$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
301 reviews
Really quite peaceful steps from the fun

it was amazing to me how quiet and beautiful this hotel was being on Bourbon Street I love that... See full review

  • Sperry1014
  • Nov 25, 2014
Excellent Stay!

From the moment we pulled into valet parking, we were already impressed. The staff was very... See full review

  • Jo Ann B.
  • Nov 20, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GoCards
Louisville
Jan 9, 2013

Amazing

This place was awesome. Right in the heart of New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Stanley restaurant is delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bp47
Business
niles il
Sep 14, 2014

very good experience for husband & wife

room was clean but the first night i discover blood spots on the sheet and bites on my skin .i don't want to say it was bed bugs but seems.because i gave for cleanliness 3 stars. bad remote control for tv because of this room comfort- 4 stars. overall everything very pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drobbin
Business
NY, NY
Sep 8, 2014

great place to stay

Just an overall good experience. Not much else to say. The beds were super comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark on the go
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 3, 2014

Would stay again

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again. The only thing I didn't like was the bed was not very comfortable to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't have to pay alot to get great food. Try the little places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KC331
Business
new york, ny
Aug 31, 2014

Great Location! Great Pool!

The Royal Sonesta is a beautiful hotel. My boyfriend and I requested a room facing Bourbon street so that we could hang out on the balcony and watch all of the craziness go by...but unfortunately, we didn't get one. You need to pay extra for a room with a balcony (we were told about $50 more a night)..so don't expect all the rooms to have balconies! Our room directly faced a strip club and two homeless men so we never really wanted to keep our curtains open for more than a few minutes... The hotel lobby is gorgeous, with a courtyard leading to an AMAZING (and super pricey) courtyard restaurant. The pool is also beautiful, and was surprisingly not too busy on a hot August day. We loved the fact that the hotel entrance is directly across the street from a Cafe Beignet, which had drinks and amazing live music every day from early on in the morning until the evening. Its really right in the center of it all..its pretty wild on Bourbon but we're a lively couple in our mid-twenties and we had a great time! Hotel staff was pleasant, always trying to assist us. Rooms were really nice too--only issue was that comforter on our king sized bed seemed like it was meant for a twin..but the bed itself was so comfortable it didn't matter too much! Our only real complaint: We booked four nights here and after the third night, we had someone knocking on our door HARD telling us it was time to check out....when I had two more nights at the hotel booked and paid for. Shortly after, we received a call from the front desk telling us we only booked two nights and that it was past check out time..when we confirmed two nights earlier, with the woman at the front desk, WITH my hotel confirmation, that we booked 4 nights. This was REALLY upsetting. This was on our "rest/hangover day" after two really fun days and we were hoping we would be able to sleep in...but the woman on the phone insisted we only booked two nights. I was then put on hold for about fifteen minutes, and afterwards, was transferred to another person at hotel reservations who told me i changed my reservation from four nights to two nights...which never happened. I was then put on hold for so long that I hung up and called the hotel directly, and spoke to someone who apologized, and said that someone changed by reservation for some reason..and that it would all get sorted out. This was a pretty awful morning. Other than that mishap we had a GREAT experience in New Orleans. We hardly spent any time in the hotel (just to sleep and go swimming) because there is SO much to do outside! Nonetheless, we would stay here again because of the location and the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is SO MUCH to eat and drink and do on Bourbon! If you are with a group/can afford it, its probably worth it to stay in a room with a balcony, facing bourbon or the pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BAMA locals
Business
Bay Minette, Alabama
Aug 24, 2014

Bourbon week end

We introduced our Oklahoma friends to a week end in New Orleans. We chose Royal Sonesta due to location and overall good rates. We could not have asked for a better location and friendly staff. We were impressed with the quietness of our room while staying on Bourbon Street and rested very well and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the best oysters in the area at Acme oyster House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miglo
Business
Dallas, tx
Aug 19, 2014

Perfect location

The location is great. Only a few blocks from Canal but deep enough into bourbon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from bars and dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wild Blll
Business
Livonia, Mi
Aug 6, 2014

Fantastic getaway

Excellent location, great food, good times . A must try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshue ATL
Business
Atlanta
Jul 21, 2014

Good weekend.

This hotel is in prime location, but not all 4 stars for me. Room where a little small and you can tell the hotel is not brand new. Staff did ok, but I think it's because they are extremely busy at times. Concierge was the best very good help. Overall would I stay here again, sure why not smacked in the middle of everything and not too shabby. If you stay here I'm sure you will enjoy but it's no ritzcarlton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved N'Awlins
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 16, 2014

perfect place for a quick vacation

Beautiful hotel, very clean, safe, and friendly. The pool was a bit crowded, but OK. Concierge was very helpful. This hotel is within walking distance to anywhere you'd like to go. Bourbon St. is a bit crazy, but Frenchman St. had fabulous jazz at night. Muriels restaurant had an amazing atmosphere. Excellent food at all restaurants. Trolley cars inexpensive and easy to use. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elliot2983
Business
NY
Jul 15, 2014

Great Bachelor Party Location

Had great time. spent much less fthan friends who stayed elsewhere nearby... Great outdoor pool and bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top