$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taby
Business
Astoria, NY
Apr 26, 2011

What a blast in NOLA

Stayed at the Royal Sonesta for 4 nights,5 days, it was awesome. The hotel is gorgeous, right on Bourbon street, we asked for a quite room in the back and we got it. There was no view but totally worth the peacefulness and those beds...soooo comfy. The staff were extremely helpful especially the doormen, they were great with suggestions on places to eat and things to do. The pool was great too. We had a blast. Definately visit Coop's Place, best Jambalaya in NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Unfortunately we didn't know about the flea market over by Cafe du Monde until the last day we were there. Way more affordable food and souvenirs then getting them on Bourbon. Stay away from Bourbon street's Pizza and those Lucky Hot dogs, so nasty and not worth the $3.50. Try Coops Place for rabbit and sausage Jambalaya or The Old coffee Pot for great breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 25, 2011

Great Stay

Stay was great. Parking was expensive ($32 a day) but I guess that is standard. The rooms were a bit damp and not sure if that is just from all the humidity in the air but our clothes all felt a little damp by the end of the week. No coffee in the room was a bit odd. I have never stayed in a place that made you go down and buy your coffee every morning. Did appreciate the free internet access as we had expected to have to pay $11 a day for it as written in past reviews which my husband was pretty upset about. He was very happy to not have to pay for internet access. The rooms are great. Having the pools was nice as well although it was a touch on the warm side. We would probably stay here again although there are certainly cheaper hotels in the area the historical feel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near everything you would ever need

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yellow easter eggs
Business
New Jersey
Apr 25, 2011

good location, beautiful lobby!

This hoel is at the heart of french quarter, so, if you are traveling with friends, it would be a great location. but for family vacation, Bourbon street is full of strip show clubs, and bars. especially at night, no business for ladies. Lobby is very fancy, great interior designs, full of antiques, but pool is small, and the water quality is poor. Don't expect too much for the pool. Staffs were all nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I strongly recommend NOT to purchase Power Pass that comes up when you are about to finish the purchase in this website. the Power Pass was certainly not worth paying anything. I was mislead about its short description that it included so many attractions, but later found out transportation to plantations, or swamp tours were not included. many tourists don't rent cars, and if you don't have a car, you have to book the tours from another vendors that provide transportations as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCtravels
Business
New York, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Good location, great service.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was amazing and the concierge was very helpful in organizing our trip and helping us book tours and come up with restaurants to go to. Would def make recommend making reservations well before arriving into New Orleans especially if traveling on a big holiday weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great brunch spot, right next to Muriel's Cafe called Stanley's. We had a great time and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cam4
Business
Walnut, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Royal Sonesta

Beautiful lobby, comfortable room and excellent, friendly staff .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D & J Travelers
Business
Diamond Bar, CA
Apr 23, 2011

great accommodating friendly hotel

went on several tours, shopped and walked the French Quarter, dined in several places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Apr 21, 2011

beautiful hotel

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very helpful and nice. The french quarter is not a place for children. We did not know this before booking this trip. We had to travel outside this area to feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The insecterium was a great place to visit if you are with children

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
honolulu, hi
Apr 19, 2011

Lovely

Lovely room right in the heart of the French Quarter. We had a room overlooking Bourbon Street which was quite loud and lively during the evenings, however we are in our mid 40's and it didn't bother us at all. The staff was professional and very helpful, especially [...]the front office manager. [...], our bellman was friendly and service oriented. The hotel nightclub (forget the name now) was great! The bartenders, [...]and [...]gave us some excellent tips on local restaurants and places to visit. Being our first visit to NOLA and coming all the way from Hawaii we brought some Macadamia candy with us to give away to nice folks we met along the way. We shared some with the hotel front desk staff and later received a bottle of champagne in our room with a note attached saying, to enjoy our vacation. Nice! The hotel itself is showing a bit of age but I believe they are working on some renovations. I worked at AAA 5-Diamond hotel for five years and as a travel agent for 10 years. I would have no problem recommending this property. There's much to see and do in the Quarter but don't be afraid to venture out a little. We went to Frenchman Street and mingled with the locals, took the streetcar to the end of the Garden District to see the beautiful homes and went to Delachaise Wine Bar & Restaurant for lunch (excellent!) New Orleans is a beautiful city with much to offer. We will definitely go back again someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oyster House for the freshest oysters on the half shell. Plan on getting there early or getting there late...like 10pm. The line is out the door and very long...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 17, 2011

great place

Classy clean and service connected to restaurants was convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anywhere close by were places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rbuena
Business
Dayton, OH
Apr 12, 2011

Beautiful Hotel and Great Staff!

The hotel is located stretegically for a vacation in the French Quarter. Parking is easy and the staff were great! Rooms were fine as we were out all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennan's for breakfast and Antoine's, Arnaud's or Galatoire's for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top