$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
439 reviews
The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed See full review

  • UGA4LIFE
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great Value

We stayed here for one night and paid $164 for a second floor balcony room on Bourbon street. The... See full review

  • Rani Rockstar
  • Jun 19, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (439)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
439 out of 439
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New Orleans Fanatic!
Baltimore, MD
Aug 9, 2011

Simply Wonderful

My husband and I have visited New Orleans every other year since our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoy ourselves! This was the first year he and I stayed in the Quarter and it was the best stay we've had thus far. The Royal Sonesta is centrally located on Bourbon Street and within walking distance to everything; Jackson Square, the French Market, shops, restaurants, tours, you name it are all within a 5-15 minute walk. The rooms were spacious and so quiet that you had no idea you were on Bourbon Street. The service was impeccable both in room and throughout the hotel. I can't say enough good things about the Royal Sonesta, we will be back!This year was special for my husband and I as we renewed our vows. I had spoken with the wedding coordinator about having the ceremony performed in the beautiful and lush courtyard but it didn't quite work out as there was some painting going on. This was a blessing in disguise as the Director of Guest Relations, [...], was able to accommodate us with a much cooler (it was a bit humid) location and did all that she could to assist in making our renewal special. With her assistance, our nuptials turned out much better than we expected and made the event and our stay all the more special. This alone assured repeat customers of my husband and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mickey's Birthday
Boise, Id
Dec 14, 2010

awsome

Excellent stay. 10 out of 10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheffy
Atlanta, GA
Nov 3, 2009

Beautiful Jewel in the Quarter

We were down for Halloween and VooDoo Fest. I always return to the Royal Sonesta. The location is perfect, the staff is wonderful and helpful. The only drawback this trip was that we could smell cigarette smoke from another room in ours. Other than that a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 24, 2009

Awesome Hotel - Great Location

Loved the hotel, everything was very clean & the staff was very friendly. I was visiting New Orleans for a bachelor party and stayed at the Royal Sonesta for three nights. The location is awesome; it's right in the middle of Bourbon Street & within walking distance to all the good bars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RevJoe
Piedmont, CA
Aug 26, 2009

Incredible Hotel

The hotel is on Bourbon Street in the heart of the French Quarter. This was one of our best vacation experiences ever. We faced Bourbon Street by choice. (We were told at check-in we could change rooms if we wanted to do so -- but it wasn't that noisy, in fact it was fun.) [...], Chief Concierge, made our stay unforgettable -- he remembered our names at our second visit to his desk, he arranged tours, recommended restaurants, etc., he is a great asset to the hotel. The Doormen were extremely personable, the housekeeping staff friendly. The Hotel was spotless, our room was perfect -- the hotel is a gem in the midst of earthy Bourbon Street. A beautiful side entrance to the lobby is available for anyone (families with small children) wishing to avoid 'the street.' Other than Bourbon Street, the French Quarter abounds in shops, restaurants, museums, riverboats, etc. The hotel has a lounge with different and varied entertainment every night. We walked to almost everything or used public transportation. Unforgettable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WMC party goer
New Jersey, USA
Mar 11, 2013

5 star Bourbon St experience

Step out of the taxi and instantly greeted by Malcom the porter. His politeness and welcoming good nature I would learn would be typical of this hotel and the French Quarter in general. At the concierge desk, my girlfriend and I spent about 10 minutes with the staff getting there best advice about bars, restaurants and the sights. They did not mislead or disappoint. The room was outstanding, a balcony over looking the pool. Quiet enough to rest, but the hotel was right on Bourbon so the action is right at your finger tips. All of the best dining is within the a block of this amazing hotel. On Bourbon, the hotel's bar, Le Booze is a nice spot to start off the night with a couple of brews before drinking the sugar packed drinks littering Bourbon. After a night out or for lunch, Desire Oyster Bar is a must. Try the Oysters Desire! Although room service ends at midnight, they happily obliged my request to come up with a bottle of champagne and a piece of delicious chocolate cake for my girlfriend's birthday. I asked them to come up at 12, and they were not a second late. Room 4136 was where I stayed and is a luxurious balcony room with a king sized bed that made you think you were sleeping on a cloud. It was the perfect vessel to rest your worn and tired feet after venturing up and down the French quarters. Highly recommend this hotel, and when I return to New Orleans this will be the only hotel I would consider. I am so impressed with Royal Sonesta I will go as far and say I will choose their name of hotel in the next city I stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oysters, Felix's oysters, Desire, R'evolution, Dickie Brennan's, Brennan's, Bourbon house, Antoine's are all within a block of this hotel! Truly amazing.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fabulous Mom
Lafayette, Louisiana
Jan 28, 2013

Night Away

My daughter had to go to Metairie to take the MCAT exam, so I treated her to a night in New Orleans on Bourbon Street. We had an amazing time. I've stayed in the city many times at different hotels, but this one was the best by far. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I will definitely stay at the Royal Sonesta again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hard Rock Cafe is now located on Bourbon Street just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Never too old
Irving
May 15, 2013

Super great location

If you like jazz, the Sonesta is the place with jazz in the hotel bar, Legends Jazz Park across the street with nightly music, in the jazz bars on Bourbon St and Preservation Hall nearby. Staff was bend-over backwards friendly. Room was a bit "aged" but clean and comfy. Parking was available but pricey. Nearby Court of Two Sisters Restaurant has the BEST breakfast buffet. Hotel location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you can imagine from dining, to jazz, to shopping, to a riverboat dinner cruise is within a short easy walk from the Royal Sonesta Hotel.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Apr 17, 2011

great place

Classy clean and service connected to restaurants was convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anywhere close by were places to eat.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kimmmm
Chicago, IL
May 16, 2012

World Class!!

This hotel may be located on Bourbon Street. (dirty and loud) but you wouldn't know it the moment you step inside. Quiet, luxurious, and absolutely beautiful! We have stayed here before, the beds are amazingly comfortable, the service is second to none, and the courtyard balconies and pool are just a gorgeous way to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street. Highly recommend this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car! Take a cab from the airport. everything in the French Quarter is within walking distance of the Royal Sonesta!

Back to menu Return to top