$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ietta3001
Business
Redwood city
Apr 22, 2014

Quite nice location

If I became rich man in future, want to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yellow easter eggs
Business
New Jersey
Apr 25, 2011

good location, beautiful lobby!

This hoel is at the heart of french quarter, so, if you are traveling with friends, it would be a great location. but for family vacation, Bourbon street is full of strip show clubs, and bars. especially at night, no business for ladies. Lobby is very fancy, great interior designs, full of antiques, but pool is small, and the water quality is poor. Don't expect too much for the pool. Staffs were all nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I strongly recommend NOT to purchase Power Pass that comes up when you are about to finish the purchase in this website. the Power Pass was certainly not worth paying anything. I was mislead about its short description that it included so many attractions, but later found out transportation to plantations, or swamp tours were not included. many tourists don't rent cars, and if you don't have a car, you have to book the tours from another vendors that provide transportations as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCtravels
Business
New York, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Good location, great service.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was amazing and the concierge was very helpful in organizing our trip and helping us book tours and come up with restaurants to go to. Would def make recommend making reservations well before arriving into New Orleans especially if traveling on a big holiday weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great brunch spot, right next to Muriel's Cafe called Stanley's. We had a great time and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno Nevada
Mar 27, 2011

Royal Sonest New Orleans

I stayed the night at Royal Sonesta during a quick overnight stay in New Orleans after working for 25 days straight. I was looking for a place with a pool and a comfortable/quiet room and I wasn't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 4, 2011

Nice place

My partner and I decided to go to New Orleans on very short notice to get away. It was a phenomenal hotel to stay in while we were in the French Quarter. As a same sex couple, we were treated with great respect and kindness. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The gay portion of the French Quarter is on one side of the French Quarter. All the clubs are well within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fire Ante
Business
NY
Oct 4, 2010

In The Heart of The City

Really great location on Bourbon Street, friendly staff, down-to-earth, but respectful at the same time. Air conditioning worked, but would have liked to have it cooler. I called to try to see if the room could be cooled down a bit more, but was told although there was a local thermostat, it all was actually controled by a central unit which would ultimately regulate the temp. Comfortable bed, great restaurant and lounge right in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SEGWAY NEW ORLEANS!!!!! Do it!!! Our tour guide, [...] was great!! What a blast. Easy, fun, different...wow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling women
Business
chicago
Feb 27, 2011

Lovely hotel in perfect location

The hotel was the perfect place for us to re-group during our New Orleans stay. Very nice and the location could not have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
honolulu, hi
Apr 19, 2011

Lovely

Lovely room right in the heart of the French Quarter. We had a room overlooking Bourbon Street which was quite loud and lively during the evenings, however we are in our mid 40's and it didn't bother us at all. The staff was professional and very helpful, especially [...]the front office manager. [...], our bellman was friendly and service oriented. The hotel nightclub (forget the name now) was great! The bartenders, [...]and [...]gave us some excellent tips on local restaurants and places to visit. Being our first visit to NOLA and coming all the way from Hawaii we brought some Macadamia candy with us to give away to nice folks we met along the way. We shared some with the hotel front desk staff and later received a bottle of champagne in our room with a note attached saying, to enjoy our vacation. Nice! The hotel itself is showing a bit of age but I believe they are working on some renovations. I worked at AAA 5-Diamond hotel for five years and as a travel agent for 10 years. I would have no problem recommending this property. There's much to see and do in the Quarter but don't be afraid to venture out a little. We went to Frenchman Street and mingled with the locals, took the streetcar to the end of the Garden District to see the beautiful homes and went to Delachaise Wine Bar & Restaurant for lunch (excellent!) New Orleans is a beautiful city with much to offer. We will definitely go back again someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oyster House for the freshest oysters on the half shell. Plan on getting there early or getting there late...like 10pm. The line is out the door and very long...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In to Nashville concerts
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 26, 2011

Easy in Big Easy

Great time and service at The Royal Sonesta in New Orleans. We watched Irving Mayfiels's concert in his club at the hotel. It was Jazz at its finest and included special guest Ken Ruffin. The staff goes out of their way to help you and even if it is just finding your favorite eating place or helping you pick one. Since this hotel is on Bourbon Street in the middle of the French Quarter it is THE LOCATION. PJ's bakery was the stuff that makes New Orleans a gastronomic delight. The berry tarts are especially tasty. It is a pleasure to go into the courtyard and talk or munch by the flowing fountain with tropical plants surrounding you. The Desire Restaurant is excellent,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat Redfish at the Redfish grill or taste the excellent etouffee at ACme Oyster Bar. You may pay more, but you will not get more or better taste.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun lovers
Business
Finger Lakes , NY
Oct 13, 2010

"Grand" location -French Quarter!

Wonderful way to experience the French Quarter. Walkable. Easy access to various venues - culture, dining, music. Shopping options limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street was at doorstep. Short walk to Canal Street where trolleys available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top