 mi/ 5 km)
  • Xavier University (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Tulane University (4.7 mi/ 7.6 km)
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas (6.5 mi/ 10.5 km)
Business
  • The 24-hour business center features computer stations, Internet access, print and photocopy capabilities, faxing and complimentary boarding pass printing (fees apply)
  • Computer and equipment rental services available by Royal Productions
  • 20,000 square feet of function space
  • A 5,000-square-foot ballroom accommodates events up to 650 people
  • An executive board room offers the latest in broadcast and telecommunication technology
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at $39.00 USD plus tax.
  • Rooms are non-smoking.  Smoking is permitted at the green spaces and courtyards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
271 out of 271
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
DRubes
Boston
Jan 15, 2013

Best Vacation Ever!!

Went to New Orleans with my girlfriend of 2 years and booked travel for 3 nights.. The hotel was great! It has a jazz bar in it which is fantastic, and the oyster bar gives you that NO feel. The staff was super friendly; we needed our air in the room adjusted to blow colder air, and it was fixed within 15 minutes of calling! Since its right on Bourbon Street, it can be LOUD but we booked with that understanding. The hotel provides security, though, so you can't get to the elevators without a key. I really liked that, especially with the insanity taking place outside. Will definitely, unequivocally be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Mikee
NY
Oct 31, 2013

Great Value

Centrally located on Bourbon Street, but perfectly clean, quiet and comfortable. The perfect mix of amenties and location and well worth the price of admission.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

venture away from bourbon st for the best food and drink

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Janie R.
Providence, Rhode Island
Aug 30, 2011

Great Vacation - Loved every minute

My husband I loved the hotel. The staff, rooms, pool, drinks everything about the hotel was wonderful. The only thing I did not like was that there was no microwave in the room. There was a refrigerator though. I have stayed at the Royal Sonesta in the past and will continue to do so in the future. On a scale of 1 - 10...................... I give it a 10 all day long!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My suggestion would be to definitely go on the Swamp Tour. When making your reserations make sure you request the "small boat". Taking the tour on the small boat is much better than the bigger one because it goes faster with less people on it. Definitely worth the money all day long!!!!!!!!!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
silverhil, al
Jul 22, 2011

all i can say is awesome.

we planned a romantic vacation and it was everything we hoped for. everyone was very friendly and accomadating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

we were directly on bourbon street.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Bucket List Checker
Ventura, CA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Location, locatiion, location

Bourbon St., what can be better? Royal Sonesta was in the heat of things. Walk out the door in any direction and live the Big Easy. Walking distance from galleries, cooking school, exotic popsicle store, and Beinets at Cafe Du Monde. Life is Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definately ask people on the street or in their business' what there is to see while you are visiting. We found the Street Car a great asset, and it's just a few blocks from the hotel on Canal St. As a senior it costs just $. 40 a trip and can take you to the end of the month art show in the park, to the museum and to the hospital if you need it.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Desert Dancer
Albuquerque, NM
Feb 14, 2012

True Southern Hospitality!

Great food! Awesome Staff! Very clean. I was hesitant to stay right on Bourbon Street because I thought it might not be "nice" but was really surprised. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Desire Oyster Bar was very good! Friendly and very good wait staff! :)

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Robert F
NJ
Aug 16, 2011

long weekend

Arrived on Friday for anniversary weekend. Got an upgrade to The Tower. Good time, breakfast in AM. Cocktails and horsdvours in PM. EXC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Houston , tx
Jul 5, 2011

The essence

love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
New Orleans Fanatic!
Baltimore, MD
Aug 9, 2011

Simply Wonderful

My husband and I have visited New Orleans every other year since our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoy ourselves! This was the first year he and I stayed in the Quarter and it was the best stay we've had thus far. The Royal Sonesta is centrally located on Bourbon Street and within walking distance to everything; Jackson Square, the French Market, shops, restaurants, tours, you name it are all within a 5-15 minute walk. The rooms were spacious and so quiet that you had no idea you were on Bourbon Street. The service was impeccable both in room and throughout the hotel. I can't say enough good things about the Royal Sonesta, we will be back!This year was special for my husband and I as we renewed our vows. I had spoken with the wedding coordinator about having the ceremony performed in the beautiful and lush courtyard but it didn't quite work out as there was some painting going on. This was a blessing in disguise as the Director of Guest Relations, [...], was able to accommodate us with a much cooler (it was a bit humid) location and did all that she could to assist in making our renewal special. With her assistance, our nuptials turned out much better than we expected and made the event and our stay all the more special. This alone assured repeat customers of my husband and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
asefermd
Baton Roufe, LA
Jul 6, 2011

Beautiful location

Right there on the Bourbon street. Would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Steve and Laura
Chicago
Feb 7, 2012

our honeymoon in New Orleans

It was fantastic! The hussle and bustle of Bourbon St outside, you walk inside the doors of Royal Sonesta to quite and peace. The room was clean and newly remodled the staff was so helpful. Even loaning us an umbrella the last morning during our one and only rainstorm in our 5 day trip. Thank You Royal Sonesta for everything!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Green Line streetcar with an all day pass. On that line you can go to WWII and civil war muesums, the beautiful Garden District and the Layefette Cemetary. All for $3.00 per person plus admission to muesums. At WWII do the package film and tour. Do the film first, narrated by Tom Hanks, fantastic.

Back to menu Return to top