$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve and Laura
Couples
Chicago
Feb 7, 2012

our honeymoon in New Orleans

It was fantastic! The hussle and bustle of Bourbon St outside, you walk inside the doors of Royal Sonesta to quite and peace. The room was clean and newly remodled the staff was so helpful. Even loaning us an umbrella the last morning during our one and only rainstorm in our 5 day trip. Thank You Royal Sonesta for everything!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Green Line streetcar with an all day pass. On that line you can go to WWII and civil war muesums, the beautiful Garden District and the Layefette Cemetary. All for $3.00 per person plus admission to muesums. At WWII do the package film and tour. Do the film first, narrated by Tom Hanks, fantastic.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BlondeDetective
Single
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 27, 2012

Perfection in the Big Easy

From the time you are met at the front door, the experience at the Royal Sonesta, New Orleans, just gets better and better. It's located right on Bourbon St. and if you didn't want to go out, you wouldn't have to as the hotel offers everything from a cute little breakfast shop (PJ's) to a great little restaurant (Desire Oyster Bar) to a top ranked jazz Club (Irvin Mayfield's). The rooms are all gorgeous. My room looked out into the pool area. Do yourself a favor and take a trip to the Big Easy and stay at the Royal Sonesta. You'll be glad you did !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go outside the French Quarter and do some exploring. There are over 1200 restaurants in New Orleans, don't limit yourself to the French Quarter. I don't believe you can get a bad meal in New Orleans, so give it a try.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desert Dancer
Couples
Albuquerque, NM
Feb 14, 2012

True Southern Hospitality!

Great food! Awesome Staff! Very clean. I was hesitant to stay right on Bourbon Street because I thought it might not be "nice" but was really surprised. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Desire Oyster Bar was very good! Friendly and very good wait staff! :)

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
billy k
Friends
Long Island, New York, USA
Mar 3, 2012

not for kids

best hotel on bourbon street. Rooms are great hotel is beautyful. location couldn't be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good places to eat just off bourbon st. Live Music everywhere. This place is not for kids

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alligator and Turtle
Family
New England
Mar 30, 2012

Bourbon Street on a budget

There were 4 adults. We had one room with a terrace. We all agreed that we had a very nice room at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Willie Mae's Scotch House. It has been featured on the food channel. We were all surprised at how good the chicken was. Also, the Court of the Two Sisters on Royal Street was very good. This was not cheap, but certainly worth it. Eating out should be about the quality and experience. They did a good job.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schsieme
Friends
Saint Louis MO
Mar 29, 2012

Outstanding

An amazing experience. Every single staff person we encountered was THE BEST. I felt like a Princess from beginning to end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug1111
Couples
Fort Wayne, IN
May 8, 2012

Good but could have been better

We got stuck in elevator. It was't fixed when we left. R Club was great. Staff very friendly. If you liike the action in the French Quarter you will love this hotel. It started out bad because o r b i t z did not have confirmed reservations until the day before and we booked the room 3 months before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have R Club included with your room.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kimmmm
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 16, 2012

World Class!!

This hotel may be located on Bourbon Street. (dirty and loud) but you wouldn't know it the moment you step inside. Quiet, luxurious, and absolutely beautiful! We have stayed here before, the beds are amazingly comfortable, the service is second to none, and the courtyard balconies and pool are just a gorgeous way to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street. Highly recommend this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car! Take a cab from the airport. everything in the French Quarter is within walking distance of the Royal Sonesta!

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EKIL
Couples
Boston Ma area
Oct 16, 2012

Wonderful place to stay

Everything was 1st class. They have well trained staff that go out of their way to make you comfortable. Many thanks to them for making are stay perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

K Paul's Louisiana Kitchen for dinner

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Boy R
Couples
MA
Nov 2, 2012

70th Birthday Gift

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The servce, location, friendliness and assistance from all the staff made our days enjoyable. An extra day stay due to the superstorm was provided to us with no problems. It was a memorable vacation, which was a birthday gift, from start to finish. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan your itinerary as soon as possible so you can fit in as much shopping and sight seeing as you want. Also, make reservations for special dining experiences.

Back to menu Return to top